Fairmont Preparatory Academy is located in western Anaheim in Orange County and is the only high school in the Fairmont Schools system. It was founded in 1994 on the former Philip A. Stanton estate and graduated its first class in 1997. The school has no religious affiliation, and since 2023 it has been part of the International Schools Partnership (ISP) group along with the rest of Fairmont Schools. According to the California Department of Education 2025-26 private school affidavit data, the school has 573 students and 44 full-time teachers. Three features set the school apart: first, there is no formal entrance exam, and admission is rolling throughout the year; second, the student body is international, and the website states that 35% of students come from overseas; third, the school offers the fee-based Advanced Science and Engineering Program (ASEP) and Advanced Business Program (ABP), and mathematics courses extend to multivariable calculus and abstract algebra. This page does not rate the school. It answers two questions: how to gain admission, and how to plan the four years after enrollment.
UC A-G refers to the seven course categories (a through g) that the University of California and California State University require of high school students; UC recognizes only courses on a school’s A-G list. AP is the College Board’s Advanced Placement program of college-level courses; IB is the pre-university curriculum of the International Baccalaureate; honors courses, marked (H) in this school’s course titles, are advanced courses designed by the school; and CP means College Prep.
The College-Preparation Structure at Fairmont Preparatory Academy
The information published by the school points to four characteristics.
First, the school is small, with larger upper grades. In the 2025-26 school year, the four grades had 131, 123, 148, and 171 students, respectively, with 40 more students in grade 12 than in grade 9. This may be related to rolling admission throughout the year and the acceptance of transfer students during high school. The school reports a student-to-college-counselor ratio of 85:1, and the website lists 7 counseling staff members.
Second, the curriculum reaches a high ceiling, but program courses carry extra fees. The 2026-27 course catalog lists 31 AP courses, and the UC A-G list for 2026-27 registers 128 courses at the school, 71 of which are UC-approved honors courses. Beyond AP Calculus BC, mathematics offers five honors courses: Multivariable Calculus, Differential Equations and Linear Algebra, Advanced Discrete Mathematics and Number Theory, Complex Analysis, and Abstract Algebra. ASEP and ABP each cost an additional $3,200 per year, and their core courses are open only to program students.
Third, the student body is international, and language support forms a complete system. International students are assessed for English proficiency at entry and placed by iTEP or TOEFL score into one of four levels of the Writing & Language Seminar, while also taking adapted classes in English, science, and history. Tuition for F-1 students includes language support; local students who need language support pay an additional $5,000 or $18,500 in grades 9 through 12, depending on level.
Fourth, the status of IB needs to be confirmed. The school has been an IB Diploma Programme school since 1995, and the 2025-26 course catalog still included a full set of IB courses, but the 2026-27 course catalog removes all IB courses and keeps only AP. For families preparing to apply, this means planning around AP and honors courses rather than the IB Diploma.
How to Apply
Fairmont Preparatory Academy admits on a rolling basis throughout the year, with no fixed deadline, and offers admission as space allows. The steps below follow the process described on the school website.
Steps in the application for grades 9 to 11
- Complete the inquiry form on the website; an admissions representative will contact the family to arrange a student meeting and campus tour
- Schedule a Shadow Day: the school pairs the applicant with a current student with similar interests to attend a day of classes
- After the visit, the director of admissions sends a link to the application; submit two years of transcripts, a standardized test score from the past two years, and recommendations from English and mathematics teachers, and pay the $150 application and assessment fee
- The student and parents attend an interview together, and the student completes the school's admissions assessment
- Receive a decision within one to two weeks after materials are complete; return the signed enrollment contract and pay the $1,750 deposit, after which the student can begin classes within one to two days
- For financial aid, apply through FAST starting March 1 each year; students interested in ASEP or ABP apply to those programs separately
| Entrance exam | The school website's FAQ page states that applicants to grades 9 to 12 are not required to take a formal entrance exam. The school instead relies on four items: two years of transcripts, one standardized test score from the past two years, one recommendation each from an English teacher and a math teacher, and an on-campus interview. The FAQ's list of materials also includes a "Fairmont admissions assessment," and the website does not describe its format or content |
|---|---|
| Admission cycle | Rolling admission year-round with no fixed deadline; offers are made whenever seats are available. The process: submit an inquiry form, and an admissions representative will contact the family to arrange a student interview and campus tour; families may also book a Shadow Day, when a current student with similar interests takes the applicant to classes for a day; after the visit, the director of admissions sends a link to the application; once materials are submitted, the admissions committee reviews them |
| Decision notification | Decisions are sent by email or phone within one to two weeks after the file is complete, often sooner; students can begin attending classes within one to two days after returning the signed enrollment contract |
| Application materials | Application and application fee (new student application and assessment fee of $150); Transcripts for two full school years; Copy of birth certificate or passport; Math teacher and English teacher recommendations (two recommendation forms are available on the website's downloads page); One standardized test score from the past two years; Consent to Release School Records; Fairmont admissions assessment; Shadow Day |
| Interview | Both the student and parents must attend an interview, which the school describes as a very important part of admission. The school suggests that parents prepare to discuss the student's academic history, strengths, and interests, and that students prepare for questions such as "Why Fairmont?" and "What are your interests?" |
| Course placement at entry | After enrollment, students are placed into the appropriate level of core courses based on course prerequisites, placement tests, teacher recommendations, or department chair approval, with final approval by the Head of School |
| Tuition and fees (2026-27) | Domestic students pay $34,435 in one payment, $35,375 in two installments, or $35,500 in monthly installments. The Advanced Science and Engineering Program (ASEP) and the Advanced Business Program (ABP) each charge an additional $3,200/year. All students pay an enrollment deposit of $1,750; new students also pay a $150 application and assessment fee and a $500 registration fee; grade 12 students pay a $650 graduation fee. Siblings enrolled at the school receive a $500 reduction each. Uniforms, a personal laptop or full-size iPad, varsity athletic fees, lunch, and participation fees for various activities are extra |
| Payment options | The F-1 international student fee schedule states that single payments are due by July 1, 2026; two-installment plans pay 70% on July 1, 2026, and 30% on December 1; credit card payments carry a 3.12% surcharge; late payments incur $50 per month |
| Other fees | Lunch is provided by the vendor NIBLL at an estimated $200 per month; bus service costs $2,550/year one way or $4,950/year round trip; the speech and debate team costs $200 per semester; language support classes (domestic students) in grades 9 to 12 cost $5,000/year at Level L2 and $18,500/year at Level L3, and new students are billed at the highest level until their placement assessment |
| Financial aid | The school awards a limited amount of financial aid each year, using FAST (Financial Aid for School Tuition) to assess financial need; applications open on March 1 each year and are reviewed and awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. FAST assesses financial need only; the school's financial aid committee decides whether to award aid and in what amount, and the result is written into the enrollment contract. The application fee is $53 and is nonrefundable |
| Financial aid documents | The tuition page lists complete federal and state tax returns (with all schedules), business tax returns if there is business income, and pay stubs for every wage earner in the household |
| Religious affiliation | The school has no religious affiliation and no religion classes or chapel requirements. The service-related graduation requirement is 20 hours of community service per year |
| Community service | Students must complete at least 20 hours of community service for each year enrolled, 80 hours over four years; the 2025-26 student handbook states that IB Diploma candidates may need more service hours |
Below are the application milestones published on the school website and the EDUBUS advisors’ review of the school.
Application TimelinePublished on the school website
- Rolling admission with no fixed deadline; decisions within one to two weeks of a complete file
- Financial aid applications open through FAST (the school opens them on March 1 each year)Opens
International Students (F-1)
The school has accepted F-1 international students for more than 20 years, and both the application process and fees for this group differ from those for local students.
| Application process and materials | International students first complete an online interview; those already in the United States may also tour the campus and attend a Shadow Day. Application materials include original transcripts for the past three years with English translations, one teacher recommendation and one math teacher recommendation, the required iTEP-SLATE English test (TOEFL Junior, TOEFL, IELTS, or Duolingo scores may supplement it), and a copy of the passport. International students must enter in grade 11 or below; the school does not accept international students entering grade 12. Students may repeat at most one year of high school, but may not turn 20 before May 1 of their grade 12 year. Families whose visas are denied may request a refund with an official denial letter |
|---|---|
| Tuition and fees (2026-27) | F-1 international students in grades 9 to 12 pay $55,900/year in tuition (including language support at Levels L0 to L3) and a $5,000 deposit at enrollment, plus a $500 registration fee, a $1,650 new student orientation fee, $3,600 in mandatory health insurance, and a $650 graduation fee in grade 12. For school-arranged homestay (Fairmont Homestay), the 2026-27 F-1 fee schedule lists $35,500 for ten months in grades 6 to 12, plus a $1,200 application fee and a $600 deposit; the website's Homestay page lists $32,180 per school year for grades 6 to 12 and $36,580 for grades K-5, with a deposit of $2,000 per student per school year. Because the two sources differ, rely on the school's written quote. Students in a homestay not arranged by the school pay $2,000; students living with their parents pay $2,000, refunded after a home visit confirms the arrangement |
| Housing | Homestays arranged by the school (Fairmont Homestay) provide a private bedroom, breakfast and dinner, and all weekend meals; every adult in a homestay household must pass a background check and complete annual training. Students may also choose a student residence operated by an outside organization, Global Bridge Associates. The school itself does not operate boarding facilities |
| Language support | English proficiency is assessed at entry; students who need support take adapted classes in English, science, and history, along with one of four levels of the Writing & Language Seminar based on iTEP or TOEFL scores. Current students may apply to move up a level with a new TOEFL iBT score during the first three weeks of each semester |
| World language requirement | Students holding an I-20 are exempt from the world language graduation requirement |
Bus Service and Commuting
The school operates bus routes covering several Orange County cities, two of which stop in Irvine.
| Routes and times | The Fall 2026 bus schedule lists five routes: Route A, Anaheim Hills; Route B, East Irvine and Santa Ana; Route C, Diamond Bar; Route D, Costa Mesa and Newport Beach; and Route E, Irvine. Irvine families can use two routes: Route B departs Bella Vista Park in Irvine (30 Pacific Crest) at 7:00 a.m. and returns at 4:05 p.m.; Route E departs Great Park Ice Lot 2 in Irvine (888 Ridgevalley) at 7:00 a.m. and returns at 4:00 p.m.; on early dismissal days, afternoon times move 3 hours earlier |
|---|---|
| Fees and registration | Bus service costs $2,550/year one way or $4,950/year round trip (2026-27 F-1 fee schedule), and families must register through the website form; families without a suitable route can submit an interest form to propose a new route |
| Student drivers | Upper-grade students who drive to school must apply for a parking permit at the front office and show a driver's license and proof of insurance; spaces are limited and billed annually |
Choosing a School: Total Tuition, Commute, and Campus Visits
This section answers four questions parents often ask before deciding whether to apply: which families the school suits, how much four years will cost, how students get to school from Irvine, and what to confirm during a campus visit.
Which Families the School Suits
Fairmont Preparatory Academy suits three types of families. The first is families who do not plan to have the student prepare for the ISEE or HSPT and prefer admission based on transcripts and an interview; with rolling admission throughout the year, the school also suits students transferring during grades 9 through 11. The second is families whose student has already chosen a STEM or business direction and who are willing to pay an additional $3,200 per year for a program. The third is families who value a nonreligious school with an international student body: the school has no religion courses or chapel requirement, and the website states that 35% of students come from overseas. The school offers Mandarin through AP Chinese Language and Culture. Families interested in the IB Diploma should first confirm with the school whether it will still accept new diploma candidates from 2026-27 onward.
Total Tuition for Four Years
Based on 2026-27 tuition for local students paid in full, $34,435, four years from grade 9 through grade 12 come to about $137,740 in tuition. Students in ASEP or the business program pay an additional $12,800 over four years. F-1 international students pay $55,900 per year, about $223,600 in tuition over four years, not including homestay costs. All figures use 2026-27 prices; the school has not published tuition for later years. The enrollment deposit, registration fee, graduation fee, bus service, lunch, and uniforms are additional.
Commuting from Irvine
The school is located in western Anaheim. Calculated by EDUBUS from each neighborhood’s center point and the school address, the straight-line distance to the school is about 14.5 miles from Northwood in Irvine, 16.0 miles from Woodbury, 16.7 miles from Turtle Rock, and 17.2 miles from Portola Springs. Actual driving times depend on navigation and are noticeably longer during the morning rush hour. Routes B and E stop in Irvine, with round-trip service costing $4,950 per year; routes and times appear under “Bus Service and Commuting” above. Irvine families making the daily round trip should compare bus service with driving the student themselves.
Questions to Confirm During a Campus Visit
- IB Diploma Programme: the International Baccalaureate directory still lists the school as an IB Diploma Programme school, but the 2026-27 course catalog no longer includes IB courses; ask whether the school still accepts new diploma candidates.
- Admissions assessment: the materials checklist includes the Fairmont admissions assessment, but the website does not describe its format or content.
- Program fees: the tuition page and the F-1 fee schedule state $3,200 per year for ASEP and the business program, while the FAQ page states $2,700 per year; confirm which figure applies.
- Class size: the school does not publish an average class size or student-to-teacher ratio.
- Physics sequence: AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism lists AP Physics 1 as a prerequisite, but the school does not offer AP Physics 1 in 2026-27; ask about the actual course path.
- Homestay costs: the F-1 fee schedule states $35,500 for ten months for grades 6 through 12 with a $600 deposit, while the homestay page states $32,180 per school year with a $2,000 deposit per school year; confirm the actual amounts for 2026-27.
Comparison with Similar Schools
The main differences between Fairmont Preparatory Academy and the nearest private high schools serving grades 9 through 12 lie in entrance exams and institutional background. Distances in the table are straight-line distances between school addresses, calculated by EDUBUS.
| School | Background | Entrance exam | Straight-line distance from this school |
|---|---|---|---|
| Servite High School | Catholic, boys | HSPT | 0.6 miles |
| Rosary Academy | Catholic, girls | HSPT | 4.6 miles |
| Whittier Christian High School | Christian | School placement test | 6.3 miles |
| Orange Lutheran High School | Lutheran | No entrance exam | 7.6 miles |
All four schools have a religious affiliation, and theology or Bible courses are part of their graduation requirements; three of them require the HSPT or a school placement test. Fairmont Preparatory Academy has no religious affiliation and requires no entrance exam, which is the main difference from these schools. For each school’s tuition and courses, refer to its own guide page.
Year-by-Year UC Data: Applicants, Admission Rates, and GPA
The data below come from UC Infocenter, published by the University of California Office of the President by source high school, with the school type set to California private high school, and updated each year. They answer two questions: how many Fairmont Preparatory Academy students apply and are admitted each year, and what GPAs admitted students hold. GPA is the UC weighted, capped GPA, which counts only courses from grades 10 and 11. UC does not publish categories with fewer than 5 applicants or fewer than 3 admitted or enrolled students; these appear as “—” in the tables.
The ten lines are hard to tell apart where they overlap. Hover over any campus name below to highlight that campus’s trend; click to keep it highlighted, and click again to clear it.Tap any campus name below to highlight that campus’s trend; tap again to clear it.
Official UC data · By high school of origin · 2014–2025
Year-by-year data for the top six UC campuses
Parents focus most on six campuses: Berkeley, Los Angeles, San Diego, Santa Barbara, Irvine, and Davis. The table lists, by year, the number of Fairmont Preparatory Academy students who applied to, were admitted to, and enrolled at each campus, along with average GPA; use the buttons to switch metrics. Cells showing — are data that UC did not publish because the counts were too small.
From 2014 to 2025, the admit rate for Fairmont Preparatory Academy applicants to UC Los Angeles fell from 20% to 11%, and to UC Berkeley rose from 16% to 20%; the rate at UC Irvine held steady (32% to 32%).
This table has five data views. Use the buttons below to view admits, applicants, enrollees, admit GPA, and applicant GPA; the button for the current view is highlighted in yellow.
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 19 (20%) | 11 (11%) | 26 (25%) | 33 (36%) | 34 (32%) | 35 (44%) |
| 2024 | 10 (13%) | 7 (8%) | 18 (19%) | 24 (28%) | 27 (29%) | 24 (37%) |
| 2023 | 8 (14%) | 7 (10%) | 16 (21%) | 10 (18%) | 17 (23%) | 21 (45%) |
| 2022 | 5 (9%) | 3 (5%) | 9 (16%) | 12 (24%) | 19 (28%) | 15 (33%) |
| 2021 | 8 (10%) | 8 (9%) | 20 (24%) | 20 (25%) | 32 (35%) | 37 (57%) |
| 2020 | 9 (15%) | 11 (15%) | 26 (31%) | 24 (33%) | 29 (34%) | 34 (51%) |
| 2019 | 13 (25%) | 9 (15%) | 17 (24%) | 17 (34%) | 17 (25%) | 18 (33%) |
| 2018 | 8 (13%) | 6 (7%) | 27 (29%) | 24 (29%) | 32 (30%) | 34 (46%) |
| 2017 | 7 (10%) | 11 (14%) | 31 (33%) | 23 (27%) | 31 (29%) | 34 (43%) |
| 2016 | 5 (8%) | 10 (13%) | 19 (22%) | 17 (24%) | 30 (29%) | 29 (38%) |
| 2015 | 13 (25%) | 13 (20%) | 31 (43%) | 11 (24%) | 44 (45%) | 24 (40%) |
| 2014 | 10 (16%) | 15 (20%) | 31 (34%) | 16 (22%) | 31 (32%) | 30 (41%) |
| Change, 2014–2025 | ▲ 16% → 20% | ▼ 20% → 11% | ▼ 34% → 25% | ▲ 22% → 36% | ▲ 32% → 32% | ▲ 41% → 44% |
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 93 | 104 | 104 | 91 | 107 | 79 |
| 2024 | 76 | 89 | 95 | 85 | 93 | 65 |
| 2023 | 57 | 73 | 75 | 56 | 73 | 47 |
| 2022 | 55 | 62 | 57 | 51 | 67 | 45 |
| 2021 | 80 | 92 | 85 | 80 | 91 | 65 |
| 2020 | 62 | 74 | 83 | 73 | 86 | 67 |
| 2019 | 51 | 60 | 72 | 50 | 69 | 54 |
| 2018 | 63 | 84 | 94 | 83 | 105 | 74 |
| 2017 | 68 | 81 | 93 | 85 | 106 | 80 |
| 2016 | 64 | 75 | 85 | 72 | 102 | 77 |
| 2015 | 53 | 65 | 72 | 46 | 98 | 60 |
| 2014 | 62 | 76 | 92 | 72 | 98 | 74 |
| Change, 2014–2025 | ▲ 62 → 93 | ▲ 76 → 104 | ▲ 92 → 104 | ▲ 72 → 91 | ▲ 98 → 107 | ▲ 74 → 79 |
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 7 | 5 | 6 | — | 14 | 3 |
| 2024 | 6 | 4 | — | — | 6 | 4 |
| 2023 | — | 5 | 5 | — | 4 | — |
| 2022 | 3 | — | 3 | — | 7 | — |
| 2021 | — | — | 4 | 3 | 17 | 4 |
| 2020 | — | 3 | 4 | — | 10 | 6 |
| 2019 | 5 | 3 | 3 | 3 | 5 | — |
| 2018 | 4 | — | 9 | — | 9 | 4 |
| 2017 | — | — | 6 | — | 9 | 8 |
| 2016 | — | 4 | 3 | — | 9 | 7 |
| 2015 | — | 3 | 8 | — | 9 | 3 |
| 2014 | — | 4 | 4 | — | 3 | 3 |
| Change, 2014–2025 | — | ▲ 4 → 5 | ▲ 4 → 6 | — | ▲ 3 → 14 | 3 → 3 |
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 4.14 | 4.15 | 4.11 | 4.14 | 4.09 | 4.07 |
| 2024 | 4.14 | 4.20 | 4.14 | 4.17 | 4.13 | 4.12 |
| 2023 | 4.18 | 4.22 | 4.18 | 4.23 | 4.22 | 4.14 |
| 2022 | 4.21 | — | 4.19 | 4.15 | 4.15 | 4.05 |
| 2021 | 4.17 | 4.22 | 4.15 | 4.13 | 4.08 | 3.99 |
| 2020 | 4.21 | 4.21 | 4.13 | 4.14 | 4.08 | 4.01 |
| 2019 | 4.17 | 4.21 | 4.18 | 4.14 | 4.02 | 4.12 |
| 2018 | 4.08 | 4.23 | 4.08 | 4.06 | 4.02 | 3.96 |
| 2017 | 4.21 | 4.15 | 4.05 | 4.01 | 3.98 | 3.97 |
| 2016 | 4.16 | 4.21 | 4.09 | 4.03 | 4.04 | 3.87 |
| 2015 | 4.21 | 4.21 | 4.09 | 4.01 | 4.01 | 4.00 |
| 2014 | 4.11 | 4.14 | 4.05 | 4.02 | 3.98 | 3.99 |
| Change, 2014–2025 | ▲ 4.11 → 4.14 | ▲ 4.14 → 4.15 | ▲ 4.05 → 4.11 | ▲ 4.02 → 4.14 | ▲ 3.98 → 4.09 | ▲ 3.99 → 4.07 |
| Year | UC Berkeley | UC Los Angeles | UC San Diego | UC Santa Barbara | UC Irvine | UC Davis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Latest | 3.94 | 3.95 | 3.91 | 3.89 | 3.90 | 3.88 |
| 2024 | 3.93 | 3.91 | 3.90 | 3.87 | 3.88 | 3.89 |
| 2023 | 3.96 | 3.90 | 3.88 | 3.91 | 3.84 | 3.84 |
| 2022 | 3.96 | 3.96 | 3.86 | 3.85 | 3.84 | 3.72 |
| 2021 | 3.89 | 3.82 | 3.79 | 3.80 | 3.79 | 3.77 |
| 2020 | 3.92 | 3.86 | 3.81 | 3.83 | 3.74 | 3.76 |
| 2019 | 3.89 | 3.80 | 3.75 | 3.77 | 3.71 | 3.69 |
| 2018 | 3.88 | 3.80 | 3.65 | 3.63 | 3.61 | 3.62 |
| 2017 | 3.79 | 3.77 | 3.74 | 3.65 | 3.66 | 3.66 |
| 2016 | 3.78 | 3.76 | 3.66 | 3.55 | 3.60 | 3.60 |
| 2015 | 3.91 | 3.84 | 3.73 | 3.56 | 3.62 | 3.63 |
| 2014 | 3.79 | 3.72 | 3.70 | 3.55 | 3.56 | 3.64 |
| Change, 2014–2025 | ▲ 3.79 → 3.94 | ▲ 3.72 → 3.95 | ▲ 3.70 → 3.91 | ▲ 3.55 → 3.89 | ▲ 3.56 → 3.90 | ▲ 3.64 → 3.88 |
Applications and Admissions by Campus in the Most Recent Year
| UC campus (fall 2025) | Applicants | Admits | Admit rate | Enrollees | Admit GPA |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UC Berkeley | 93 | 19 | 20% | 7 | 4.14 |
| UC Los Angeles | 104 | 11 | 11% | 5 | 4.15 |
| UC San Diego | 104 | 26 | 25% | 6 | 4.11 |
| UC Davis | 79 | 35 | 44% | 3 | 4.07 |
| UC Irvine | 107 | 34 | 32% | 14 | 4.09 |
| UC Santa Barbara | 91 | 33 | 36% | — | 4.14 |
| UC Merced | 43 | 42 | 98% | — | 3.83 |
| UC Riverside | 79 | 75 | 95% | 3 | 3.90 |
| UC Santa Cruz | 49 | 39 | 80% | — | 3.91 |
College Destinations Published by the School
All content in this section comes from the college counseling page and the history page of the Fairmont Preparatory Academy website; the school does not publish a School Profile. These data differ from the official UC data above in three ways: the school compiles them itself; they do not state a graduating class, whereas official UC data are published year by year; and they cover all colleges rather than UC alone. Note the basis of the data: the list shows colleges that admitted students, not colleges where students ultimately enrolled.
ScopeThe admissions list and statistics published on the school website's college counseling page do not state a graduating class. The list shows colleges where students were admitted, not where they enrolled, and the school does not publish the number of admits per college. The page lists 186 colleges, while the statistics on the same page state that students were admitted to 361 colleges in total. Source: College preparation & counseling ↗
School-reported statistics (graduating class not stated)
- 96% of students who applied to top-100 U.S. universities were admitted to at least one
- 50% of students were admitted to highly selective universities
- 98% of students who attended Fairmont since grade 7 were admitted to a top-100 university
- Students were admitted to 361 colleges in total, averaging 4.75 admissions per student
- Renewable scholarships totaling more than $5.2 million
Selected U.S. private universities on the list
- Harvard University
- Yale University
- Stanford University
- Columbia University
- Cornell University
- Dartmouth College
- Duke University
- Johns Hopkins University
- University of Chicago
- Northwestern University
- California Institute of Technology
- Rice University
- Georgetown University
- Emory University
- University of Notre Dame
- University of Southern California
- New York University
- Harvey Mudd College
Colleges outside the United States on the list
- Imperial College London
- University College London
- University of St. Andrews
- University of Toronto
- University of British Columbia
- University of Hong Kong
- New York University, Shanghai
School-reported admission rates at selected colleges, Class of 2025
- Harvard University 10.53%
- Yale University 9.09%
- Stanford University 10%
- Johns Hopkins University 27.78%
Two points can be drawn from this list. First, it includes the Ivy League universities Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Cornell, and Dartmouth, as well as Stanford University, the California Institute of Technology, and the University of Chicago. Second, the school’s statistics and list do not match: the statistics state that students were admitted to 361 colleges, but the page lists only 186, and the text mentions the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, which does not appear on the list. The school’s self-reported admission rates at several colleges for the Class of 2025 do not give applicant counts, and with small samples, a difference of one or two students can change a percentage substantially. UC applications, admissions, and enrollments should always be taken from the official UC data on this page.
GPA Weighting: The School Method and the UC Method
This section addresses the question parents most often miscalculate: how the school and UC each weight the same transcript. The school’s rules come first.
| School grading and weighting | The school grades on a plus/minus scale. For college preparatory (CP) courses, A+ is 4.30, A is 4.00, A- is 3.70, B+ is 3.30, and so on. Honors (H) and AP courses add 1.00 point at each grade, with A+ and A both earning 5.00 and A- earning 4.70; only F receives no added point, and D grades are still weighted |
|---|---|
| Weighted courses | All AP courses (31 in the 2026-27 course catalog); All school honors courses marked (H), including the ASEP and ABP core courses |
| Courses excluded from the GPA | The school GPA excludes physical education, CIF varsity athletics, Associated Student Body (ASB), Contract Sports, and pass/fail courses. Courses taken outside the school do not count in the school GPA, even when approved for credit |
| Class rank | The school does not rank students; if a college or scholarship application asks for class rank, the school recommends leaving it blank, and contacting a counselor if the field cannot be left blank |
| Valedictorian | The valedictorian is chosen by the highest weighted GPA in the class; only students enrolled at the school for four consecutive years are eligible |
| Schoolwide average GPA | The website's Private High School page reports an average unweighted GPA of 3.61 and an average weighted GPA of 4.13 for current students, without stating the school year |
| UC weighting rules | UC counts only A-G course grades earned from the summer after grade 9 through the summer after grade 11, and ignores plus and minus marks. California residents earn 1 extra point per semester for AP, IB HL and designated IB SL courses, transferable college courses, and UC-certified honors courses, up to 8 points across grades 10 and 11, with no more than 4 in grade 10; honors courses with a D or F earn no extra point. When UC checks whether nonresidents (including F-1 international students) meet the 3.4 minimum GPA, it weights only AP and IB courses, not school-designated honors courses |
| UC-approved honors courses at the school | The UC 2026-27 A-G list records 128 courses for the school, 71 of which are UC-approved honors courses: 30 AP, 7 IB, and 34 UC-certified honors courses |
A course-by-course comparison of the official UC A-G list with the school’s 2026-27 course catalog shows that the following courses are weighted as honors courses at Fairmont Preparatory Academy but count as regular courses in UC applications, or are not on the UC list at all.
| School honors course | Subject and notes |
|---|---|
| English I (H) | Grade 9 English; listed as a regular course on the UC list |
| Geometry (H) | Mathematics; listed as a regular course on the UC list |
| Algebra II/Trigonometry (H) | Mathematics; listed as a regular course on the UC list |
| Biology (H) | Science; listed as a regular course on the UC list |
| Methodologies in Science & Engineering (H) | ASEP grade 9 core course; UC approves it as a laboratory science in area d, but not as an honors course |
| Introduction to Business & Finance (H) | ABP grade 9 core course; the course catalog marks it as a UC honors course, but it is not on the UC 2026-27 list |
| Fashion Design II (H) | Arts; the course catalog marks it as a UC honors course, but it is not on the UC 2026-27 list |
| Engineering (H) - U of A Engineering Physics 102 | ASEP course for grades 11 to 12; not on the UC high school course list. It is a University of Arizona dual-credit course; confirm with the school whether UC gives California residents the extra point for it as a transferable college course |
The differences between the two methods fall in three areas. First, the school adds points even for a D, while UC adds no points for a D or F in an honors course; the school records an A+ as 4.30, while UC ignores plus and minus signs, so an A+ counts the same as an A. Second, UC does not count grade 9, so English I (H) and the ASEP course Methodologies in Science and Engineering (H) do not affect the UC GPA; the courses that need attention are Algebra II/Trigonometry (H) and Biology (H), common in grade 10, which raise the school GPA but add nothing to the UC GPA. Third, F-1 international students are California nonresidents. When UC calculates the minimum GPA of 3.4 for nonresidents, it adds weight only for AP and IB courses; the UC website does not separately explain how UC-certified honors courses such as U.S. History (H) and Chemistry (H) are treated at this step, so AP is the reliable weighted choice, and families should confirm with UC admissions. EDUBUS recommends that California resident students prioritize UC-approved honors courses in grade 10, such as English II (H) or AP Seminar, Chemistry (H), and AP World History; international students should place as many of their advanced courses in grades 10 and 11 as possible in AP. UC counts at most 4 honors points in grade 10, equal to two full-year courses, so additional honors courses do not raise the UC GPA further.
Four-Year Timeline
Grade 8: Applying
- Any timeSubmit an inquiry form and book a campus tour, student and parent interviews, and a Shadow Day; the school admits on a rolling basis year-round
- After the visitReceive the application link and submit two years of transcripts, a standardized test score from the past two years, and English and math teacher recommendations
- One to two weeks after the file is completeReceive the admission decision; return the signed enrollment contract and pay the $1,750 deposit
- From March 1Apply for financial aid through FAST; applications are reviewed first come, first served
- July 1Deadline for single-payment tuition (July 1, 2026, for the 2026-27 school year); students interested in ASEP or ABP apply according to program requirements
Grade 9
- All yearTake Strategies for Success and physical education (ASEP and ABP students are exempt from Strategies for Success); ASEP students take Methodologies in Science and Engineering, and ABP students take Introduction to Business & Finance
- All yearComplete at least 20 hours of community service; meet individually with a counselor at least 4 times a year
- SpringRequest grade 10 courses based on prerequisites; a B+ or higher in English I (H) is required for English II (H) or AP Seminar
- June to JulySummer school offers Geometry or Precalculus (H) for advancement (prerequisites and approval required)
Grade 10
- All yearThe UC GPA begins with the summer after grade 9; honors courses this year count for at most 4 points
- All yearAP Seminar, AP Biology, AP Chemistry, and other courses open this year; ASEP students take Bioengineering, and ABP students take Business Management
- SpringDecide whether to take AP Physics C, AP English, AP United States History, or honors courses in grade 11; from grade 11, students move to the college counseling team
Grade 11
- All yearThe last school year counted in the UC GPA; most AP courses open this year
- All yearThe college counseling team takes over; begin building a college list and preparing for interviews; attend the on-campus college fair
- MayTake the exams for AP courses taken; the school recommends no more than 5 in one exam season
Grade 12
- FallSubmit college applications; UC and CSU deadlines fall in the autumn
- All yearComplete the fourth year's 20 hours of community service; ABP students complete the Business Communication capstone
- Before graduationPay the $650 graduation fee
Three milestones truly determine the direction. The first is course placement and program choice around enrollment: ASEP and ABP core courses begin in grade 9, and joining after grade 9 makes the schedule very difficult to complete. The second is letter grades in grade 9: an A in Algebra I CP and a B+ in English I (H) are the prerequisites for entering Geometry (H) and English II (H) or AP Seminar, respectively, in grade 10. The third is spring course selection in grade 10: AP Chemistry requires an A or B in Chemistry (H), AP Biology also requires an A or B in Biology (H), and AP Physics C: Mechanics requires science department approval and concurrent enrollment in AP Calculus. This milestone determines the rigor of the grade 11 schedule, and grade 11 is the last year counted in the UC GPA.
Clubs and Academic Competitions
The Fairmont Preparatory Academy website mentions more than 50 clubs but does not publish a complete list. The academic clubs and teams that can be confirmed from the website and the course catalog are:
- Speech & Debate
- Huskyteers (robotics team)
- Academic Decathlon (offered as an honors course)
- ISP Model United Nations
- NHS (National Honor Society)
- Husky Vision (monthly student news and variety program)
- ASB (Associated Student Body, offered as a leadership course)
- Yearbook
The academic competition teams the school supports through courses or programs are listed below.
- Speech and debate: primarily Public Forum debate, competing in national circuit tournaments and the Tournament of Champions (TOC)
- Robotics: Huskyteers competes in the FIRST Tech Challenge (FTC) and the FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC)
- Academic Decathlon: students prepare through the Academic Decathlon (H) course, covering ten subjects plus speech, interview, and essay
- Mathematics: Advanced Mathematics Program students take exams such as the American Invitational Mathematics Examination (AIME) (the website lists the number of qualifiers without stating the years)
- Model United Nations: students attend online and in-person conferences through the ISP group's ISP Model United Nations
Speech and debate is the school’s most established competition program: the school states that the team had more than 90 members last year, attends more than 20 national circuit tournaments each year, and has had students qualify for the Tournament of Champions (TOC) in each of the past 8 years. In mathematics, the website reports the number of Advanced Mathematics Program students who qualified for the American Invitational Mathematics Examination (AIME), but without a year, and does not state whether the school administers the American Mathematics Competitions (AMC) on campus. For individual science competitions, such as the U.S. Physics Olympiad (USAPhO) and the U.S. National Chemistry Olympiad (USNCO), the website does not mention school teams.
Signature Programs
- Advanced Science and Engineering Program (ASEP, since 2004): Formerly the Medical Magnet, the program serves students preparing for science and engineering majors; students must apply separately and be admitted, and the program costs an additional $3,200 per year. Students take one program core course each year: Methodologies in Science and Engineering in grade 9, Bioengineering in grade 10, and in grades 11 to 12 a choice of Organic Chemistry, Biotechnology, Engineering (University of Arizona dual credit), and Advanced Coding and AI Applications, with the option of outside research or internships for credit. The lab is equipped with PCR thermal cyclers, gel electrophoresis, and tissue culture equipment. The website reports an average GPA of 4.63 and an average SAT of 1402 for ASEP students, without stating the year
- Advanced Business Program (ABP, since 2014): For students interested in business, economics, and entrepreneurship; admission also requires an application, and the program costs an additional $3,200 per year. Students take Introduction to Business & Finance and AP Business with Personal Finance in grade 9, Business Management in grade 10, AP Macroeconomics, Essentials of Marketing, and Introduction to Entrepreneurship in grade 11 (the last two earn Syracuse University credit), and AP Microeconomics and the Business Communication capstone in grade 12, with the option of internships for credit. The website reports an average GPA of 4.36 and an average SAT of 1284 for ABP students, without stating the year
- Advanced Mathematics Program (since 2000): Beyond AP Calculus BC, the program offers Multivariable Calculus, Differential Equations and Linear Algebra, Discrete Mathematics and Number Theory, Complex Analysis, and Abstract Algebra, all at the honors level. The website states that the program has been recognized by the College Board and the Siemens Foundation, and reports the number of students who qualified for the American Invitational Mathematics Examination (AIME)
- IB Diploma Programme (authorized 1995; current status to be confirmed): The IBO directory still lists the school as an IB Diploma Programme school. The 2025-26 course catalog includes a full set of IB courses, but the 2026-27 course catalog no longer lists IB courses; confirm with the school whether it still enrolls new Diploma candidates
- Speech and Debate Team: Competes in Public Forum debate, Lincoln-Douglas debate (LD), and extemporaneous speaking. The team has no tryouts and had more than 90 members last year; it attends more than 20 national circuit tournaments each year, and the school states that students have qualified for the Tournament of Champions (TOC) in each of the past 8 years. Team members must take the introductory or advanced debate course and pay $200 per semester
- Huskyteers Robotics Team: Trains in the school's robotics workshop and competes in the FIRST Tech Challenge (FTC) and the FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC)
- International student support: International Foundation Center: English proficiency is assessed at enrollment; international students who need language support take adapted classes in English, science, and history, along with a four-level Writing & Language Seminar placed by iTEP or TOEFL scores. Adapted classes earn credit and are approved by UC. Current students may request a move up during the first three weeks of each semester with a new TOEFL iBT score
- Athletics: The website lists more than 16 CIF sports, and the course catalog lists 20 interscholastic teams for boys and girls; in the 2024-25 season the school won 13 league and individual titles, and boys' basketball won the 2025 CIF Southern Section championship. The school also has an ice hockey program in the Anaheim Ducks High School Hockey League. The website states that 11% of graduates go on to compete at the college or semi-professional level
Schools to CompareNearby private high schools, nearest first
How to Use the School’s College Counseling
This section explains what the school’s counseling team provides and when to use each service.
| Counseling team | The website lists 7 counseling staff: Director of Counseling Julie Weems, Director of College Counseling Justin Voss, and 5 academic and college counselors, among whom Mariam Ahmed works exclusively with ABP students and Ming Liao speaks Mandarin. The school states a student-to-college-counselor ratio of 85:1 |
|---|---|
| Counseling process | Each student is assigned an academic and college counselor by program, grade, or last name. Counselors meet individually with each student at least 4 times a year, in addition to group sessions. In grades 9 to 10, academic counselors oversee goals and progress; from grade 11, students move to the college counseling team, which focuses on applications, interviews, and selective admissions |
| Grades and learning platform | The school uses Blackbaud's MySchoolApp for grades and Canvas for course materials and assignments. The website does not state which college application platform it uses |
| College admissions events | The school hosts an on-campus college fair attended by representatives from about 200 colleges and universities |
| Transcripts | Current students request transcripts online five business days in advance at no charge; rush requests may cost $10. Requests are made at fairmontca.scriborder.com |
| International students | International students receive additional English and transition guidance, built into their academic planning |
The school website does not state which college planning platform is used for applications and does not describe the process for requesting recommendation letters; families should confirm these points with the counselor when the student moves to the college counseling team in grade 11. Grade levels and prerequisites for each course appear on Courses and Course Selection, the math sequence on Math Pathway, and AP courses and the status of IB on AP and IB.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do Irvine families need an entrance exam to apply to Fairmont Preparatory Academy?
No formal entrance exam is required. The Fairmont Preparatory Academy FAQ page states that the school does not require applicants to grades 9 through 12 to take a formal entrance exam. Instead, it reviews two years of transcripts, one standardized test score from the past two years, one recommendation each from an English teacher and a mathematics teacher, and an on-campus interview attended by both the student and parents. The materials checklist also lists the Fairmont admissions assessment and a Shadow Day; the website does not describe the format of the assessment, so families should ask during their inquiry. The school admits on a rolling basis throughout the year and notifies families of the decision within one to two weeks after materials are complete.
How much does a year at Fairmont Preparatory Academy cost for Irvine families?
For 2026-27, tuition for local students at Fairmont Preparatory Academy is $34,435 paid in full, $35,375 in two payments, or $35,500 in monthly payments. The ASEP science and engineering program and the business program each cost an additional $3,200 per year (the FAQ page states $2,700, so families should confirm before enrolling). All students pay an enrollment deposit of $1,750; new students pay a $150 application and assessment fee and a $500 registration fee; and grade 12 students pay a $650 graduation fee. Siblings attending the school receive a $500 reduction each. Round-trip bus service costs $4,950 per year. The school awards a limited amount of financial aid through FAST, with applications opening on March 1 each year.
How does bus service work for Irvine students attending Fairmont Preparatory Academy?
Two Fairmont Preparatory Academy bus routes serve Irvine. According to the Fall 2026 schedule, Route B departs from Bella Vista Park in Irvine (30 Pacific Crest) at 7:00 a.m. and returns at 4:05 p.m., and Route E departs from Parking Lot 2 at Great Park Ice in Irvine (888 Ridgevalley) at 7:00 a.m. and returns at 4:00 p.m. One-way service costs $2,550 per year and round-trip service $4,950 per year; registration is through a form on the website. Upper-grade students may also apply for a parking permit and drive themselves; spaces are limited and charged annually.
Irvine families often ask: are all honors courses at Fairmont Preparatory Academy weighted for UC applications?
Not all of them. Fairmont Preparatory Academy adds 1 point for every AP course and every honors course marked (H). According to the UC A-G list for 2026-27, 71 courses at the school are UC-approved honors courses, but English I (H), Geometry (H), Algebra II/Trigonometry (H), Biology (H), and the ASEP course Methodologies in Science and Engineering (H) count as regular courses for UC, and Introduction to Business & Finance (H) and Fashion Design II (H) are not on the UC list. In addition, according to the GPA requirement page on the UC website, when UC calculates whether a nonresident (including an F-1 international student) meets the minimum GPA of 3.4, it adds weight only for AP and IB courses, not for honors courses designed by the school.
Irvine families want to know: does Fairmont Preparatory Academy still offer the IB Diploma Programme?
This needs to be confirmed with the school. The International Baccalaureate school directory still lists Fairmont Preparatory Academy as an IB Diploma Programme school authorized since 1995, and the 2025-26 course catalog included a full set of IB courses. However, the 2026-27 course catalog no longer lists any IB courses, and the AP and IB exam policy now refers only to AP. The UC A-G list for 2026-27 still registers 7 IB courses, most of them the second year of two-year courses. Families interested in the IB Diploma should ask before applying whether the school still accepts new diploma candidates.
Irvine families want to know: which colleges do Fairmont Preparatory Academy graduates attend?
Fairmont Preparatory Academy lists 186 colleges that have admitted its students on its college counseling page, including Harvard University, Yale University, Stanford University, Columbia University, Duke University, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Chicago, and the California Institute of Technology. The school reports that 96% of students who applied to top-100 universities were admitted to at least one, but neither this statistic nor the list states a graduating class, and neither reflects enrollment. UC admission counts come from the official University of California data by source high school: in fall 2025, 118 Fairmont Preparatory Academy students applied to the University of California, and 104 were admitted to at least one campus, including 19 admitted to UC Berkeley and 11 admitted to UCLA.
Irvine families ask: what GPA do Fairmont Preparatory Academy students need for UC admission?
According to official data by source high school from the University of California Office of the President, the average weighted GPAs of admitted Fairmont Preparatory Academy students in fall 2025 were: UCLA 4.15, UC Berkeley 4.14, UC Santa Barbara 4.14, UC San Diego 4.11, UC Irvine 4.09, and UC Davis 4.07. These are UC weighted, capped GPAs for grades 10 and 11, with extra points only for UC-approved honors courses, which is a different calculation from the weighted GPA on the school transcript. Year-by-year data appear in the UC data section of this page.
Can international student families in Irvine apply to Fairmont Preparatory Academy?
Yes, and this is a distinctive feature of Fairmont Preparatory Academy; the school states that 35% of its students come from overseas. For 2026-27, tuition for F-1 international students is $55,900 (including all levels of language support), plus a $5,000 deposit, a $500 registration fee, a $1,650 new student orientation fee, and $3,600 for medical insurance. Applicants must complete an online interview and take the iTEP-SLATE English test. International students must enter in grade 11 or below; the school does not accept international students entering grade 12. Housing options are homestays arranged by the school or a student residence operated by an outside organization.


Servite High School
Rosary Academy
Whittier Christian High School
Orange Lutheran High School (Lutheran High School of Orange County)
Acaciawood Preparatory Academy
Eastside Christian Schools