AP (Advanced Placement) is the College Board’s program of college-level courses; each course leads to a national exam in May, scored on a scale with a maximum of 5. JSerra Catholic High School does not publish the number of AP courses it offers. Counting on-campus courses in the 2026-27 course catalog, there are 23 AP subjects, and the UC A-G list for the 2026-27 school year registers 27 AP courses for the school, all of which are UC-approved honors courses and are weighted in a UC application. This page lists the grade levels and prerequisites of each course, explains which exam results the school publishes and which common AP courses it does not offer, and recommends course combinations by intended major.
Grade Levels and Prerequisites for Each AP Course
The table below is compiled course by course from the school’s 2026-27 course catalog. All placements are provisional, with the final decision based on whether second-semester grades meet the requirement. Most AP courses require summer assignments that are due on the first day of school.
| AP course | Grade levels and prerequisites |
|---|---|
| AP Human Geography | Grade 9; placement by HSPT at the English 1 Honors standard; an online version is also available for grades 10 to 12 |
| AP Business with Personal Finance | Grade 9; Business Magnet course |
| AP European History | Grade 10; meets the English 2 Honors standard, with an A in the first semester of grade 9 social studies or the previous English course (B in an honors course); a B must be maintained during the course |
| AP Precalculus | Grades 10 to 12; A in Algebra 2 or B in Algebra 2/Trigonometry Honors |
| AP PreCalculus Plus | Grades 10 to 12; B in Algebra 2/Trigonometry Honors; an accelerated version leading to AP Calculus AB and BC |
| AP Computer Science A | Grades 10 to 12; A in Introduction to Programming and teacher approval; hybrid course; UC category c |
| AP Chinese Language and Culture | Grades 10 to 12; B in the first semester of Mandarin Chinese 4 Honors, an interview with the teacher and a teacher recommendation |
| AP Spanish Language and Culture | Grades 10 to 12; B in the first semester of Spanish 3 Honors or A in the first semester of Spanish 4 |
| AP French Language and Culture | Grades 11 to 12; B in the first semester of French 3 Honors or A in the first semester of French 4 |
| AP English Language and Composition | Grade 11; B in the first semester and third quarter of English 2 Honors, or A in English 2 over the same period; Humanities students take the Humanities version |
| AP United States History | Grade 11; A in the first semester of the previous social studies and English courses (B in honors or AP courses) |
| AP Biology | Grades 11 to 12, or grade 10 for Medical Magnet students; B in Biology Honors or A in Biology, and B in Chemistry Honors or A in Chemistry |
| AP Chemistry | Grades 11 to 12; B in Chemistry Honors or A in Chemistry, completion of or concurrent enrollment in Precalculus, and a chemistry teacher recommendation; requires period 0 on block days |
| AP Environmental Science | Grades 11 to 12; B in Biology and Chemistry or C in Biology Honors and Chemistry Honors, and a teacher recommendation |
| AP Physics 1 | Grades 11 to 12; A in Physics or Chemistry or B in Chemistry Honors, and completion of or concurrent enrollment in AP Precalculus |
| AP Physics C: Mechanics | Grades 11 to 12; concurrent enrollment in AP Calculus AB or BC, and B in Chemistry Honors |
| AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism | Grades 11 to 12; B in the first semester of AP Physics 1 or AP Physics C: Mechanics |
| AP Calculus AB | Grades 11 to 12; C in AP Precalculus or A in Precalculus |
| AP Calculus BC | Grades 11 to 12; B in AP Calculus AB or A in AP PreCalculus Plus |
| AP Statistics | Grades 11 to 12; B in Algebra 2, C in Algebra 2/Trigonometry Honors or B in Precalculus |
| AP Art and Design | Grades 11 to 12; separate sections for drawing and design and for photography; A in the first semester of the related art course and teacher approval; listed on the UC list as AP 2D Art and Design |
| AP English Literature and Composition | Grade 12; B in the first semester and third quarter of AP English Language, or A in English 3 over the same period; Humanities students take the Humanities version |
| AP US Government and Politics | Grade 12; A in U.S. History or B in AP United States History, and A in English 3 or B in AP English Language |
| AP Macroeconomics | Grade 12; taken together with U.S. Government; A in U.S. History or B in AP United States History, and A in Algebra 2 or B in Algebra 2 Honors |
| AP Psychology | Grades 11 to 12; online only, $800 per course per semester; A in the previous social studies course or B in an honors course |
| AP Art History | Grades 10 to 12; online only, $800 per course per semester; not on the school's UC list |
9th graders may take AP Human Geography and, in the Business Magnet, AP Business with Personal Finance; AP European History, AP Precalculus, AP Computer Science A, AP Chinese, and AP Spanish open in 10th grade; AP English Language and AP U.S. History are taken in 11th grade; AP English Literature, AP U.S. Government, and AP Macroeconomics are open only to 12th graders; most AP science courses, AP Calculus, and AP Statistics begin in 11th grade. Students enrolled in AP courses must take the AP exam in May; the course catalog lists the exam fee as $105. The 2023-24 Parent-Student Handbook states that students who do not take the exam have their second-semester grade lowered by one letter grade.
AP Exam Results Published by the School
JSerra Catholic High School publishes the number of exams taken, the number of test takers and the pass rate in its School Profile. It does not publish results by subject or score distributions.
| Item | Figures and scope |
|---|---|
| 2025 (2025-26 School Profile) | 496 students took 1,066 exams; AP pass rate 92% |
| 2026 (2026-27 School Profile) | 572 students took 1,183 exams; AP pass rate 94% |
| Note on scope | The school does not state whether the pass rate is calculated per exam or per student; the July 2026 back-to-school guide gives a pass rate of 92% for that year, which differs from the 2026-27 School Profile |
The “percentage of scores of 3 or higher” used on this site’s public high school pages is calculated per exam. Because the basis of this school’s pass rate is unclear, it should not be compared directly with public high schools. AP Scholar is an award the College Board grants based on a student’s AP exam scores. The table below shows the number of award recipients the school has published by year; these are counts of students, not exams.
| Year | AP Scholar / With Honors / With Distinction / Total |
|---|---|
| 2022 | 44 / 34 / 43 / 121 students |
| 2023 | 68 / 27 / 55 / 150 students |
| 2024 | 67 / 55 / 83 / 205 students |
| 2025 | 69 / 57 / 92 / 218 students |
| 2026 | 84 / 49 / 113 / 246 students |
AP Courses the School Does Not Offer
The following AP courses are common in UC applications but are not offered as on-campus courses at JSerra Catholic High School in the 2026-27 school year.
- AP World History: Modern
- AP Microeconomics
- AP Physics 2: on the UC list but not in the 2026-27 course catalog
- AP Computer Science Principles
- AP Comparative Government and Politics
- AP Spanish Literature and Culture
- AP Latin
- AP Music Theory: on the UC list but not in the 2026-27 course catalog
- AP Seminar / AP Research
- AP Psychology and AP Art History are offered only as online courses, at an additional $800 per course per semester
The most consequential gaps are AP World History and AP Physics 2. The only AP social studies course in grade 10 is AP European History, so students who want an AP course in world history need to take it outside school. The physics sequence includes AP Physics 1 and both AP Physics C courses, so engineering and physics students can already reach calculus-based physics on campus, and the absence of AP Physics 2 affects few students. AP Microeconomics and AP Psychology are commonly taken by business and social science students; the school’s only economics AP is Macroeconomics, taken together with U.S. Government, and psychology is available only online.
AP Course List
The list below is a course-by-course comparison of the UC 2026-27 A-G list and the school’s course catalog. The notes column gives the course title in the school catalog, the exam fee and whether the course is offered in the 2026-27 school year.
Social Studies
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP European History | AP | 10 | Must meet the placement standard for English 2 Honors; students who took social studies in 9th grade need an A in the first semester of that course; students who did not are evaluated on their previous English course (A in a regular course, or B or higher in the first semester of an honors course); summer assignment requiredSchool catalog: full-year course, AP exam required ($105); a B must be maintained while enrolled | a |
| AP Government and Politics United States | AP | 12 | A in the first semester of US History or B or higher in the first semester of AP US History; A in the first semester of English 3 or B or higher in the first semester of AP English LanguageTranscript abbreviation: AP US Government; School catalog course name: AP United States Government & Politics; summer assignment required, AP exam required ($105) | a |
| AP Human Geography | AP | 9 | Placement by HSPT; incoming freshmen must meet the English 1 Honors standardTranscript abbreviation: AP Human Geography; School catalog: full-year course, AP exam required ($105); an online version is also available for grades 10 through 12 | a |
| AP United States History | AP | 11 | A in the first semester of the previous social studies course (B or higher for honors or AP) and A in the first semester of the previous English course (B or higher for honors)Online course; Transcript abbreviation: AP United States History; School catalog course name: AP US History; AP exam required ($105) | a |
| AP Macroeconomics | AP | 12 | A in the first semester of US History or B in AP US History; A in the first semester of Algebra 2 or B in Algebra 2 HonorsOnline course; School catalog course name: AP Macroeconomics with American Government; AP exam required ($105) | g |
English
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP English Language and Composition | AP | 11 | B or higher in the first semester and third quarter of English 2 Honors, or A over the same period in regular English 2; transfer students must pass a placement testTranscript abbreviation: AP English Lang. Humanities, AP English Language; School catalog course name: AP English Language; Humanities Program students take Humanities 3 AP English Language and Composition (the same UC course); summer assignment required, AP exam required ($105) | b |
| AP English Literature and Composition | AP | 12 | B or higher in the first semester and third quarter of AP English Language, or A over the same period in regular English 3; transfer students must pass a placement testTranscript abbreviation: AP English Language, AP English Lit. Humanities; School catalog course name: AP English Literature; Humanities Program students take Humanities 4 AP English Literature; summer assignment required, AP exam required ($105) | b |
Mathematics
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Calculus AB | AP | 11-12 | C in AP Precalculus, or A in regular Pre-Calculus; placement also considers the AP Precalculus exam scoreSummer assignment required, AP exam required ($105) | c |
| AP Calculus BC | AP | 11-12 | B in AP Calculus AB, or A in AP PreCalculus PlusTranscript abbreviation: AP Calc BC, AP Calculus BC; summer assignment required, AP exam required ($105) | c |
| AP Precalculus | AP | 10-12 | A in Algebra 2, or B in Algebra 2/Trigonometry Honors; the AP PreCalculus Plus section requires a B in Algebra 2/Trigonometry HonorsTranscript abbreviation: AP Precalculus; the school catalog offers two sections, AP PreCalculus and AP PreCalculus Plus (+), the latter an accelerated version that prepares students for AP Calculus AB/BC; AP exam required ($105) | c |
| AP Statistics | AP | 11-12 | B in Algebra 2, C in Algebra 2/Trigonometry Honors, or B in Pre-CalculusOnline course; AP exam required ($105); an online version is also available | c |
Electives & Computing
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Computer Science A | AP | 10-12 | A in Introduction to Programming, with approval from the course teacherOnline course; Transcript abbreviation: AP Computer Science A; School catalog course name: AP Computer Science A in Java; hybrid course using online materials; listed on the UC list as a c (mathematics) course | c |
Science
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Biology | AP | 11-12 | B in the first semester of Biology Honors (or A in Biology) and B in the first semester of Chemistry Honors (or A in Chemistry)Taken in 10th grade by Medical Magnet students; summer assignment required, AP exam required ($105) | d |
| AP Chemistry | AP | 11-12 | B in the first semester of Chemistry Honors or A in Chemistry; Pre-Calculus completed or taken concurrently; chemistry teacher recommendation requiredZero period required on block days; AP exam required ($105) | d |
| AP Cybersecurity | AP | — | —Transcript abbreviation: APCB; Not listed in the 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether it will be offered; the school also offers a regular-level Cybersecurity course | d |
| AP Environmental Science | AP | 11-12 | B in the first semester of Biology and Chemistry, or C in the first semester of Biology Honors and Chemistry Honors; teacher recommendation requiredSummer assignment required, AP exam required ($105) | d |
| AP Physics 1 | AP | 11-12 | A in Physics or Chemistry, or B in Chemistry Honors; AP Precalculus completed or taken concurrentlyStudents who do not submit the summer assignment lose their place in the course; AP exam required ($105) | d |
| AP Physics 2 | AP | — | —Not listed in the 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether it will be offered; the 12th grade column of the school's science pathway chart lists AP Physics 2 | d |
| AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism | AP | 11-12 | B in the first semester of AP Physics 1 or AP Physics C: MechanicsTranscript abbreviation: AP Physics C-Electromagnetics; AP exam required ($105) | d |
| AP Physics C: Mechanics | AP | 11-12 | Concurrent enrollment in AP Calculus AB or BC (BC preferred); B in the first semester of Chemistry HonorsTranscript abbreviation: AP Physics C; students who do not submit the summer assignment lose their place in the course; AP exam required ($105) | d |
World Languages
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Chinese Language and Culture | AP | 10-12 | B in the first semester of Mandarin Chinese 4 Honors, a meeting with the course teacher, and a teacher recommendationTranscript abbreviation: JSerra; AP exam required ($105) | e |
| AP French Language and Culture | AP | 11-12 | B in the first semester of French 3 Honors, or A in the first semester of French 4Transcript abbreviation: AP French Language; School catalog course name: AP French Language; AP exam required ($105) | e |
| AP Spanish Language and Culture | AP | 10-12 | B in the first semester of Spanish 3 Honors, or A in the first semester of Spanish 4Transcript abbreviation: AP Spanish Language; School catalog course name: AP Spanish Language; taught entirely in Spanish; AP exam required ($105) | e |
Visual & Performing Arts
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP 2D Art and Design | AP | 11-12 | Completion of two of the three courses in the Drawing and Painting or Graphic Design sequence, with an A in the first semester of the related courses; the photography section requires an A in the first semester of Digital Photography 1 and 2; teacher approval requiredTranscript abbreviation: AP 2-D Art and Design Photo, AP Art and Design; the school catalog offers two sections, AP Art and Design and AP Art and Design: Photography; AP exam required ($105) | f |
| AP Music Theory | AP | — | —Not listed in the 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether it will be offered | f |
Magnet Programs
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Business with Personal Finance | AP | 9 | Business Magnet studentsTranscript abbreviation: AP Business with Personal Finance; 9th grade Business Magnet course; AP exam required | g |
Online Education
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Psychology | AP | 11-12 | A in the previous social studies course or B in an honors/AP social studies course; completion of or concurrent enrollment in Anatomy and Physiology is strongly recommendedOnline course; Transcript abbreviation: AP Psychology Online; JSerra Online Education course, additional $800 per course per semester; provided by FlexPoint Virtual School; AP exam required ($105) | g |
| AP Art History | AP | 10-12 | A in each semester of the previous history and English courses, or B in each semester of honors history and EnglishJSerra Online Education course, additional $800 per course per semester; the online course catalog marks it as a UC-approved honors course, but it is not among the school's courses on the UC 2026-27 list; AP exam required ($105) | — |
Recommended Combinations by Intended Major
The combinations below use only courses listed in the school’s 2026-27 course catalog and are arranged by each course’s grade level and prerequisites. Magnet Programs require a separate application in grade 8.
Frequently Asked Questions
Irvine families often ask: how many AP courses does JSerra Catholic High School offer?
The school does not publish a number. Counting on-campus courses in the JSerra Catholic High School 2026-27 course catalog, there are 23 AP subjects; AP Psychology and AP Art History are also available as online courses at an additional $800 per course per semester. The UC A-G list for the 2026-27 school year registers 27 AP courses for the school, of which AP Physics 2, AP Music Theory and AP Cybersecurity do not appear in the 2026-27 course catalog. The school's Academics page states only that more than 30 honors and AP courses are offered.
Irvine families want to know: what is the AP pass rate at JSerra Catholic High School?
The JSerra Catholic High School 2025-26 School Profile reports that in 2025, 496 students took 1,066 AP exams with an AP pass rate of 92%; the 2026-27 School Profile reports that 572 students took 1,183 exams with a pass rate of 94%. The school does not state whether the pass rate is calculated per exam or per student, and it does not publish results by subject. In 2026, a total of 246 students earned AP Scholar awards at some level.
Can Irvine students take AP courses in grade 9 at JSerra Catholic High School?
Yes. AP Human Geography at JSerra Catholic High School is offered in grade 9, with placement based on the HSPT at the English 1 Honors standard; Business Magnet students take AP Business with Personal Finance in grade 9. Beginning in grade 10, students may take AP European History, AP Precalculus, AP Computer Science A, AP Chinese and AP Spanish. For Irvine families, this differs from most Irvine Unified School District high schools, which do not offer AP courses in grade 9.
Irvine families take note: which AP courses does JSerra Catholic High School not offer?
According to the JSerra Catholic High School 2026-27 course catalog, the school does not offer AP World History, AP Microeconomics, AP Physics 2, AP Computer Science Principles, AP Comparative Government, AP Spanish Literature, AP Latin or AP Music Theory, nor AP Seminar or AP Research. AP Psychology and AP Art History are available only online. AP Physics 2 and AP Music Theory remain registered on the UC list, and the school's science pathway chart also shows AP Physics 2; families should confirm with the school whether a section will run.
Must Irvine students take the AP exam after an AP course at JSerra Catholic High School?
Yes. The JSerra Catholic High School course catalog and School Profile both state that students enrolled in AP courses must take the AP exam in May of that year; the exam fee is $105. The 2023-24 Parent-Student Handbook states that a student who does not take the exam will have the second-semester grade lowered by one letter grade. The 2027 AP exams are scheduled for May 3 to 14 and are administered on campus.


