This page covers one topic: the results of Crean Lutheran High School students who apply to the University of California (UC). All data come from UC Infocenter, published by the University of California Office of the President by source high school, with the school type set to California private high school. They cover twelve fall entry years from 2014 to 2025 and nine undergraduate campuses. The college destination list published by the school itself appears on the overview page; for UC figures, the official data here always take precedence.
| Fall 2025 | Crean Lutheran High School students |
|---|---|
| UC systemwide | 159 applied, 139 admitted, 50 enrolled; admission rate 87% |
| UC Berkeley | 109 applied, 17 admitted; average admitted GPA 4.19 |
| UCLA | 136 applied, 12 admitted; average admitted GPA 4.22 |
| UC San Diego | 141 applied, 47 admitted; average admitted GPA 4.18 |
| UC Irvine | 139 applied, 73 admitted, 15 enrolled; average admitted GPA 4.17 |
| Data basis | GPA is the UC weighted, capped GPA, counting only A-G courses from grades 10 and 11; the systemwide row counts students, so a student who applies to several campuses is counted once |
Twelve-Year Trend: Applicants Grew About 2.5 Times, and UC Berkeley Admissions Rose with Them
The chart below plots the average GPA of Crean Lutheran High School students admitted to each campus, year by year. It shows the GPAs that admitted students actually earned; it is not an admission cutoff.
The ten lines are hard to tell apart where they overlap. Hover over any campus name below to highlight that campus’s trend; click to keep it highlighted, and click again to clear it.Tap any campus name below to highlight that campus’s trend; tap again to clear it.
Over the twelve years, the most visible change at this school is the growth in UC applicants. In fall 2014, 64 students applied to UC and 39 were admitted; in fall 2025, 159 applied and 139 were admitted, so the number of applicants was about 2.5 times the 2014 figure. Over the same period, the average applicant GPA rose from 3.87 to 4.02, while the average admitted GPA was 4.04 in both years.
Viewed in three-year totals, the campuses moved in different directions. From 2016 to 2018, the UC systemwide admission rate for Crean Lutheran High School students was 76% (283 applied, 214 admitted); from 2023 to 2025 it rose to 82% (439 applied, 361 admitted). Three-year applications to UC Berkeley increased from 148 to 304, admissions from 23 to 54, and the admission rate from 16% to 18%. Admission rates at UCLA, UC San Diego, and UC Irvine fell from 14% to 11%, from 39% to 31%, and from 52% to 50%, respectively. Admissions also shifted toward UC Riverside, UC Santa Cruz, and UC Merced: the combined admissions at these three campuses rose from 170 to 416, and their share of all admissions across the nine campuses rose from 30% to 37%.
Year-by-Year Data by Campus
Parents focus most on six campuses: Berkeley, Los Angeles, San Diego, Santa Barbara, Irvine, and Davis. The table below lists, by year, the number of Crean Lutheran High School students who applied to, were admitted to, and enrolled at each campus, along with GPA; use the buttons to switch metrics.
Official UC data · By high school of origin · 2014–2025
Year-by-year data for the top six UC campuses
Darker colors indicate higher values. The bottom row shows the change from 2014 to 2025.
From 2014 to 2025, the admit rate for Crean Lutheran High School applicants to UC Los Angeles fell from 15% to 9%, and to UC Berkeley fell from 18% to 16%; the rate at UC Irvine rose from 51% to 53%.
This table has five data views. Use the buttons below to view admits, applicants, enrollees, admit GPA, and applicant GPA; the button for the current view is highlighted in yellow.
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 17 (16%) | 12 (9%) | 47 (33%) | 56 (48%) | 73 (53%) | 64 (68%) |
| 2024 | 16 (17%) | 13 (11%) | 43 (33%) | 36 (35%) | 64 (52%) | 46 (53%) |
| 2023 | 21 (21%) | 14 (12%) | 32 (27%) | 42 (39%) | 53 (46%) | 56 (62%) |
| 2022 | 6 (7%) | 8 (9%) | 26 (25%) | 20 (22%) | 38 (38%) | 28 (41%) |
| 2021 | 13 (15%) | 11 (11%) | 38 (36%) | 33 (34%) | 44 (40%) | 41 (61%) |
| 2020 | 22 (30%) | 12 (14%) | 34 (38%) | 39 (46%) | 43 (51%) | 40 (66%) |
| 2019 | 21 (30%) | 11 (13%) | 31 (34%) | 28 (38%) | 40 (45%) | 30 (56%) |
| 2018 | 11 (19%) | 10 (13%) | 36 (44%) | 17 (26%) | 42 (53%) | 30 (59%) |
| 2017 | 7 (17%) | 6 (10%) | 21 (37%) | 13 (26%) | 36 (51%) | 24 (49%) |
| 2016 | 5 (10%) | 12 (18%) | 27 (35%) | 32 (44%) | 43 (53%) | 32 (62%) |
| 2015 | 4 (11%) | 4 (6%) | 12 (20%) | 14 (28%) | 22 (35%) | 9 (21%) |
| 2014 | 4 (18%) | 6 (15%) | 10 (20%) | 8 (21%) | 25 (51%) | 12 (36%) |
| Change, 2014–2025 | ▼ 18% → 16% | ▼ 15% → 9% | ▲ 20% → 33% | ▲ 21% → 48% | ▲ 51% → 53% | ▲ 36% → 68% |
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 109 | 136 | 141 | 117 | 139 | 94 |
| 2024 | 96 | 118 | 131 | 103 | 123 | 86 |
| 2023 | 99 | 116 | 119 | 108 | 115 | 91 |
| 2022 | 82 | 94 | 103 | 90 | 99 | 69 |
| 2021 | 87 | 99 | 107 | 97 | 111 | 67 |
| 2020 | 74 | 84 | 90 | 84 | 84 | 61 |
| 2019 | 70 | 87 | 92 | 73 | 89 | 54 |
| 2018 | 58 | 77 | 81 | 65 | 80 | 51 |
| 2017 | 41 | 59 | 57 | 50 | 71 | 49 |
| 2016 | 49 | 68 | 78 | 72 | 81 | 52 |
| 2015 | 36 | 64 | 60 | 50 | 63 | 42 |
| 2014 | 22 | 41 | 49 | 39 | 49 | 33 |
| Change, 2014–2025 | ▲ 22 → 109 | ▲ 41 → 136 | ▲ 49 → 141 | ▲ 39 → 117 | ▲ 49 → 139 | ▲ 33 → 94 |
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 4 | 6 | 10 | 4 | 15 | 3 |
| 2024 | 9 | 5 | 9 | — | 23 | 4 |
| 2023 | 5 | 5 | 6 | 3 | 17 | 6 |
| 2022 | 4 | 4 | 8 | 5 | 7 | 3 |
| 2021 | 6 | 7 | 11 | 4 | 12 | 6 |
| 2020 | 13 | — | 12 | 3 | 6 | — |
| 2019 | 11 | 5 | 3 | — | 10 | 4 |
| 2018 | 4 | 4 | 12 | — | 13 | 3 |
| 2017 | 5 | — | 5 | — | 12 | — |
| 2016 | 3 | 7 | 6 | — | 11 | — |
| 2015 | — | — | — | 3 | 3 | — |
| 2014 | 3 | — | 4 | — | 8 | — |
| Change, 2014–2025 | ▲ 3 → 4 | — | ▲ 4 → 10 | — | ▲ 8 → 15 | — |
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 4.19 | 4.22 | 4.18 | 4.17 | 4.17 | 4.12 |
| 2024 | 4.19 | 4.14 | 4.21 | 4.20 | 4.16 | 4.15 |
| 2023 | 4.18 | 4.20 | 4.20 | 4.19 | 4.17 | 4.13 |
| 2022 | 4.24 | 4.23 | 4.21 | 4.19 | 4.19 | 4.15 |
| 2021 | 4.15 | 4.24 | 4.20 | 4.20 | 4.16 | 4.06 |
| 2020 | 4.22 | 4.25 | 4.18 | 4.13 | 4.12 | 4.12 |
| 2019 | 4.23 | 4.28 | 4.24 | 4.19 | 4.18 | 4.12 |
| 2018 | 4.22 | 4.25 | 4.15 | 4.18 | 4.09 | 4.05 |
| 2017 | 4.20 | 4.23 | 4.17 | 4.19 | 4.08 | 4.07 |
| 2016 | 4.22 | 4.19 | 4.15 | 4.12 | 4.11 | 4.09 |
| 2015 | — | — | 4.21 | 4.11 | 4.20 | 4.16 |
| 2014 | — | 4.35 | 4.31 | 4.17 | 4.13 | 4.12 |
| Change, 2014–2025 | — | ▼ 4.35 → 4.22 | ▼ 4.31 → 4.18 | ▲ 4.17 → 4.17 | ▲ 4.13 → 4.17 | ▼ 4.12 → 4.12 |
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 4.05 | 4.06 | 4.03 | 4.00 | 4.03 | 4.00 |
| 2024 | 4.06 | 4.06 | 4.04 | 4.01 | 4.03 | 4.02 |
| 2023 | 4.04 | 4.07 | 4.04 | 4.03 | 4.02 | 4.02 |
| 2022 | 4.07 | 4.06 | 4.03 | 4.02 | 4.02 | 4.00 |
| 2021 | 4.01 | 4.04 | 3.99 | 3.97 | 3.96 | 3.89 |
| 2020 | 4.07 | 4.06 | 4.02 | 4.04 | 3.98 | 3.98 |
| 2019 | 4.02 | 4.01 | 3.99 | 3.96 | 3.99 | 3.89 |
| 2018 | 4.05 | 4.01 | 3.93 | 3.87 | 3.95 | 3.87 |
| 2017 | 4.00 | 3.98 | 3.97 | 3.86 | 3.89 | 3.86 |
| 2016 | 3.98 | 3.95 | 3.90 | 3.85 | 3.86 | 3.89 |
| 2015 | 3.97 | 3.89 | 3.80 | 3.74 | 3.79 | 3.75 |
| 2014 | 3.99 | 3.93 | 3.86 | 3.78 | 3.84 | 3.84 |
| Change, 2014–2025 | ▲ 3.99 → 4.05 | ▲ 3.93 → 4.06 | ▲ 3.86 → 4.03 | ▲ 3.78 → 4.00 | ▲ 3.84 → 4.03 | ▲ 3.84 → 4.00 |
Five-Year Totals: Admission Rate, Yield, and GPA Gap
In any single year, differences between campuses can be exaggerated by chance. The table below adds up the counts for the five years from 2021 to 2025 and then calculates admission and enrollment rates. The last column shows how much higher the average admitted GPA is than the average applicant GPA, which indicates which part of the Crean Lutheran High School applicant pool each campus selects from.
| UC campus | Applicants | Admits | Admit rate | Enrollees | Yield rate | Admit GPA minus applicant GPA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UC Systemwide | 678 | 538 | 79% | 233 | 43% | +0.04 |
| UC Berkeley | 473 | 73 | 15% | 28 | 38% | +0.14 |
| UC Los Angeles | 563 | 58 | 10% | 27 | 47% | +0.15 |
| UC San Diego | 601 | 186 | 31% | 44 | 24% | +0.17 |
| UC Davis | 407 | 235 | 58% | 22 | 9% | +0.14 |
| UC Irvine | 587 | 272 | 46% | 74 | 27% | +0.16 |
| UC Santa Barbara | 515 | 187* | 36% | 16 | 9% | +0.19 |
| UC Merced | 118 | 112* | 95% | — | 0% | +0.06 |
| UC Riverside | 333 | 296* | 89% | 12 | 4% | +0.06 |
| UC Santa Cruz | 241 | 172* | 71% | 4 | 2% | +0.13 |
Three points stand out in this table. First, UCLA and UC Berkeley are the two most selective campuses for this school, with five-year admission rates of 10% and 15%, respectively. Second, UC Irvine is the UC campus where the most Crean Lutheran High School students enroll, 74 over five years, 30 more than second-place UC San Diego; since the school is in Irvine, this result is consistent with its location. Third, students admitted to UC Berkeley and UCLA enroll at relatively high rates, with five-year yields of 38% and 47%, respectively; UC Davis admitted 235 over five years, but only 22 enrolled, a yield of 9%.
Applications and Admissions by Campus in the Most Recent Year
| UC campus (fall 2025) | Applicants | Admits | Admit rate | Enrollees | Admit GPA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UC Berkeley | 109 | 17 | 16% | 4 | 4.19 |
| UC Los Angeles | 136 | 12 | 9% | 6 | 4.22 |
| UC San Diego | 141 | 47 | 33% | 10 | 4.18 |
| UC Davis | 94 | 64 | 68% | 3 | 4.12 |
| UC Irvine | 139 | 73 | 53% | 15 | 4.17 |
| UC Santa Barbara | 117 | 56 | 48% | 4 | 4.17 |
| UC Merced | 40 | 40 | 100% | — | 3.93 |
| UC Riverside | 90 | 86 | 96% | 6 | 4.01 |
| UC Santa Cruz | 62 | 53 | 85% | — | 4.09 |
Comparison with Other Orange County High Schools
How do Crean Lutheran High School students compare with students from other high schools covered on this site at the same UC campus? The chart below places the 12 Orange County private high schools covered on this site alongside 10 leading public high schools in Irvine and Orange County, showing combined admission rates for the three years from 2023 to 2025. Private high schools are listed first, and schools are listed by name. Use the buttons to switch campuses.
Combined 2023–2025, the admit rate for Crean Lutheran High School applicants to the UC system as a whole was 82% (361 / 439); the median for the public high schools featured on this site was 76%.
- Crean Lutheran High SchoolPrivate82%361 / 439
- Fairmont Preparatory AcademyPrivate81%245 / 304
- JSerra Catholic High SchoolPrivate60%226 / 378
- Mater Dei High SchoolPrivate60%434 / 729
- Orange Lutheran High SchoolPrivate63%221 / 352
- Pacific Academy IrvinePrivate89%59 / 66
- Pacifica Christian High School, Orange CountyPrivate79%46 / 58*
- Rosary AcademyPrivate68%97 / 142
- Sage Hill SchoolPrivate80%281 / 353
- Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolPrivate66%385 / 586
- Servite High SchoolPrivate61%139 / 228
- Whittier Christian High SchoolPrivate63%48 / 76
- Arnold O. Beckman High SchoolPublic75%844 / 1130
- Irvine High SchoolPublic76%534 / 703
- La Quinta High SchoolPublic70%549 / 780
- Laguna Beach High SchoolPublic58%196 / 337
- Northwood High SchoolPublic79%892 / 1135
- Orange County School of the ArtsPublic79%619 / 788
- Oxford AcademyPublic77%389 / 503
- Portola High SchoolPublic77%852 / 1103
- Sunny Hills High SchoolPublic76%680 / 895
- Tesoro High SchoolPublic62%379 / 611
- Troy High SchoolPublic79%916 / 1155
- University High SchoolPublic77%786 / 1022
- Woodbridge High SchoolPublic73%608 / 838
Combined 2023–2025, the admit rate for Crean Lutheran High School applicants to UC Berkeley was 18% (54 / 304); the median for the public high schools featured on this site was 13%.
- Crean Lutheran High SchoolPrivate18%54 / 304
- Fairmont Preparatory AcademyPrivate16%37 / 226*
- JSerra Catholic High SchoolPrivate14%26 / 186
- Mater Dei High SchoolPrivate10%36 / 357
- Orange Lutheran High SchoolPrivate14%20 / 141*
- Pacific Academy IrvinePrivate18%9 / 50*
- Pacifica Christian High School, Orange CountyPrivate16%4 / 25*
- Sage Hill SchoolPrivate19%56 / 297*
- Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolPrivate18%57 / 325
- Servite High SchoolPrivate7%7 / 105*
- Arnold O. Beckman High SchoolPublic13%92 / 719
- Irvine High SchoolPublic10%50 / 491
- La Quinta High SchoolPublic8%26 / 329*
- Laguna Beach High SchoolPublic13%28 / 209*
- Northwood High SchoolPublic14%121 / 851
- Orange County School of the ArtsPublic17%92 / 556
- Oxford AcademyPublic14%46 / 340
- Portola High SchoolPublic12%94 / 808
- Sunny Hills High SchoolPublic14%75 / 526
- Tesoro High SchoolPublic12%40 / 346
- Troy High SchoolPublic13%107 / 840
- University High SchoolPublic12%94 / 798
- Woodbridge High SchoolPublic14%74 / 539
Combined 2023–2025, the admit rate for Crean Lutheran High School applicants to UC Los Angeles was 11% (39 / 370); the median for the public high schools featured on this site was 8%.
- Crean Lutheran High SchoolPrivate11%39 / 370
- Fairmont Preparatory AcademyPrivate9%25 / 266
- JSerra Catholic High SchoolPrivate13%38 / 283
- Mater Dei High SchoolPrivate9%52 / 572
- Orange Lutheran High SchoolPrivate9%25 / 267
- Pacific Academy IrvinePrivate10%6 / 58*
- Rosary AcademyPrivate6%6 / 103*
- Sage Hill SchoolPrivate13%44 / 327
- Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolPrivate13%57 / 455
- Servite High SchoolPrivate9%15 / 164*
- Whittier Christian High SchoolPrivate6%3 / 52*
- Arnold O. Beckman High SchoolPublic7%67 / 922
- Irvine High SchoolPublic8%46 / 597
- La Quinta High SchoolPublic6%32 / 539
- Laguna Beach High SchoolPublic13%33 / 262
- Northwood High SchoolPublic9%85 / 972
- Orange County School of the ArtsPublic17%120 / 692
- Oxford AcademyPublic10%43 / 434
- Portola High SchoolPublic8%75 / 952
- Sunny Hills High SchoolPublic8%57 / 684
- Tesoro High SchoolPublic8%35 / 466
- Troy High SchoolPublic9%91 / 983
- University High SchoolPublic8%75 / 885
- Woodbridge High SchoolPublic10%67 / 678
Combined 2023–2025, the admit rate for Crean Lutheran High School applicants to UC San Diego was 31% (122 / 391); the median for the public high schools featured on this site was 21%.
- Crean Lutheran High SchoolPrivate31%122 / 391
- Fairmont Preparatory AcademyPrivate22%60 / 274*
- JSerra Catholic High SchoolPrivate24%64 / 267
- Mater Dei High SchoolPrivate21%105 / 511
- Orange Lutheran High SchoolPrivate19%47 / 245*
- Pacific Academy IrvinePrivate24%14 / 59*
- Pacifica Christian High School, Orange CountyPrivate16%6 / 38*
- Rosary AcademyPrivate23%21 / 91*
- Sage Hill SchoolPrivate20%64 / 322*
- Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolPrivate24%104 / 440
- Servite High SchoolPrivate18%29 / 164*
- Whittier Christian High SchoolPrivate19%10 / 54*
- Arnold O. Beckman High SchoolPublic18%171 / 951
- Irvine High SchoolPublic15%94 / 620
- La Quinta High SchoolPublic34%205 / 599*
- Laguna Beach High SchoolPublic21%49 / 236*
- Northwood High SchoolPublic16%168 / 1019
- Orange County School of the ArtsPublic32%184 / 577
- Oxford AcademyPublic24%98 / 411
- Portola High SchoolPublic15%146 / 981
- Sunny Hills High SchoolPublic22%161 / 739
- Tesoro High SchoolPublic21%103 / 492
- Troy High SchoolPublic18%177 / 991
- University High SchoolPublic18%165 / 913
- Woodbridge High SchoolPublic22%157 / 717
Combined 2023–2025, the admit rate for Crean Lutheran High School applicants to UC Irvine was 50% (190 / 377); the median for the public high schools featured on this site was 32%.
- Crean Lutheran High SchoolPrivate50%190 / 377
- Fairmont Preparatory AcademyPrivate29%78 / 273
- JSerra Catholic High SchoolPrivate37%67 / 183*
- Mater Dei High SchoolPrivate28%125 / 454
- Orange Lutheran High SchoolPrivate26%61 / 231
- Pacific Academy IrvinePrivate39%24 / 62*
- Pacifica Christian High School, Orange CountyPrivate30%11 / 37*
- Rosary AcademyPrivate33%29 / 89*
- Sage Hill SchoolPrivate53%142 / 268*
- Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolPrivate36%128 / 356
- Servite High SchoolPrivate20%32 / 163*
- Whittier Christian High SchoolPrivate15%10 / 67*
- Arnold O. Beckman High SchoolPublic34%345 / 1016
- Irvine High SchoolPublic29%187 / 647
- La Quinta High SchoolPublic25%182 / 729
- Laguna Beach High SchoolPublic33%55 / 167*
- Northwood High SchoolPublic32%331 / 1044
- Orange County School of the ArtsPublic50%277 / 555
- Oxford AcademyPublic42%195 / 464
- Portola High SchoolPublic32%330 / 1021
- Sunny Hills High SchoolPublic28%230 / 813
- Tesoro High SchoolPublic29%120 / 419
- Troy High SchoolPublic27%275 / 1030
- University High SchoolPublic31%275 / 885
- Woodbridge High SchoolPublic32%227 / 719
Combined 2023–2025, the admit rate for Crean Lutheran High School applicants to UC Santa Barbara was 41% (134 / 328); the median for the public high schools featured on this site was 28%.
- Crean Lutheran High SchoolPrivate41%134 / 328*
- Fairmont Preparatory AcademyPrivate29%67 / 232*
- JSerra Catholic High SchoolPrivate23%63 / 273*
- Mater Dei High SchoolPrivate22%107 / 484
- Orange Lutheran High SchoolPrivate28%67 / 236*
- Pacific Academy IrvinePrivate40%20 / 50*
- Pacifica Christian High School, Orange CountyPrivate32%12 / 38*
- Rosary AcademyPrivate25%19 / 75*
- Sage Hill SchoolPrivate50%158 / 313*
- Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolPrivate24%103 / 432
- Servite High SchoolPrivate16%22 / 138*
- Whittier Christian High SchoolPrivate24%12 / 49*
- Arnold O. Beckman High SchoolPublic31%242 / 790
- Irvine High SchoolPublic24%122 / 504
- La Quinta High SchoolPublic26%90 / 346*
- Laguna Beach High SchoolPublic26%65 / 251
- Northwood High SchoolPublic24%212 / 870
- Orange County School of the ArtsPublic42%221 / 523
- Oxford AcademyPublic35%97 / 280*
- Portola High SchoolPublic26%220 / 857
- Sunny Hills High SchoolPublic29%173 / 604
- Tesoro High SchoolPublic28%124 / 448
- Troy High SchoolPublic35%280 / 796
- University High SchoolPublic28%232 / 825
- Woodbridge High SchoolPublic31%189 / 603
Combined 2023–2025, the admit rate for Crean Lutheran High School applicants to UC Davis was 61% (166 / 271); the median for the public high schools featured on this site was 35%.
- Crean Lutheran High SchoolPrivate61%166 / 271
- Fairmont Preparatory AcademyPrivate42%80 / 191*
- JSerra Catholic High SchoolPrivate36%55 / 151*
- Mater Dei High SchoolPrivate35%83 / 239*
- Orange Lutheran High SchoolPrivate40%51 / 128*
- Pacific Academy IrvinePrivate46%23 / 50*
- Pacifica Christian High School, Orange CountyPrivate59%17 / 29*
- Rosary AcademyPrivate57%28 / 49*
- Sage Hill SchoolPrivate42%91 / 219*
- Santa Margarita Catholic High SchoolPrivate40%106 / 263
- Servite High SchoolPrivate32%29 / 92*
- Whittier Christian High SchoolPrivate29%10 / 35*
- Arnold O. Beckman High SchoolPublic32%201 / 629
- Irvine High SchoolPublic35%160 / 458
- La Quinta High SchoolPublic42%74 / 177*
- Laguna Beach High SchoolPublic32%50 / 158*
- Northwood High SchoolPublic34%259 / 753
- Orange County School of the ArtsPublic49%159 / 323
- Oxford AcademyPublic51%102 / 201*
- Portola High SchoolPublic35%245 / 698
- Sunny Hills High SchoolPublic42%193 / 459
- Tesoro High SchoolPublic34%102 / 302*
- Troy High SchoolPublic39%271 / 699
- University High SchoolPublic32%218 / 687
- Woodbridge High SchoolPublic36%179 / 492
This chart should be interpreted with care. In 2025, 159 Crean Lutheran High School students applied to UC, and the 12 private high schools covered on this site had between 16 and 261 UC applicants that year. Admission rates reflect the makeup of the applicant pool, including its size, grade distribution, and choice of campuses; they are not a comparison of teaching quality. Applicants from this school have high GPAs overall, with an average UC GPA of 4.02 in 2025. That year, 90 students also applied to UC Riverside and 40 to UC Merced, with admission rates of 96% and 100%, respectively. All of these factors raise the systemwide admission rate.
Two Steps for Private High School Students Before Reading These Data
96 UC Honors Courses and Dual Credit: Why the School GPA Exceeds the UC GPA
According to the UC A-G list for 2026-27, 96 of the 152 courses at Crean Lutheran High School are UC-approved honors courses, including 28 AP courses and 68 UC-certified honors courses; of the 68, arts courses and g-category electives total 44, and many are open only to cohort students or students who pass an audition. Three additional school rules push the school GPA above the UC GPA. First, school-designated honors courses such as Honors Geometry, Honors Algebra II/Trigonometry, and Honors Biology are weighted at the school but count as regular courses for UC. Second, the school offers dual-credit courses through Concordia University Nebraska; Mandarin I through III, American Sign Language I through III, and Spanish II through III taken for dual credit are weighted as honors courses at the school but remain regular courses on the UC list. Third, after an AP score of 4 or 5, the school raises the transcript grade for that course.
UC’s calculation counts only grades 10 and 11, with a total of at most 8 honors points and no more than 4 in grade 10. Taking more courses therefore does not mean a higher UC GPA. The data on this page illustrate the point: over five years, systemwide admitted students averaged only 0.04 higher than applicants, while at UC Berkeley, UC San Diego, and UC Santa Barbara the gap was 0.14, 0.17, and 0.19, respectively. Students applying to the most popular campuses already have high GPAs, and admission often turns on a difference of 0.1 to 0.2 points and on application materials beyond GPA.
International Students: GPA Rules for Nonresidents
The welcome message from the director of the Crean Lutheran High School international office mentions 175 international students, 18% of the student body (year not stated). Students on F-1 visas are nonresidents of California. According to the GPA requirement page on the UC website, when UC checks whether a nonresident meets the minimum GPA of 3.4, it adds weight only for AP and IB courses, not for the school’s UC-certified honors courses. For F-1 students, the school’s 68 UC-certified honors courses add no points at this step; only the 28 AP courses do. The data on this page do not separate California residents from international students, so F-1 students should check the minimum GPA under the nonresident rule before comparing with admitted-student GPAs.
EDUBUS recommendations: using official UC data to position the student
- Recalculate the GPA under UC rules: count only A-G courses from grades 10 and 11, and add points only for UC-approved honors courses. School honors courses, dual-credit world language courses, and AP grade increases add no UC points; the course-by-course list appears in the weighting section of the overview page
- Compare the recalculated UC GPA with the average admitted GPA for each campus on this page: in 2025, UC Berkeley, UCLA, UC San Diego, and UC Irvine were 4.19, 4.22, 4.18, and 4.17, respectively. F-1 students must first check the minimum GPA of 3.4 under the nonresident rule
- Then review the five-year admission rates: UCLA 10%, UC Berkeley 15%, UC San Diego 31%, and UC Irvine 46%. Even with a GPA at the admitted average, applicants to the first two campuses should leave room for activities, essays, and choice of major
Applications and admissions by campus are covered on this page. The school’s admissions, tuition, and courses appear on the overview, honors and AP planning on Courses and Course Selection and AP Courses, and the mathematics sequence on Math Pathway.
Frequently Asked Questions
Irvine families often ask: how many Crean Lutheran High School students are admitted to UC each year?
According to official UC Infocenter data by source high school, 159 Crean Lutheran High School students applied to the University of California for fall 2025, 139 were admitted to at least one campus, and 50 enrolled. Over the five years from 2021 to 2025, there were 678 applications and 538 admissions, a systemwide admission rate of 79%.
How should Irvine families estimate the difficulty of UC Berkeley and UCLA for Crean Lutheran High School applicants?
Multiyear totals are more reliable than a single year. From 2021 to 2025, Crean Lutheran High School students submitted 473 applications to UC Berkeley with 73 admissions, an admission rate of 15%, and 563 applications to UCLA with 58 admissions, an admission rate of 10%. In 2025, students admitted to these two campuses had average UC weighted, capped GPAs of 4.19 and 4.22, respectively.
Irvine families want to know: which UC campus do most Crean Lutheran High School students ultimately attend?
According to official UC enrollment counts, over the five years from 2021 to 2025 the largest number of Crean Lutheran High School students enrolled at UC Irvine, 74 in total, followed by UC San Diego with 44, UC Berkeley with 28, and UCLA with 27. Enrollment counts for UC Santa Cruz and UC Merced were left blank by UC in several years because they were fewer than 3.
Irvine families ask: can the Crean Lutheran High School GPA be compared directly with the UC GPA on this page?
Not directly. The school weights every honors and AP course, also weights regular world language courses taken for dual credit as honors courses, and raises transcript grades after AP scores of 4 or 5. UC counts only grades 10 and 11, adds points only for UC-approved honors courses, and allows at most 4 points in grade 10. Crean Lutheran High School has 96 UC-approved honors courses on the UC A-G list for 2026-27, but UC does not weight school honors courses such as Honors Geometry, Honors Algebra II/Trigonometry, and Honors Biology. Recalculate under UC rules first, then compare with the admitted-student GPAs on this page.
For international student families in Irvine: what should F-1 students keep in mind when reading the Crean Lutheran High School UC data?
International students on F-1 visas are nonresidents of California. According to the GPA requirement page on the UC website, when UC checks whether a nonresident meets the minimum GPA of 3.4, it adds weight only for AP and IB courses, not for the school's UC-certified honors courses. The welcome message from the director of the Crean Lutheran High School international office mentions 175 international students, 18% of the student body (year not stated). The data on this page do not separate California residents from international students, so F-1 students should first check the minimum GPA under the nonresident rule before comparing with admitted-student GPAs.


