Anaheim · Private high school · College planning guide

Courses at Fairmont Preparatory Academy:
Planning Four Years

The Fairmont Preparatory Academy course catalog is a PDF (Academic Handbook and Course Catalog 2026-2027). Each course entry lists the course number, credits, grade levels, and prerequisites, and asterisks mark UC A-G status. This page uses the official University of California (UC) A-G course list as its base, adds the grade levels and prerequisites from the school catalog course by course, and includes courses not on the A-G list, such as AP Research, English language support courses, the dual-credit engineering course, and internship courses. The overall picture of the UC list comes first.

UC A-G refers to the seven course categories that the University of California and California State University require of high school students: a history and social science, b English, c mathematics, d laboratory science, e language other than English, f visual and performing arts, and g college-preparatory elective.

128UC-approved A-G courses
71UC-weighted honors coursesincluding 30 AP, 7 IB
5School honors courses that UC does not weight
  • aHistory/Social Science11
  • bEnglish14
  • cMathematics20
  • dLaboratory Science22
  • eLanguage Other Than English13
  • fVisual & Performing Arts24
  • gCollege-Prep Elective24

These courses are designated honors on the school transcript but are not on the UC-approved honors list, so UC counts them as standard courses in admission

  • Algebra II/Trigonometry (H)
  • Biology (H)
  • English I (H)
  • Geometry (H)
  • Methodologies in Science and Engineering (H)

Source: University of California A-G Course List (Fairmont Preparatory Academy, 2026-27 academic year, last updated by UC on 2026-07-13). View the official list ↗

The school catalog and the UC list do not match completely, and course selection should follow the UC list. On one hand, the UC list includes 7 IB courses and 7 other courses, such as World History (H), Philosophy (H), Robotics (H), and Music Theory (H), that do not appear in the 2026-27 course catalog. On the other hand, Graphic Design CP, Computer Science Game Development & Design CP, and Environmental Science CP, which the catalog marks as A-G courses, and Introduction to Business & Finance (H) and Fashion Design II (H), which the catalog marks as UC honors courses, are not on the UC list for 2026-27. The catalog also marks Spanish III (H) and Mandarin III (H) as non-A-G courses, while the UC list registers both as UC-approved honors courses.

Graduation Requirements (230 Credits)

The school counts a semester course as 5 credits and a full-year course as 10 credits.

SubjectCredits
Social Science/History30
English40
Math (through Algebra II/Trigonometry at minimum; 4 years recommended)30
Science (must include Biology, plus Chemistry or Physics)30
World Languages (through the second level; students with an I-20 are exempt)20
Visual & Performing Arts (one year of the same course or the same discipline)10
Physical Education (4 semesters; the catalog's credit column lists 5 credits)5
Health (one course)5
Strategies for Success (one semester; ASEP and ABP students may be exempt)5
Electives40

The school requires 230 total credits to graduate, plus 20 hours of community service for each year enrolled. Each course earns 5 credits per semester. Social science must include World History or Geography, U.S. History, and Economics and Government; AP Economics or AP Government and Politics United States can replace the CP Economics and Government courses. Grade 9 students must take a physical education course, and one full season on a CIF varsity team can replace one semester of physical education. Note that the rows of the catalog table add up to 215 credits, 15 fewer than the stated 230; if physical education is counted as 4 semesters at 20 credits, the total comes to exactly 230. Confirm the actual physical education credits with the school.

The graduation requirements and UC admission requirements are two separate standards. The table below places them side by side; the UC column comes from the University of California admissions website.

UC A-G categorySchool graduation requirement / UC requirement
a History and social scienceSchool: 30 credits (3 years, including World History or Geography, US History, and Economics and Government); UC requires 2 years
b EnglishSchool: 40 credits (4 years); UC requires 4 years
c MathematicsSchool: 30 credits (3 years, at least through Algebra II/Trigonometry, 4 years recommended); UC requires 3 years and recommends 4
d Laboratory scienceSchool: 30 credits (3 years, including Biology and Chemistry or Physics); UC requires 2 years and recommends 3
e Language other than EnglishSchool: 20 credits (through the second level; students holding an I-20 are exempt); UC requires 2 years of the same language and recommends 3
f Visual and performing artsSchool: 10 credits (one year of the same course or the same discipline); UC requires 1 year
g College-preparatory electiveSchool: no separate requirement; UC requires 1 year, which g-category courses such as AP Psychology, AP Macroeconomics, and Academic Decathlon (H) can satisfy
Grades and number of coursesSchool: a D or F in a required course must be repeated; UC requires 15 full-year courses, all with a C or higher, 11 of them completed before grade 12

EDUBUS recommends scheduling courses to UC’s recommended level: 4 years of mathematics and 3 years each of science and world language. The school’s science requirement already meets UC’s recommended level, while mathematics and world language each require one more year than the graduation requirement. International students holding an I-20 are exempt from the school’s world language requirement, but UC’s category e requirement still applies; how to satisfy it should be confirmed with the counselor before grade 10.

No Religion Courses, but Three Special Grade 9 Requirements

Fairmont Preparatory Academy has no religious affiliation, so there are no religion courses on the schedule, and the community service requirement is 20 hours per year. Grade 9 students also have three required courses: physical education (a full season on a CIF varsity team can replace one semester), health (one semester), and Strategies for Success (one semester). Strategies for Success is a category g course on the UC list, and ASEP and ABP students are exempt from it.

Course Selection Rules

This section answers three questions: how the schedule is built, when students select courses, and whether changes are possible after school starts.

ScheduleThe 2025-26 student handbook schedule: Monday through Thursday follow a block schedule, with periods 1 to 4 and periods 5 to 8 meeting on alternating days for 85 minutes each, plus a 45-minute period 0 in the morning; period 8 is Flex time, when students can meet teachers for help, make up tests, attend clubs or practice, or leave campus. On Friday every class meets once for 40 to 45 minutes
Course requestsStudents submit course requests by the date set by the counseling office, with parent and department chair approval. The school builds the master schedule for the following year in the spring, so schedule changes during the year are made only under limited conditions
Course changes after school startsDuring the first three weeks of each semester, students may request schedule changes through their counselor, limited to these reasons: a graduation requirement, a course that was not requested, an unmet prerequisite, a course already completed in summer school, a move up or down a level when space allows, or an elective change; requests based on period, teacher, or friends are not accepted, nor are drops to raise GPA. Courses dropped after the first three weeks are recorded as W on the transcript with no credit
Moving down a levelBefore the end of the first quarter, a student, parent, or teacher may request a move to the college preparatory (CP) section of the same course, subject to available space and department chair approval; if no CP section exists, the student is placed in a teacher assistant or study support period, and the original course is not recorded
Outside coursesCourses not offered at the school may be taken elsewhere, but require approval from the department chair and the Head of School before registration; approved outside courses earn credit, but their grades do not count in the school GPA. Summer courses taken for advancement must be taken at the school
Credit recoveryA D or F in a required graduation course must be repeated, either in summer school or during the regular year; both grades remain on the transcript, and only the passing grade from the repeat counts in GPA
Summer schoolThe website's summer courses page lists two sessions: Session 1 from June 15 to July 2 and Session 2 from July 6 to July 23, with morning (8:30 to 11:30 a.m.) and afternoon (12:30 to 3:30 p.m.) blocks; students may miss at most one class per session. Courses offered include Algebra I (CP), Geometry (CP or honors), Precalculus (H), Biology (CP), Chemistry (H), World History and U.S. History (CP), English I to IV (CP or credit recovery), Health, and Strategies for Success. The fee is $550 per course per session plus a $30 materials fee. Taking courses for advancement requires approval

The school does not publish course selection deadlines for each semester on its public pages and states only that they follow “dates set by the counseling office.” The block schedule means students attend only four periods a day, each lasting 85 minutes, with homework and tests on a two-day cycle. Families who need specific dates can ask during the individual counselor meetings held at least 4 times a year.

Four-Year Pathways by Subject

In the pathways below, CP means College Prep, (H) means honors, and AP means Advanced Placement.

English

  1. Grade 9: English I CP or English I H; international students still building English proficiency take the adapted English I along with a Writing & Language Seminar course
  2. Grade 10: English II CP, English II H, or AP Seminar
  3. Grade 11: English III CP, AP English Language and Composition, or AP English Literature and Composition; students who have completed AP Seminar may continue to AP Research
  4. Grade 12: English IV CP or the AP English course not taken in grade 11

The honors English sequence covers only grades 9 and 10, and in grade 10 students can take AP Seminar in place of English II (H). In grades 11 and 12, students continue with AP English Language and Composition and AP English Literature and Composition, both open to grades 11 and 12, with a prerequisite of a B+ or higher in English II (H) or the other AP English course. Students who complete AP Seminar can continue to AP Research; together they form the College Board’s AP Capstone, but AP Research is not on the UC list for 2026-27.

Science

  1. Grade 9: Biology CP or Biology H; ASEP students take Methodologies in Science & Engineering H and may also take Chemistry (H) in grade 9
  2. Grade 10: Chemistry CP or Chemistry H; Physics (CP or honors) is also available; ASEP students take Bioengineering H, and strong students may take AP Biology or AP Chemistry
  3. Grade 11: AP Biology, AP Chemistry, AP Physics C: Mechanics, AP Environmental Science, Human Anatomy and Physiology (CP), Marine Biology (CP); ASEP students add Organic Chemistry, Biotechnology, or Engineering
  4. Grade 12: AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism, Quantum Physics & Computing (H), or a science course not taken in grade 11; 3 years of science are required for graduation

Computer science courses sit in two departments: AP Computer Science Principles (grades 9 to 12, prerequisite Algebra I) and AP Cybersecurity (grades 11 to 12) belong to the Science department and are listed by UC in area d; AP Computer Science A (grades 11 to 12) and Advanced Coding and AI Applications (H) belong to the Mathematics department. Two points need attention. First, Biology (H) is a regular course for UC, while Chemistry (H) and Physics (H) are UC-approved honors courses. Second, the school does not offer AP Physics 1, yet AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism and Quantum Physics & Computing (H) both list AP Physics 1 as a prerequisite, so students who want to follow the physics sequence should confirm an alternative with the science department in advance.

Social science

  1. Grade 9: social science is not required; options include AP Human Geography, AP World History, or World History CP
  2. Grade 10: World History (CP) or AP World History; ASEP students may take AP Psychology
  3. Grade 11: U.S. History CP, U.S. History H, or AP United States History; ABP students take AP Macroeconomics
  4. Grade 12: one semester each of U.S. Government and Economics, or AP Government and Politics United States; electives include AP Psychology, Introduction to Personal Finance, and Foundations of Criminal Justice and Law

Social science AP courses start early: AP Human Geography and AP World History are available in grade 9, with prerequisites of only concurrent enrollment in an English course and department approval. AP Macroeconomics in grade 11 is open only to ABP students, and AP Microeconomics is open only to ABP students in grade 12.

World Languages

  • Spanish I to III, with CP and honors sections of III, followed by AP Spanish Language and Culture
  • Mandarin I and II are CP courses that start with pinyin; III is an honors course; students in grades 11 to 12 may take AP Chinese Language and Culture
  • American Sign Language I to III, all CP courses

Students may enter the second level or higher of Spanish, Mandarin, and American Sign Language by placement test, or advance based on grades in the previous level and teacher recommendation. Students with an I-20 are exempt from the world language graduation requirement, but the school encourages students who complete four years of school in the United States to demonstrate proficiency in a second language. UC A-G requires two years of the same world language and recommends three; the school’s graduation requirement extends through the second level. In both Mandarin and Spanish, only the third level is an honors course, followed directly by AP.

Two Fee-Based Programs

ASEP and ABP both require a separate application and each cost an additional $3,200 per year, and their core courses are open only to program students.

GradeASEP (science and engineering) / ABP (business)
Grade 9ASEP: Methodologies in Science and Engineering (H) (UC category d, but not an honors course); ABP: Introduction to Business & Finance (H) (not on the UC list) and AP Business with Personal Finance
Grade 10ASEP: Bioengineering (H) (UC honors course); ABP: Business Management (H) (UC honors course)
Grade 11ASEP: Organic Chemistry (H), Biotechnology (H), or Engineering (H) (University of Arizona dual credit); ABP: AP Macroeconomics, Essentials of Marketing (H), and Introduction to Entrepreneurship (H) (Syracuse University credit available)
Grade 12ASEP: one of the courses above not yet taken, or Advanced Coding and AI Applications (H); ABP: Business Communication: Capstone (H) and AP Microeconomics
InternshipsBoth programs allow students in grades 10 to 12 to earn 3 or 5 credits through an outside internship or research project, with prior written approval

Complete Course Map

Courses are grouped by subject. Each course shows its level, grade levels, prerequisites, and UC A-G category; courses showing “—” in the UC A-G column are not on the UC list for 2026-27. The notes column gives the course number and states whether UC weights the course, so families can compare line by line with the school’s course request form. The catalog does not list grade levels for mathematics courses, so the grade column shows “—”.

Social Science/History 16 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
AP Government and Politics United StatesAP12Concurrent enrollment in CP or AP English, and/or department approvalCourse number SOC4233; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Government and Politics United Statesa
AP Human GeographyAP9-12Concurrent enrollment in CP or honors English, and/or department approvalCourse number SOC4143; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Human Geographya
AP United States HistoryAP11Concurrent enrollment in CP or AP English, and/or department approvalCourse number SOC4034; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP United States Historya
AP World HistoryAP9-12Concurrent enrollment in CP or honors English, and/or department approvalCourse number SOC4013; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP World Historya
AP MacroeconomicsAP11-12 (grade 11 ABP students only)Department approvalCourse number SOC4144; full year; transcript abbreviations: AP Economics, AP Macroeconomicsg
AP PsychologyAP11-12 (grade 10 ASEP students only)Concurrent enrollment in CP courses, and/or department approvalCourse number SOC4334; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Psychologyg
U.S. History (H)Honors11Concurrent enrollment in CP or AP English, and/or department approvalCourse number SOC4032; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: U.S. History (H)a
World History (H)Honors——Not listed in either the 2025-26 or the 2026-27 catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: World History (H)a
Philosophy (H)Honors——Not listed in either the 2025-26 or the 2026-27 catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; the 2025-26 catalog lists Philosophy IB SL; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Philosophy (H)g
U.S. Government CPCP12U.S. History CPCourse number SOC4231; one semester; transcript abbreviation: U.S. Government CPa
U.S. History CPCP11—Course number SOC4031; full year; transcript abbreviation: U.S. History CPa
World HistoryCP9-12Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 3 and Writing & Language Seminar Foundation requiredCourse number SOC4015; full year; adapted course for international students; transcript abbreviation: World Historya
World History CPCP9-12—Course number SOC4014; full year; transcript abbreviation: World History CPa
Economics CPCP12U.S. History CPCourse number SOC4131; one semester; transcript abbreviation: Economics CPg
Foundations of Criminal Justice and Law CPCP10-12—Course number SOC4333; one semester; transcript abbreviation: Foundations of Criminal Justice and Law CPg
Introduction to Personal Finance CPCP10-12—Course number SOC4145; one semester; transcript abbreviation: Introduction to Personal Finance CPg
English 14 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
AP English Language and CompositionAP11-12B+ or higher in English II (H) or AP English Literature, or teacher and department chair recommendationCourse number ENG1048; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP English Language and Compositionb
AP English Literature and CompositionAP11-12B+ or higher in English II (H) or AP English Language, or teacher and department chair recommendationCourse number ENG1044; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP English Literature and Compositionb
AP SeminarAP10B+ or higher in English I (H), and/or teacher and department chair recommendationCourse number ENG1090; full year; first course of AP Capstone, counted as an English course in area b on the UC list; transcript abbreviations: AP Seminar/English II (H), AP Seminar/English III (H)b
AP ResearchAP11-12Completion of AP SeminarCourse number ENG1091; full year; second course of AP Capstone, concluding with a 4,000- to 5,000-word paper and oral defense; not on the UC A-G list—
English I (H)Honors9B+ or higher in grade 8 English and Honors Literature, or placement test results, a writing review, and/or teacher and department chair recommendationCourse number ENG1012; full year; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: English I (H)b
English II (H)Honors10B+ or higher in English I (H), and/or teacher and department chair recommendationCourse number ENG1027; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: English II (H)b
English ICP9Concurrent enrollment in a Writing & Language Seminar course requiredCourse number ENG1006A; full year; adapted course for international students; transcript abbreviation: English Ib
English I CPCP9Completion of grade 8 English and Literature; international students need TOEFL iBT 90 or iTEP SLATE 5.6 or higherCourse number ENG1011; full year; transcript abbreviation: English I CPb
English IICP10Concurrent enrollment in a Writing & Language Seminar course requiredCourse number ENG1006B; full year; adapted course for international students; transcript abbreviation: English IIb
English II CPCP10Completion of English I CP; international students need TOEFL iBT 90 or iTEP SLATE 5.6 or higherCourse number ENG1026; full year; transcript abbreviation: English II CPb
English IIICP11Concurrent enrollment in a Writing & Language Seminar course requiredCourse number ENG1006C; full year; adapted course for international students; transcript abbreviation: English IIIb
English III CPCP11Completion of English II CP; international students need TOEFL iBT 90 or iTEP SLATE 5.6 or higherCourse number ENG1031; full year; transcript abbreviation: English III CPb
English IVCP12Concurrent enrollment in a Writing & Language Seminar course requiredCourse number ENG1006D; full year; adapted course for international students; transcript abbreviation: English IVb
English IV CPCP12Completion of English III CP; international students need TOEFL iBT 90 or iTEP SLATE 5.6 or higherCourse number ENG1041; full year; transcript abbreviation: English IV CPb
Mathematics 20 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
AP Calculus ABAP—B or higher in Precalculus (H), B or higher in a math applications course, or A in Precalculus CPCourse number MTH2060; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Calculus ABc
AP Calculus BCAP—A in Precalculus (H), or B or higher in AP Calculus ABCourse number MTH2061; full year; covers all AB and BC content in one year; transcript abbreviation: AP Calculus BCc
AP Computer Science AAP11-12B or higher in AP Computer Science Principles, or mathematics department approvalCourse number MTH3089; full year; Java programming; transcript abbreviation: AP Computer Science Ac
AP PrecalculusAP—B or higher in Algebra II/Trigonometry (H)Course number MTH2045; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Precalculusc
AP StatisticsAP—B or higher in Algebra II/Trigonometry (H), or B or higher in Precalculus (H) or AP PrecalculusCourse number MTH2046; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Statisticsc
Abstract Algebra (H)Honors—Mathematics department approvalCourse number MTH2098; full year; Advanced Mathematics Program; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Abstract Algebra (H)c
Advanced Discrete Mathematics and Number Theory (H)Honors—B or higher in AP Calculus BCCourse number MTH2094; full year; Advanced Mathematics Program; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Advanced Discrete Mathematics and Number Theory (Hc
Algebra II/Trigonometry (H)Honors—A in Geometry CP, or B or higher in Geometry (H)Course number MTH2032; full year; the catalog does not state the grade level; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: Algebra II/Trigonometry (H)c
Complex Analysis (H)Honors—Mathematics department approvalCourse number MTH2090; full year; Advanced Mathematics Program; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Complex Analysis (H)c
Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (H)Honors—B or higher in AP Calculus BCCourse number MTH2095; full year; Advanced Mathematics Program; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (H)c
Geometry (H)Honors—A in Algebra I CPCourse number MTH2022; full year; also offered in summer; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: Geometry (H)c
Multivariable Calculus (H)Honors—B or higher in AP Calculus BC, or mathematics department approvalCourse number MTH2062; full year; Advanced Mathematics Program; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Multivariable Calculus (H)c
Precalculus (H)Honors—B or higher in Algebra II/Trigonometry (H)Course number MTH2053; offered in summer only; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Precalculus (H)c
Advanced Coding and AI Applications (H)Honors11-12AP Computer Science A and mathematics department approvalCourse number MTH3097; full year; may count as the ASEP program course in grade 11 or 12; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Advanced Coding Languages (H)g
Algebra I CPCP—C- or higher in Pre-AlgebraCourse number MTH2011; full year; the catalog does not state the grade level; transcript abbreviation: Algebra I CPc
Algebra II/Trigonometry CPCP—C- or higher in Geometry CPCourse number MTH2034; full year; transcript abbreviations: Algebra II and Trigonometry CP, Algebra II/Trigonometry CPc
Calculus CPCP—C- or higher in Precalculus (CP, honors, or AP)Course number MTH2086; full year; transcript abbreviation: Calculus CPc
Geometry CPCP—C- or higher in Algebra I CPCourse number MTH2021; full year; transcript abbreviation: Geometry CPc
Precalculus CPCP—C- or higher in Algebra II/Trigonometry (CP or honors)Course number MTH2042; full year; transcript abbreviation: Precalculus CPc
Statistics CPCP—B or higher in Algebra II/Trigonometry (CP or honors)Course number MTH2047; full year; transcript abbreviation: Statistics CPc
Science 19 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
AP BiologyAP10-12A or B in Chemistry (H) (or C+ or higher in AP Chemistry), A or B in Biology (H), and department approvalCourse number SCI3044; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Biologyd
AP ChemistryAP10-12A or B in Chemistry (H) and department approval; concurrent enrollment in Algebra II/Trigonometry (H) requiredCourse number SCI3033; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Chemistryd
AP Computer Science PrinciplesAP9-12Algebra I CPCourse number SCI3094; full year; no programming background required; transcript abbreviation: AP Computer Science Principlesd
AP CybersecurityAP11-12AP Computer Science Principles and/or teacher recommendationCourse number SCI3130; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Cybersecurityd
AP Environmental ScienceAP11-12Completion of Biology (H) and Chemistry (H)Course number SCI3050; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Environmental Scienced
AP Physics C: Electricity and MagnetismAP11-12AP Physics 1, AP Physics C: Mechanics, and AP Calculus ABCourse number SCI3038; full year; neither the school's catalog nor the UC list includes AP Physics 1; transcript abbreviation: AP Physics C: Electricity & Magnetismd
AP Physics C: MechanicsAP11-12Department approval; concurrent enrollment in AP Calculus AB or higher requiredCourse number SCI3034; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Physics C: Mechanicsd
Biology (H)Honors9-12Teacher recommendation, or an A or B in the previous science courseCourse number SCI3036; full year; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: Biology (H)d
Chemistry (H)Honors9-12 (grade 9 ASEP students only)B or higher in Algebra I and department approvalCourse number SCI3030; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Chemistry (H)d
Physics (H)Honors10-12Department approval; concurrent enrollment in Algebra II/Trigonometry requiredCourse number SCI3041; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Physics (H)d
Quantum Physics & Computing (H)Honors11-12AP Physics 1 and AP Physics C: Mechanics; concurrent enrollment in AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism and AP Calculus BC or higher requiredCourse number SCI3057; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Quantum Physics & Computing (H)d
BiologyCP9-11Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 3 and Writing & Language Seminar Foundation requiredCourse number SCI3029; full year; adapted course for international students; transcript abbreviation: Biologyd
Biology CPCP9-12—Course number SCI3021; full year; transcript abbreviation: Biology CPd
Chemistry CPCP10-12Algebra I CPCourse number SCI3031; full year; transcript abbreviation: Chemistry CPd
Human Anatomy and Physiology CPCP11-12Biology (CP or honors) and Chemistry (CP or honors)Course number SCI3020; full year; transcript abbreviation: Human Anatomy and Physiology CPd
Marine Biology CPCP11-12Biology CPCourse number SCI3056; full year; transcript abbreviation: Marine Biology CPd
Physics CPCP10-12Completion of Algebra I CP and Geometry (CP or honors)Course number SCI3032; full year; transcript abbreviation: Physics CPd
Environmental Science CPCP11-12Completion of Biology CP and Chemistry CPCourse number SCI3049; full year; marked A-G in the course catalog but not on the UC 2026-27 list—
Computer Science Game Development & Design CPCP9-12—Course number SCI3042; full year; marked A-G in the course catalog but not on the UC 2026-27 list—
Advanced Science and Engineering Program 6 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
Engineering (H) - U of A Engineering Physics 102Dual Enrollment11-12Scheduled in AP Calculus AB or higher; ASEP students onlyCourse number SEP3080; full year; modeled on University of Arizona Engineering 102, with dual enrollment earning 3 semester credits from that university; not on the UC high school A-G list—
Bioengineering (H)Honors10ASEP students onlyCourse number SEP3141; full year; required ASEP core course in grade 10; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Bioengineering (H)d
Biotechnology (H)Honors11-12Bioengineering (H), with concurrent enrollment in AP BiologyCourse number SEP3142; full year; ASEP program course; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Biotechnology (H)d
Methodologies in Science and Engineering (H)Honors9ASEP students onlyCourse number SEP3140; full year; required ASEP core course in grade 9; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: Methodologies in Science and Engineering (H)d
Organic Chemistry (H)Honors11-12AP Chemistry; ASEP students onlyCourse number SEP3029; full year; ASEP program course; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Organic Chemistry (H)d
Advanced Science and Engineering Program InternshipOther10-12ASEP program director approvalCourse number SEP9049; 3 or 5 credits depending on the length of the internship; requires prior written approval plus submitted work logs and evaluations; not on the UC A-G list—
World Languages 12 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
AP Chinese Language and CultureAP11-12B or higher in Mandarin III (H), teacher recommendation, and/or placement testWL5163; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Chinese Language and Culturee
AP Spanish Language and CultureAP11-12B or higher in Spanish III (H), teacher recommendation, and/or placement testWL5055; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Spanish Language and Culturee
Mandarin III (H)Honors10-12B or higher in Mandarin II and teacher recommendationWL5170; full year; not marked A-G in the course catalog but listed as an honors course on the UC list; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviations: Mandarin IB ab initio SL, Mandarin III (H)/Mandarin IB SL1e
Spanish III (H)Honors10-12B or higher in Spanish II, teacher recommendation, and/or placement testWL5044; full year; not marked A-G in the course catalog but listed as an honors course on the UC list; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Spanish III (H)/Spanish IB SL1e
American Sign Langauge III CPCP10-12C or higher in American Sign Language II, and/or placement testWL5203; full year; course title spelled this way on the UC list; transcript abbreviation: American Sign Language III CPe
American Sign Language I CPCP9-12—WL5201; full year; transcript abbreviation: American Sign Language I CPe
American Sign Language II CPCP9-12C or higher in American Sign Language I, teacher recommendation, and/or placement testWL5202; full year; transcript abbreviation: American Sign Language II CPe
Mandarin I CPCP9-12—WL5158; full year; for beginners, starting with pinyin; transcript abbreviation: Mandarin I CPe
Mandarin II CPCP9-12C or higher in Mandarin I, teacher recommendation, and/or placement testWL5159; full year; transcript abbreviation: Mandarin II CPe
Spanish I CPCP9-12—WL5011; full year; transcript abbreviation: Spanish I CPe
Spanish II CPCP9-12C or higher in Spanish I, teacher recommendation, and/or placement testWL5022; full year; transcript abbreviation: Spanish II CPe
Spanish III CPCP10-12C or higher in Spanish II and teacher recommendationWL5033; full year; transcript abbreviation: Spanish III CPe
English Language Support 4 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
Writing & Language Seminar FoundationOther9-12Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 3 required; iTEP SLATE 2.2 to 4.4 or TOEFL iBT 35 to 49Course number ENG1110; full year; English support course for international students; not on the UC A-G list—
Writing & Language Seminar IOther9-12Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 2 required; iTEP SLATE 4.5 to 4.9 or TOEFL iBT 50 to 59Course number ENG1111; full year; not on the UC A-G list—
Writing & Language Seminar IIOther9-12Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 2 required; iTEP SLATE 5.0 to 5.2 or TOEFL iBT 60 to 69Course number ENG1112; full year; not on the UC A-G list—
Writing & Language Seminar IIIOther9-12Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 2 required; iTEP SLATE 5.3 to 5.5 or TOEFL iBT 70 to 89Course number ENG1113; full year; not on the UC A-G list—
International Baccalaureate (not listed in the 2026-27 catalog) 7 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
History of the Americas IB HL2IB12 (2025-26 catalog)Completion of History of the Americas IB HL1 and department approval (2025-26 catalog)2025-26 catalog course number SOC4044; second year of the two-year IB history course; the 2026-27 catalog no longer lists IB courses, so confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: History of the Americas IB HL2a
English IB HL2IB12 (2025-26 catalog)C or higher in IB English Literature HL1 (2025-26 catalog)2025-26 catalog course number ENG1043; the 2026-27 catalog no longer lists IB courses, so confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: English IB HL2b
Math Applications and Interpretation IB SLIB—B- or higher in AP Calculus AB, Calculus, Precalculus (CP or honors), or AP Precalculus (2025-26 catalog)2025-26 catalog course number MTH2093; the 2026-27 catalog no longer lists IB courses, so confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Math Applications and Interpretation IB SLc
Environmental Systems & Societies IB SLIB11-12 (2025-26 catalog)A or B in both Chemistry (H) and Biology (H) (2025-26 catalog)2025-26 catalog course number SCI3051; the 2026-27 catalog no longer lists IB courses, so confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: IB Environmental Systems & Societies IB SLd
Spanish Ab Initio IB SLIB12 (2025-26 catalog)IB Diploma candidates only (2025-26 catalog)2025-26 catalog course number WL5060; the 2026-27 catalog no longer lists IB courses, so confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Spanish IB ab initio SLe
Psychology IB HL2IB11-12 (2025-26 catalog)Department approval (2025-26 catalog)2025-26 catalog course number SOC4148; the 2026-27 catalog no longer lists IB courses, so confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Psychology IB HL2g
Theory of Knowledge IBIB11-12 (2025-26 catalog)Department approval and admission to the IB program (2025-26 catalog)2025-26 catalog course numbers SOC4182 and SOC4183; IB Diploma core course; the 2026-27 catalog no longer lists IB courses, so confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviations: Theory of Knowledge IB 1 (H), Theory of Knowledge IB 2 (H)g
Advanced Science and Engineering Program 6 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
Engineering (H) - U of A Engineering Physics 102Dual Enrollment11-12Scheduled in AP Calculus AB or higher; ASEP students onlyCourse number SEP3080; full year; modeled on University of Arizona Engineering 102, with dual enrollment earning 3 semester credits from that university; not on the UC high school A-G list—
Bioengineering (H)Honors10ASEP students onlyCourse number SEP3141; full year; required ASEP core course in grade 10; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Bioengineering (H)d
Biotechnology (H)Honors11-12Bioengineering (H), with concurrent enrollment in AP BiologyCourse number SEP3142; full year; ASEP program course; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Biotechnology (H)d
Methodologies in Science and Engineering (H)Honors9ASEP students onlyCourse number SEP3140; full year; required ASEP core course in grade 9; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: Methodologies in Science and Engineering (H)d
Organic Chemistry (H)Honors11-12AP Chemistry; ASEP students onlyCourse number SEP3029; full year; ASEP program course; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Organic Chemistry (H)d
Advanced Science and Engineering Program InternshipOther10-12ASEP program director approvalCourse number SEP9049; 3 or 5 credits depending on the length of the internship; requires prior written approval plus submitted work logs and evaluations; not on the UC A-G list—
Visual and Performing Arts 26 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
AP 2D Art and DesignAP10-12Introduction to Visual Art, or teacher recommendationCourse number VPA6815; full year; portfolio submitted in May; transcript abbreviation: AP 2D Art and Designf
AP 3D Art and DesignAP10-12Introduction to Visual Art, or teacher recommendationCourse number VPA6825; full year; portfolio submitted in May; transcript abbreviation: AP 3D Art and Designf
AP Art HistoryAP10-12Department approvalCourse number VPA6625; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Art Historyf
AP DrawingAP10-12Introduction to Visual Art, or teacher recommendationFull year; portfolio submitted in May; transcript abbreviation: AP Drawingf
AP Music TheoryAP10-12Chamber Ensemble CP, Concert Choir CP, or Advanced Concert Choir (H)Course number VPA6514; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Music Theoryf
Advanced Chamber Ensemble (H)Honors10-12Chamber Ensemble CP and teacher recommendationCourse number VPA6012; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Advanced Chamber Ensemble (H)f
Advanced Concert Choir (H)Honors10-12At least one year of Concert Choir CP, an audition, and teacher recommendationCourse number VPA6421; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Advanced Concert Choir (H)f
Advanced Digital Filmmaking (H)Honors10-12Introduction to Digital Filmmaking and teacher recommendationCourse number VPA6615; full year; produces the student program Husky Vision; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Advanced Digital Multimedia (H)f
Advanced Film Studies (H)Honors——Not listed in either the 2025-26 or the 2026-27 catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Advanced Film Studies (H)f
Advanced Visual Art (H)Honors10-12Teacher recommendationCourse number VPA6813; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Advanced Visual Art (H)f
Music Theory (H)Honors——Not listed in either the 2025-26 or the 2026-27 catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Music Theory (H)f
Rehearsal and Performance (H)Honors9-12Audition requiredCourse number VPA6511; 5 credits per production; the catalog title does not carry (H); UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Rehearsal and Performance (H)f
Techincal Theatre II (H)Honors9-12Technical Theatre or Rehearsal and PerformanceCourse number VPA6573; full year; course title spelled this way on the UC list; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Technical Theatre II (H)f
Yearbook II (H)Honors10-12Yearbook I, and/or department approvalCourse number VPA6933; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Yearbook II (H)f
Fashion Design II (H)Honors10-12Fashion Design I and teacher recommendationCourse number VPA6623; full year; school-designated honors course, weighted in the school GPA; marked as a UC honors course in the course catalog but not on the UC 2026-27 list, so not weighted in the UC GPA—
Architecture and Design CPCP——Not listed in either the 2025-26 or the 2026-27 catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Architecture and Design CPf
Chamber Ensemble CPCP9-12None, but instrumental experience is requiredCourse number VPA6010; full year; transcript abbreviation: Chamber Ensemble CPf
Concert Choir CPCP9-12Vocal experience or teacher recommendationCourse number VPA6011; full year; transcript abbreviation: Concert Choir CPf
Fashion Design I CPCP9-12—Course number VPA6620; full year; transcript abbreviation: Fashion Design I CPf
Introduction to Digital Filmmaking CPCP9-12None; Introduction to Film recommended firstCourse number VPA6614; full year; transcript abbreviation: Beginning Digital Multimedia CPf
Introduction to Film CPCP9-12—Course number VPA6522; full year; transcript abbreviation: Introduction to Film CPf
Introduction to Speech and Deabte CPCP9—Course number VPA9635; full year; course title spelled this way on the UC list; transcript abbreviation: Introduction to Speech and Deabte CPf
Introduction to Visual Art CPCP9-12—Course number VPA6914; full year; transcript abbreviation: Introduction to Visual Arts CPf
Modern Music: Theory, Technology and Industry CPCP——Not listed in either the 2025-26 or the 2026-27 catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Modern Music: Theory, Technology and Industry CPf
Yearbook I and Digital Photography CPCP9-12—Course number VPA6932; full year; catalog title: Yearbook I CP; transcript abbreviation: Yearbook I CPf
Graphic Design CPCP9-12None; students must provide a computer or tablet that runs Photoshop and IllustratorCourse number VPA6850; full year; marked A-G in the course catalog but not on the UC 2026-27 list—
Electives 5 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
Academic Decathlon (H)Honors9-12—Course number ACD8411; Academic Decathlon preparation course; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Academic Decathlon (H)g
Advanced Speech and Debate (H)Honors10-12Teacher approvalCourse number ACD9636; full year, held during period 0; at least one tournament per semester; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Argumentation and Debate (H)g
Robotics (H)Honors——Not listed in either the 2025-26 or the 2026-27 catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Robotics (H)g
Leadership/ASBCP9-12Approved Associated Student Body (ASB) applicationCourse number ACD1091; full year; not counted in GPA; transcript abbreviation: ASB/Leadershipg
Strategies for Success CPCP9—Course number ENG8318; one semester; required in grade 9, ASEP and ABP students exempt; transcript abbreviation: Strategies for Success CPg
Advanced Business Program 8 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
AP Business with Personal FinanceAP9ABP students onlyCourse number ABP4939; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Business and Personal Financeg
AP MicroeconomicsAP12AP Macroeconomics; ABP students onlyFull year; transcript abbreviation: AP Microeconomicsg
Business Communication: Capstone (H)Honors12ABP students onlyCourse number ABP4919; full year; ABP capstone project; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Capstone (H)g
Business Management (H)Honors10ABP students onlyCourse number ABP4938; full year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Business Management and Entrepreneurship (H)g
Essentials of Marketing (H)Honors11ABP students onlyCourse number ABP4937; one semester; earns Syracuse University MAR 301 credit; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; online course; transcript abbreviation: Essentials of Marketing (H)g
Introduction to Entrepreneurship (H)Honors11ABP students onlyCourse number ABP4936; one semester; earns Syracuse University EEE 370 credit; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Introduction to Entrepreneurship (H)g
Introduction to Business & Finance (H)Honors9ABP students onlyCourse number ABP4912; full year; ABP core course in grade 9; school-designated honors course, weighted in the school GPA; marked as a UC honors course in the course catalog but not on the UC 2026-27 list, so not weighted in the UC GPA—
Advanced Business Program InternshipOther10-12ABP students only, with ABP director approvalCourse number ABP9048; 3 or 5 credits depending on the length of the internship; not on the UC A-G list—
Physical Education 6 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
Health CPCP9-12—PE9010; one semester; required for graduation; transcript abbreviation: Health CPg
Strength & ConditioningCP9-12Concurrent participation in varsity basketball or ice hockey requiredPE9021; 5 credits per semester; transcript abbreviation: Strength & Conditioningg
WeightliftingCP9-12—PE9023; semester or full year; requires purchase of a $50 fitness app; transcript abbreviation: Weightliftingg
YogaCP9-12—PE8601; semester or full year; transcript abbreviation: Yogag
Physical EducationOther9-12—Course number PE9000; required in grade 9; one full season on a CIF varsity team can replace one semester; not counted in GPA; not on the UC A-G list—
Contract SportsOther9-12Prior approval from the athletic directorCourse number PE9022; earns PE credit for outside athletic activity, at least 5 hours per week for at least 9 weeks; not counted in GPA; not on the UC A-G list—
English Language Support 4 courses
CourseLevelGradesPrerequisites / Conditions / NotesUC A-G
Writing & Language Seminar FoundationOther9-12Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 3 required; iTEP SLATE 2.2 to 4.4 or TOEFL iBT 35 to 49Course number ENG1110; full year; English support course for international students; not on the UC A-G list—
Writing & Language Seminar IOther9-12Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 2 required; iTEP SLATE 4.5 to 4.9 or TOEFL iBT 50 to 59Course number ENG1111; full year; not on the UC A-G list—
Writing & Language Seminar IIOther9-12Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 2 required; iTEP SLATE 5.0 to 5.2 or TOEFL iBT 60 to 69Course number ENG1112; full year; not on the UC A-G list—
Writing & Language Seminar IIIOther9-12Concurrent enrollment in Language Support Level 2 required; iTEP SLATE 5.3 to 5.5 or TOEFL iBT 70 to 89Course number ENG1113; full year; not on the UC A-G list—

Frequently Asked Questions

How do graduation requirements at Fairmont Preparatory Academy differ from UC A-G requirements, and which should Irvine families follow when choosing courses?

The Fairmont Preparatory Academy course catalog sets the graduation requirement at 230 credits: social science 30, English 40, mathematics 30, science 30, the same world language 20, arts 10, one course each in physical education, health, and Strategies for Success, and 40 elective credits, plus 20 hours of community service each year. The school's 3-year science requirement already meets UC's recommended level; the school requires 3 years of mathematics, and both UC and the school recommend 4; the world language requirement extends only through the second level, while UC recommends 3 years. International students holding an I-20 are exempt from the world language requirement, but UC's category e requirement still applies. Families should schedule courses to UC A-G recommended levels.

Irvine families want to know: how is the schedule organized at Fairmont Preparatory Academy?

The daily schedule in the Fairmont Preparatory Academy 2025-26 student handbook shows a block schedule Monday through Thursday, alternating periods 1 through 4 and periods 5 through 8 on successive days, with each period lasting 85 minutes; there is also a 45-minute period 0 in the morning, where Advanced Speech and Debate (H) is scheduled. Period 8 is Flex time, when students can meet teachers for help, make up tests, or attend clubs or practices. On Friday, every class meets once, for 40 to 45 minutes each.

Irvine families want to know: can students change courses after school starts at Fairmont Preparatory Academy?

Yes, within time limits and for specific reasons. The Fairmont Preparatory Academy course catalog states that students may request a course change through the counselor within three weeks of the start of each semester. Acceptable reasons are limited to graduation requirement needs, unmet prerequisites, completion in summer school, a move up or down in level where space allows, and elective changes. Requests based on period, teacher, or friends are not accepted, nor are drops made to raise the GPA. A course dropped after the first three weeks is recorded on the transcript as W with no credit. Requests to move down to a CP course must be made before the end of the first quarter.

Does Fairmont Preparatory Academy accept courses that Irvine students take outside school?

Conditionally. Fairmont Preparatory Academy allows students to take courses the school does not offer at outside institutions, but approval from the department chair and the principal is required before registration. Approved outside courses earn credit, but their grades are not counted in the school GPA and appear on the school transcript only when used to meet a graduation requirement. Summer courses taken for acceleration must be taken at the school. Outside courses for credit recovery also require prior approval.

Irvine students who speak Chinese: can they skip levels in Mandarin at Fairmont Preparatory Academy?

Yes, through a placement test. Mandarin at Fairmont Preparatory Academy starts with Mandarin I for beginners, which introduces pinyin. Students can enter Mandarin II by placement test; Mandarin III (H) requires a B or higher in Mandarin II and a teacher recommendation; and AP Chinese Language and Culture is open to grades 11 and 12 and requires a B or higher in Mandarin III (H), a teacher recommendation, and/or a placement test. The UC list for 2026-27 registers Mandarin III (H) as a UC-approved honors course.

Irvine families often ask: are the ASEP and ABP programs at Fairmont Preparatory Academy worth joining?

It depends on the student's direction. At Fairmont Preparatory Academy, ASEP serves students headed for STEM and ABP serves students headed for business; both require a separate application and cost an additional $3,200 per year. Each program includes one core course every year from grade 9. ASEP offers a dual-credit engineering course through the University of Arizona, and ABP offers two courses that can earn Syracuse University credit. Note that UC does not weight the grade 9 ASEP course Methodologies in Science and Engineering (H) or the grade 9 ABP course Introduction to Business & Finance (H), and the latter is not on the UC list.

Data verified on 2026-09-23. Course catalogs are updated each spring; prerequisites follow the school's current Course of Study.

A four-year plan for a Fairmont Preparatory Academy student

Share the grade and the goal. An Irvine-based counselor reaches out within one business day with a first, actionable growth and admissions plan. Direction first, courses later.

  • EDUBUS WeChat QR code, WeChat ID EDUBUSer
    Scan to reach a counselor on WeChatHotline: (949) 383-4877WeChatEDUBUSerCopy the ID and add a counselor in WeChat

We reply within one business day. Your details are used only for this consultation. By submitting you confirm you have read our privacy policy.