The Whittier Christian High School Academic Catalog for the 2026-27 school year is a 35-page PDF that gives the course number, prerequisites and description for each subject, but for most courses it does not state the grade in which they are offered. This page starts from the official University of California (UC) A-G course list and adds, course by course, the prerequisites and grades from the Academic Catalog, along with the Bible courses, dual enrollment courses and English support courses that are not on the A-G list. The overall picture of the UC list comes first.
UC A-G refers to the 7 subject categories that the University of California and California State University require high school students to complete: a history and social science, b English, c mathematics, d laboratory science, e language other than English, f visual and performing arts, and g college-preparatory elective.
These courses are designated honors on the school transcript but are not on the UC-approved honors list, so UC counts them as standard courses in admission
- Am Literature/Composition A,B (H)
- Biology (H)
- Chemistry (H)
- Honors Algebra 2
- Honors Chemistry
- Honors English 1A,B
- Honors Geometry
- Honors World History 1
- Honors World History 2
- Theatre Arts IV Honors - Advanced Acting
Note that the UC list page shows a last-updated date of March 7, 2019 for the school. French 1 through 4, German 1 through 4, Physics, Honors Physics, Anatomy and Physiology, Marine Biology, World History 1, Film and Photography and other courses on the list do not appear in the 2026-27 Academic Catalog. Conversely, the dual enrollment courses, seven Bible courses and English support courses in the catalog are not on the list. The notes column of the course map below marks each of these differences.
Graduation Requirements (College Prep Diploma, 240 Credits)
The school awards 5 credits for a one-semester course and 10 credits for a full-year course, and a D- or higher earns credit. The table below shows the credit requirements for the College Prep Diploma in the 2026-27 Academic Catalog.
| Subject | Credits |
|---|---|
| Bible | 40 |
| English | 40 |
| Mathematics (through Algebra 2) | 30 |
| Social Studies | 30 |
| Science (laboratory science) | 20 |
| LOTE (same language) | 20 |
| Physical Education | 20 |
| Visual/Performing Arts | 10 |
| Speech | 5 |
| Health Education | 5 |
| Academic Electives | 20 |
The table shows the credit requirements for the College Prep Diploma in the 2026-27 course catalog, totaling 240 credits, plus a cumulative academic GPA of 2.5 or higher. A one-semester course earns 5 credits and a full-year course 10 credits, and a D- or higher earns credit. The Alpha Honors Diploma raises mathematics and science to 4 years and 40 credits each (only in the subjects chosen as honors strands) and requires a cumulative weighted academic GPA of 3.5 or higher; the High School Diploma requires only 2 years of mathematics, 1 year of a language other than English, and 40 credits of academic electives, with no GPA minimum. Note that another section of the same course catalog states a minimum of 250 credits to graduate, and the 2025-26 School Profile states 254 credits; because the figures differ, confirm with the school's graduation audit for the current year.
The other conditions for the three diplomas are as follows.
| Diploma | Conditions |
|---|---|
| Alpha Honors Diploma | Cumulative weighted academic GPA of 3.5 or higher over 8 semesters; honors courses in at least three of the four years, including 11th and 12th grades; a B- or higher in 12th grade in at least two of the four honors strands of English, history, mathematics, and science (a B- or higher in the first semester of AP U.S. Government). Students who earn a C in the first semester of an honors course need department approval to remain in the course, no more than twice in four years |
| College Prep Diploma | Cumulative academic GPA of 2.5 or higher over 8 semesters; C- or higher in the second semester of the language other than English and mathematics; C- or higher in both semesters of biology, chemistry, physics, English, arts, and social studies |
| High School Diploma | For students heading to community college, vocational training, or employment; students complete the credits required for the High School Diploma in the table above, with no GPA minimum |
Graduation requirements and UC admission requirements are two separate standards. The table below sets them side by side; the UC column comes from the University of California admissions website.
| UC A-G category | School graduation requirement / UC requirement |
|---|---|
| a History and social science | School: 30 credits (3 years); UC: 2 years required |
| b English | School: 40 credits (4 years); UC: 4 years required |
| c Mathematics | School: 30 credits (3 years, through Algebra 2); UC: 3 years required, 4 years strongly recommended |
| d Laboratory science | School: 20 credits (2 years); UC: 2 years required, 3 years recommended |
| e Language other than English | School: 20 credits (2 years of the same language); UC: 2 years of the same language required, 3 years recommended |
| f Visual and performing arts | School: 10 credits (1 year); UC: 1 year required |
| g College-preparatory elective | School: no separate requirement; UC: 1 year required, which can be met by category g courses such as World Views, AP Psychology, Economics and Speech |
| Grades and number of courses | School: credit for a D- or higher; UC: 15 year-long courses, all with a C or better, 11 of them completed before grade 12 |
EDUBUS recommends planning courses around UC’s recommended standard rather than the school’s graduation standard: 4 years of mathematics and 3 years each of science and world language. Students take one Bible course every semester and must also complete 20 credits of physical education and 5 credits each of speech and health, so the schedule is tighter than at a public high school. This needs to be built into the plan in grade 9.
Bible Courses and UC A-G
Checked course by course against the UC A-G course list for 2026-27, World Views is the only course from the school's Bible department on the list; it is an area g elective, not a UC-approved honors course. Hebrew Scriptures, Christ of the Gospels, The Story of the Church, N.T. Letters to the Early Church, Life Calling, Stewardship, and Introduction to Bible (ESL) for international students are not on the list. The course catalog does not state the grade level for each Bible course.
Bible courses listed in the Academic Catalog
- Hebrew Scriptures (Old Testament survey, one semester in the fall)
- Christ of the Gospels (one semester in the spring)
- The Story of the Church (church history, one semester in the fall)
- N.T. Letters to the Early Church (New Testament epistles, one semester in the spring)
- World Views (full year, UC area g elective)
- Life Calling (one semester in the fall, eligible for college credit)
- Stewardship (stewardship and personal finance, one semester in the spring)
- Introduction to Bible (ESL) (the Bible course for international students in their first year)
The school requires one Bible course each semester and chapel attendance once a week. World Views is the only Bible course that satisfies the UC category g requirement; the other Bible courses count toward the school’s 40 credits but not toward UC A-G courses.
Course Selection Rules
This section answers four questions: how the schedule is built, whether courses can be changed after school starts, whether courses can be taken outside school, and whether a course with a poor grade can be repeated.
| Schedule | The 2026-27 school year uses a 7-period schedule: on Mondays all 7 periods meet for 50 minutes each; on Tuesdays and Thursdays periods 1, 2, 3, and 7 meet for 75 minutes each, with a Tutorial block; on Wednesdays and Fridays school has a Late Start and periods 4, 5, and 6 meet, with a chapel block on Wednesday mornings. Dismissal is at 3:00 Monday through Thursday and 1:50 on Friday |
|---|---|
| Semesters | The school year has two semesters and four quarters. The 2026-27 school year begins August 11; first semester finals are December 17-18; the second semester begins January 12, 2027, with finals on May 18-19 |
| Adding and dropping courses | Schedule changes can be made on the August schedule change day (August 4 in 2026) and during the first three days of the first semester, if prerequisites are met and the class has space. In the second semester only minor changes are allowed, such as dropping a course or adding a one-semester Health, Speech, or Study Hall course; students cannot change teachers or rearrange their schedules. Courses may be dropped in weeks 3 through 12 of each semester, but can be replaced only with Study Hall or a teacher's aide period, with no effect on GPA; a drop in weeks 13 through 18 is recorded as an F and counts in the GPA |
| Moving up to honors | Moving from regular to honors English requires an A in the second semester, a teacher recommendation, and passing the placement test in early May; students with an A in both semesters of regular math may take a readiness test to move into the honors sequence |
| Outside courses | All courses taken outside school, whether to accelerate or to make up credit, require approval from the college advisement staff. The school accepts only three course providers: APEX Online Learning, UC Scout, and the Mt. SAC credit recovery program; community college courses count only as elective credit. The student handbook states that courses offered at the school cannot be taken elsewhere for original credit; for example, all four years of English must be completed at the school |
| Flexible learning arrangements | Students in 11th and 12th grades who are on track to graduate, have good attendance, and are in good standing may apply for the Flexible Learning Option: they take at least 4 courses on campus and use the remaining time for dual-enrollment courses, extracurricular activities, or internships, with approval from the academic advisement office |
| Repeating courses | An a-g course with a D or F must be repeated with a grade of C or higher to meet college subject requirements, and only the repeated grade counts on the school transcript. A course with a C may be repeated and the new grade used on the school transcript, but UC and CSU do not accept it; a course with a B cannot be repeated |
The school’s public pages do not state a minimum or maximum number of courses per semester. Under the bell schedule, the school runs at most 7 periods a day. The Academic Catalog recommends that students on after-school athletic teams take Study Hall, which carries no credit. Study Hall 4.0 in the Academic Support Program serves students with a diagnosed learning disability, with at most 10 students per class.
Four-Year Pathways by Subject
In the pathways below, CP means College Prep (the regular course, neither honors nor AP), Honors means the honors section, and AP means an Advanced Placement course. The English pathway follows the four-year flowchart in the school’s Academic Catalog; the grades for other subjects follow the grades and prerequisite sequences stated in the catalog.
English
- Grade 9: English 1 or Honors English 1, by admissions committee recommendation
- Grade 10: English 2 or Honors American Literature; the latter requires a B- or higher in Honors English 1 and a teacher recommendation
- Grade 11: American Literature; the honors sequence is Honors English Literature in the fall and the dual-enrollment course English 120C in the spring
- Grade 12: World Literature or English Literature (the two alternate years); the honors sequence is AP English 230C, the dual-enrollment AP English Literature course
In grades 11 and 12, the English honors sequence is tied to dual enrollment courses. In grade 11, students take Honors English Literature in the fall and English 120C in the spring; in grade 12 they take AP English 230C, earning Vanguard University credit while preparing for the AP English Literature exam. Each step requires a B- or higher in the previous course and a teacher recommendation. A regular-track student who wants to move up to honors must earn an A in the second semester, receive a teacher recommendation and pass the placement test in early May.
English placement for international students is tiered by admission scores: iTEP SLATE 3.0 to 3.2, TOEFL 45 to 55, or Duolingo 75 to 85 for Intermediate ESL; iTEP 3.5, TOEFL 55 to 65, or Duolingo 85 to 90 for Advanced ESL; iTEP 3.8, TOEFL above 65, or Duolingo above 90 for regular English. The school states that these are only general guidelines.
Science
- Starting point: Biology or PLTW Principles of Biomedical Science (honors), both by admissions committee recommendation
- Second course: Chemistry or Honors Chemistry, with Algebra 2 completed or taken concurrently; Honors Chemistry requires an A- in Biology or a higher math grade
- Advanced: AP Biology, AP Chemistry, and AP Environmental Science, all requiring qualifying grades in Biology and Chemistry; PLTW Human Body Systems (honors) follows Principles of Biomedical Science
- Physics: only AP Physics (algebra-based), with Precalculus completed or taken concurrently and a B- or higher in Chemistry
Engineering and computing courses are housed in the science department: PLTW Engineering Essentials, PLTW Principles of Engineering (honors), and Robotics (grades 9 to 12, competing in VEX Robotics competitions). Forensic Science and a non-lab Environmental Science are also offered, both in alternating years. The 2026-27 course catalog does not list regular Physics, Honors Physics, or computer science courses. Students planning to apply in engineering, physics or pre-medicine should note two points: physics consists of a single algebra-based AP Physics course, and the PLTW biomedical and engineering courses are UC-approved honors courses that are weighted in UC applications and can also satisfy academy program requirements.
Social Science
- Grade 9: the course catalog does not list a required 9th grade social studies course
- Grade 10: World History II or Honors World History II
- Grade 11: U.S. History or AP United States History
- Grade 12: U.S. Government (one semester in the fall) and Economics (one semester in the spring), or AP U.S. Government (one semester in the fall); AP Psychology is an elective
The social science honors sequence begins with Honors World History 2 in grade 10, followed by AP United States History in grade 11 and AP US Government and Politics in the fall of grade 12. Honors World History 2 is registered on the UC list as a regular course and does not raise the UC GPA.
World Languages
- Spanish 1 to 4, and AP Spanish Language and Culture
- American Sign Language I and II
- The UC list also includes French 1 to 4 and German 1 to 4, but the 2026-27 course catalog does not list them
- The school offers no Chinese courses and no AP Chinese
Each level of Spanish requires a C- or higher in the second semester of the previous level; Spanish 4 requires a B- or higher, and AP Spanish Language and Culture requires a B+ in Spanish 3 or 4. UC A-G requires 2 years of the same world language and recommends 3; the school’s graduation requirement is 2 years of the same language.
Dual Enrollment Courses
The school offers dual-enrollment courses in partnership with Azusa Pacific University, Vanguard University, and Ohio Christian University, taught by school faculty who meet the universities' teaching qualifications; grades are recorded on the partner university's transcript. Each course costs $250 and earns 3 college credits on completion, and students must meet an academic GPA requirement. The 2026-27 courses are Business 100 Personal Finance, Business 110 Business and Entrepreneurship, Business 120 Business Communications, Management 210 Principles of Management, English 120 College Writing, English 230 Literature, and Life Calling (LFC 1500). There is no course fee for a drop within the first four weeks of school; later drops are charged.
Complete Course Map
Expand by department. Each course shows its level, grade, prerequisites and UC A-G category. Courses showing a dash in the UC A-G column are not on UC’s 2026-27 list, and courses showing a dash in the grade column have no grade stated in the Academic Catalog. The notes column gives the school’s course number, whether UC weights the course, and whether it appears in the 2026-27 Academic Catalog.
English
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP English Language and Composition | AP | — | —The AP results table in the 2025-26 School Profile and the student handbook list AP English Language, but the 2026-27 course listings do not; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviations: AP Eng Lang & Comp, AP English Lang & Comp | b |
| AP English Literature and Composition | AP | 12 | B- or higher in English 120C and a teacher recommendationListed in the course catalog as 0292 AP English 230C (H), a 3-credit dual-enrollment course offered with Vanguard University that also prepares students for the AP English Literature exam; transcript abbreviation: AP ENGLISH | b |
| English 120C (H) | Dual Enrollment | 11 | B- or higher in Honors English Literature and a teacher recommendationCourse number 0289; one semester in the spring; a 3-credit dual-enrollment course offered with Vanguard University that may satisfy first-year college writing at accepting universities; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Am Literature/Composition A,B (H) | Honors | 10 | B- or higher in Honors English 1 and a teacher recommendationThe UC list has two honors American literature courses: this course (transcript name HON AMER LIT) is not a UC-approved honors course, while Honors American Literature (H) (transcript name HAL) is; confirm with the school which one corresponds to catalog course number 0225; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: HON AMER LIT | b |
| Eng Literature/Composition A,B (H) | Honors | 11 | B- or higher in Honors American Literature and a teacher recommendationCourse number 0287 Honors English Literature (H); one semester in the fall, prerequisite for the spring dual-enrollment course English 120C; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Hon English Lit | b |
| Honors American Literature (H) | Honors | 10 | B- or higher in Honors English 1 and a teacher recommendationSee the note in the previous row: confirm with the school which UC list honors American literature course corresponds to catalog course 0225 Honors Amer Lit & Comp; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: HAL | b |
| Honors English 1A,B | Honors | 9 | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0214 Honors English 1 (H); regular-track students moving to honors need an A in the second semester, a teacher recommendation, and a passing score on the placement test in early May; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: HON ENGLISH 1 | b |
| Advanced ESL | CP | — | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0281; international student English sequence, following Intermediate ESL; may be repeated once for original credit | b |
| Am Literature/Composition A,B | CP | 11 | —Course number 0206 American Lit and Comp (P); follows English 2 in the school's four-year English flowchart; transcript abbreviations: AMER LIT & COMP, AMER LIT &COMP | b |
| Eng Literature/Composition A,B | CP | 12 | —Course number 0208 English Lit and Comp (P); the catalog marks it as offered in alternating years; transcript abbreviation: ENG LIT &COMP | b |
| English 1A,B | CP | 9 | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0202 English 1 (P); transcript abbreviations: ENGLISH 1, ENGLISH LANG. | b |
| English 2A,B | CP | 10 | Teacher recommendationCourse number 0204 English 2 (P); transcript abbreviation: ENGLISH 2 | b |
| Wld Literature/Composition A,B | CP | 12 | —Course number 0209 World Lit & Comp (P); the catalog marks it as offered in alternating years; transcript abbreviation: World Lit & Comp | b |
| Beginning ESL | Other | — | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0279; beginning English for international students; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Intermediate ESL | Other | — | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0280; intermediate English for international students, may be repeated once for original credit; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Lit/Comp 1 | Other | — | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0213; remedial English course aimed at moving into regular English; moving to regular English requires an A in the second semester, a teacher recommendation, and a passing score on the placement test in early May; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Lit/Comp 2 | Other | — | Teacher recommendationCourse number 0223; remedial English course; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Lit/Comp 3 | Other | — | Teacher recommendationCourse number 0233; remedial English course; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Lit/Comp 4 | Other | — | Teacher recommendationCourse number 0243; remedial English course; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
Mathematics
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Calculus AB | AP | — | B- or higher in Precalculus (H), or 70% or higher on the Calculus readiness testCourse number 0649; a cumulative AP practice exam is given at the end of the year; the school does not offer AP Calculus BC; transcript abbreviation: AP Calculus | c |
| AP Statistics | AP | — | B- in Precalculus (H), B+ in regular Precalculus (the course listing states B), or A- in Honors Algebra 2, plus a recommendation from the previous year's math teacherCourse number 0638; transcript abbreviation: AP Statistics | c |
| Honors Algebra 2 | Honors | — | B or higher in both semesters of Honors Geometry (the course listing states B- in the second semester), or 80% or higher on the Algebra 2 readiness testCourse number 0625; students with an A in both semesters of regular Geometry may take the readiness test to move in; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: Hon Algebra 2 | c |
| Honors Geometry | Honors | — | Admissions committee recommendation; or an A- or higher in Algebra 1 with demonstrated Algebra 1 mastery; or passing the Geometry Readiness testCourse number 0635; students with an A in both semesters of regular Algebra 1 may take the Honors Geometry readiness test; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: Hon Geometry | c |
| PreCalculus (H) | Honors | — | B- or higher in both semesters of Honors Algebra 2, or 70% or higher on the Precalculus readiness testCourse number 0647; students with an A in both semesters of regular Algebra 2 may take the readiness test to move in; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: PRE CALCULUS (H) | c |
| Algebra 1A | CP | — | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0657; first year of two-year Algebra 1, for students who need more time; transcript abbreviation: Algebra 1A | c |
| Algebra 1A,B | CP | — | Admissions committee recommendation; incoming students who pass the math section of the entrance exam are placed in Algebra 1Course number 0611 Algebra 1 (P); transcript abbreviation: Algebra I | c |
| Algebra 1B | CP | — | C- or higher in the second semester of Algebra 1ACourse number 0658; second year of two-year Algebra 1; transcript abbreviation: ALG 1B | c |
| Algebra 2A,B | CP | — | C- or higher in the second semester of Geometry, or passing the Algebra 2 readiness testCourse number 0620 Algebra 2 (P); transcript abbreviation: Algebra II | c |
| Geometry A,B | CP | — | Admissions committee recommendation, or C- or higher in Algebra 1 or Algebra 1BCourse number 0630 Geometry (P) | c |
| Precalculus | CP | — | B- or higher in Algebra 2Course number 0648 Precalculus (P); transcript abbreviation: Precalculus | c |
| Statistics | CP | — | C- or higher in Algebra 2Course number 0637 Statistics (P); transcript abbreviation: Statistics | c |
| Personal Finance | CP | 11-12 | Completion of Algebra 1 or Algebra 1BCourse number 0616; personal finance math course; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
Science
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Biology | AP | — | A- each semester in Biology or B- or higher each semester in Honors Biology, and A- each semester in Chemistry or B- or higher each semester in Honors Chemistry; science department approvalCourse number 0860; transcript abbreviation: AP BIOLOGY | d |
| AP Chemistry | AP | — | A- each semester in Biology or B- or higher each semester in Honors Biology, and A- each semester in Chemistry or B- or higher each semester in Honors Chemistry; science department approvalCourse number 0865; transcript abbreviation: AP Chemistry | d |
| AP Environmental Science | AP | — | A- each semester in Biology or B- or higher each semester in Honors Biology, and A- each semester in Chemistry or B- or higher each semester in Honors Chemistry; science department approvalCourse number 0862; full year; transcript abbreviation: AP Environment | d |
| AP Physics 1 | AP | — | Precalculus completed or taken concurrently, and B- or higher each semester in Chemistry or Honors Chemistry; science department approvalListed in the course catalog as 0843 AP Physics (H), algebra-based; the catalog notes that the school does not offer AP Physics C; transcript abbreviation: AP Physics 1 | d |
| Biology (H) | Honors | — | —The 2026-27 course listings include only Biology (P), not Honors Biology; confirm with the school whether the course runs; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: HONORS BIOLOGY | d |
| Chemistry (H) | Honors | — | —May be a second registration of the same course as Honors Chemistry below (transcript name HON CHEMISTRY); neither is a UC-approved honors course; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: HON CHEMISTRY | d |
| Honors PLTW Principles of Engineering | Honors | — | —Course number 0883 PLTW Princ. of Engineering (H); one of the designated courses of the Engineering Academy; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: PLTWPriOfEngin | d |
| Honors Anatomy & Physiology | Honors | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: (H) Anatomy&Physiology | d |
| Honors Chemistry | Honors | — | Algebra 2 or Honors Algebra 2 completed or taken concurrently with B- or higher each semester; A- each semester in Biology or B- or higher each semester in Honors BiologyCourse number 0835; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: Honors Chemistry (H) | d |
| Honors Physics | Honors | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; the only physics course in the catalog is AP Physics; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Physics (H) | d |
| Honors PLTW Principles of Biomedical Science | Honors | — | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0879 PLTW Princ. of Bio Medical (H); one of the designated courses of the Biomedical Academy; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: PLTW PrinBioMed | d |
| Honors PLTW Human Body Systems | Honors | — | C- or higher each semester in Biology or Honors Biology and in Chemistry or Honors Chemistry; science department approvalCourse number 0881; follows PLTW Principles of Biomedical Science and is one of the designated courses of the Biomedical Academy; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: PLTW HumBodySys | d |
| Anatomy & Physiology A,B | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Physiology | d |
| Biology A,B | CP | — | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0820 Biology (P); transcript abbreviation: BIOLOGY | d |
| Chemistry A,B | CP | — | Algebra 2 or Honors Algebra 2 completed or taken concurrently with C- or higher each semester, and C- or higher each semester in Biology or Honors BiologyCourse number 0830 Chemistry (P) | d |
| Physics | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Physics | d |
| PLTW Computer Science Principles | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: CSE | d |
| PLTW Engineering Essentials | CP | — | —Course number 0882; one of the designated courses of the Engineering Academy; transcript abbreviation: PLTWEnginEssent | d |
| Forensic Science | CP | — | —Course number 0884 Forensic Science (P); the catalog marks it as offered in alternating years; UC area g; transcript abbreviation: Forensic Sci | g |
| Marine Biology | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; UC area g; transcript abbreviation: Marine Bio | g |
| Robotics | CP | 9-12 | —Course number 0877; uses VEX EDR equipment and competes in 2 to 4 VEX Robotics competitions each year, moving to CAD and 3D printing after the season; UC area g; transcript abbreviation: RBTCS | g |
| Environmental Science (non-lab) | CP | — | —Course number 0808; non-lab course; the catalog marks it as offered in alternating years; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
Social Studies
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Government and Politics United States | AP | 12 | Completion of U.S. History 200 and 201 with B- or higher each semester; approval from the course teacher and the social studies departmentCourse number 0407; one semester, offered in the fall; the Alpha Honors Diploma requires B- or higher in the first semester; catalog course name AP Gov & Politics; transcript abbreviation: AP GOV & POLITICS | a |
| AP United States History | AP | 11 | B- or higher each semester in Honors World History 2 and a recommendation from that course's teacher; social studies department approvalCourse number 0404; transcript abbreviation: AP U.S. History | a |
| AP Psychology | AP | — | —Course number 0481; listed in the social studies course table, with the course description in the electives section; UC area g; transcript abbreviation: AP Psychology | g |
| Honors World History 1 | Honors | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: H World Hist 1 | a |
| Honors World History 2 | Honors | 10 | Social studies department approval; students from regular English 1 or new students need an A- in English 1 (B- in Honors English 1), an academic GPA of 3.5 at the end of 9th grade, and recommendations from the history department chair and the English 1 teacherCourse number 0454; school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: H World Hist 2 | a |
| United States History Since 1865 | Honors | — | —Transcript name HIST 201 (H); the AP U.S. Government prerequisite mentions U.S. History 200 and 201, but the 2026-27 course listings do not list this course separately; confirm with the school how it is offered; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: HIST 201 (H) | a |
| United States History To 1865 | Honors | — | —Transcript name HIST 200 (H); the AP U.S. Government prerequisite mentions U.S. History 200 and 201, but the 2026-27 course listings do not list this course separately; confirm with the school how it is offered; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: HIST 200 (H) | a |
| United States Government A | CP | 12 | —Course number 0405 U.S. Government (P); one semester in the fall of 12th grade, 5 credits; transcript abbreviation: US GOVERNMENT | a |
| United States History A,B | CP | 11 | —Course number 0403 U.S. History (P); required in 11th grade, full year, 10 credits; transcript abbreviations: HIST-170A U.S, HIST-170B U.S., U.S. HISTORY, US HISTORY | a |
| World History 1 | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: World History 1 | a |
| World History 2 | CP | 10 | —Course number 0453 World History II (P); transcript abbreviation: WORLD HISTORY | a |
| Economics A | CP | 12 | —Course number 0442 Economics (P); one semester in the spring of 12th grade | g |
LOTE
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Spanish Language and Culture | AP | — | B+ or higher in Spanish 3 or 4Course number 0506 AP Spanish (H); transcript abbreviations: AP Span Lang, AP Spanish Lang | e |
| American Sign Language I | CP | — | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0545; transcript abbreviation: ASL | e |
| ASL 2 American Sign Language | CP | — | C- or higher in the second semester of American Sign Language ICourse number 0554; transcript abbreviation: ASL 2 | e |
| French 1A,B | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: FRENCH 1 | e |
| French 2A,B | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: FRENCH 2 | e |
| French 3A,B | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs | e |
| French 4A,B | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs | e |
| German 1A,B | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs | e |
| German 2A,B | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs | e |
| German 3A,B | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs | e |
| German 4A,B | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs | e |
| Spanish 1A,B | CP | — | Admissions committee recommendationCourse number 0501; transcript abbreviation: SPANISH 1 | e |
| Spanish 2A,B | CP | — | C- or higher in the second semester of Spanish 1Course number 0502; transcript abbreviation: SPANISH 2 | e |
| Spanish 3A,B | CP | — | C- or higher in the second semester of Spanish 2Course number 0503; transcript abbreviation: SPANISH 3 | e |
| Spanish 4A,B | CP | — | B- or higher in the second semester of Spanish 3Course number 0505; may serve as preparation for AP Spanish | e |
Bible
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Life Calling | Dual Enrollment | — | —Course number 0030; one semester in the fall; eligible for college credit (listed on the school's dual-enrollment page as LFC 1500, 3 credits, $250 per course); not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| World Views | CP | — | —Course number 0035 World Views (P); part of the Bible department and the school's only Bible course on the UC list, UC area g; transcript abbreviation: WORLD VIEWS | g |
| Introduction to Bible (ESL) | CP | — | —Course number 0015; Bible course for international students in their first year; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Hebrew Scriptures | CP | — | —Course number 0038; one semester in the fall, Old Testament survey; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Christ of the Gospels | CP | — | —Course number 0039; one semester in the spring; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| The Story of the Church | CP | — | —Course number 0033; one semester in the fall, from the Book of Acts to the present-day church; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| N.T. Letters to the Early Church | CP | — | —Course number 0041; one semester in the spring, New Testament epistles; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Stewardship | CP | — | —Course number 0032; one semester in the spring, including biblical views of money and principles of personal finance; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
Visual & Performing Arts
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Drawing | AP | — | Completion of Honors Art, a passing portfolio review, and approval from the course teacherListed in the course catalog as 0330 AP Studio Art (H); students choose between the Drawing and Design portfolios; separate material and exam fees apply; transcript abbreviation: AP Studio Art | f |
| Advanced Chamber Choir (H) | Honors | — | One year of choir experience, or department approvalCourse number 0301; may be repeated; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Adv. Chamber Choir (H) | f |
| Honors Art Studio | Honors | — | Completion of Art I or Art II, a passing portfolio review, and approval from the course teacherListed in the course catalog as 0314 Honors Art (H); students complete 16 portfolio pieces over the year; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: HAS | f |
| Honors Jazz Ensemble | Honors | — | Audition requiredCourse number 0383; UC-approved honors course, weighted for UC admission; transcript abbreviation: Honors Jazz Ens | f |
| Theatre Arts IV Honors - Advanced Acting | Honors | — | C- or higher in Theatre III and passing an examCourse number 0354 Theatre 4 (H); school-designated honors course, not weighted in the UC GPA; transcript abbreviation: Theatre IV (H) | f |
| A Cappella Choir | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: A Capella | f |
| Advanced Dance | CP | — | Passing a placement audition, or submitting a video to the dance directorCourse number 0376; transcript abbreviation: Adv. Dance | f |
| Art Design | CP | — | —Course number 0316 | f |
| Art I | CP | — | —Course number 0302 | f |
| Art II | CP | — | C- or higher in both semesters of Art ICourse number 0303 | f |
| Beginning Photography | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Beg Photography | f |
| Choir | CP | — | —Course number 0322 | f |
| Concert Band | CP | — | —Course number 0318; transcript abbreviation: CONCERT BAND | f |
| Dance Ensemble | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Dance Ensemble | f |
| Digital Art Design | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Digital Art Design | f |
| Digital Communications & Marketing | CP | — | —Listed in the course catalog as 0138 YB - Digital Communications/Mktg (P), the yearbook design course; confirm with the school whether it is the same course as Yearbook Digital Media Communications and Marketing in area g; transcript abbreviation: Digtl Com & Mkt | f |
| Film 2: Film Theory and Production | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: FILM 2 | f |
| Film and Cinematic Arts | CP | — | —Not listed in the school's 2026-27 course catalog; confirm with the school whether the course runs; transcript abbreviation: Film and Cinematic Arts | f |
| Girls' Ensemble | CP | — | —Not in the 2026-27 course listings; the student handbook lists it as an activity held during class time; transcript abbreviation: GIRLS' ENSEMBLE | f |
| Intermediate Dance | CP | — | Completion of Introduction to Dance, or passing a placement auditionCourse number 0356; transcript abbreviation: Int. Dance | f |
| Introduction to Dance | CP | — | —Course number 0355; transcript abbreviation: Intro to Dance | f |
| Jazz Ensemble | CP | — | —Course number 0324 | f |
| Multimedia | CP | — | —Course number 0382; transcript abbreviation: Multimedia | f |
| Multimedia 2 | CP | — | Completion of Multimedia 1Course number 0387; transcript abbreviation: Multimedia2 | f |
| String Ensemble | CP | — | —Course number 0357; transcript abbreviation: String Ensemble | f |
| Technical Theatre & Design | CP | — | —Course number 0384; transcript abbreviation: Tech Thea & Des | f |
| Theatre Arts I - The Art & Appreciation of Theatre | CP | — | —Course number 0351; transcript abbreviation: Theatre I | f |
| Theatre Arts II - Beginning Acting | CP | 10-12 | C- or higher in Theatre I, passing an exam, and meeting the theatre director's requirementsCourse number 0352; transcript abbreviation: Theatre II | f |
| Theatre Arts III - Intermediate Acting | CP | — | C- or higher in Theatre II and passing an examCourse number 0353; transcript abbreviation: Theatre III | f |
| Yearbook Digital Media Communications and Marketing | CP | — | —See the Digital Communications & Marketing row; UC area g; transcript abbreviation: Yearbook | g |
| Art Design II | CP | — | —Course number 0328; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
Electives & Business
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BUSI 100 Personal Finance | Dual Enrollment | — | —Course number 1011; one semester in the fall; dual-enrollment course offered with Azusa Pacific University, 3 college credits, $250 per course; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| BUSI 110 Business and Entrepreneurship | Dual Enrollment | — | —Course number 1014; one semester in the spring; dual-enrollment course offered with Azusa Pacific University, 3 college credits, $250 per course; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| BUSI 120 Business Communications | Dual Enrollment | — | —Course number 1012; one semester in the fall; dual-enrollment course offered with Azusa Pacific University, 3 college credits, $250 per course; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| MGMT 210 Principles of Management | Dual Enrollment | — | —Course number 1013; one semester in the spring; dual-enrollment course offered with Azusa Pacific University, 3 college credits, $250 per course; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| (LEAD) Leadership Exploration and Development | CP | — | —Course number 0475; a course that counts toward the Leadership Academy; transcript abbreviation: LEAD | g |
| Business Entrepreneurship and Financial Literacy | CP | — | —The 2026-27 course catalog has no course with this name; business courses are now dual-enrollment courses offered with Azusa Pacific University (BUSI 100, BUSI 110, and others), and the correspondence should be confirmed with the school; transcript abbreviation: Bus Entrepreneurship / Fin Lit | g |
| Speech | CP | — | —Course number 0170; one semester, available in either semester; 5 credits required for graduation; transcript abbreviation: Speech | g |
| Study Hall 4.0 | Other | — | Diagnosed learning disability, with placement by the Academic Support ProgramCourse number 0276; maximum of 10 students per class, earns elective credit; part of the Academic Support Program ($3,500 per school year); not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Student Council (ASB) | Other | — | Elected or appointed in the spring of the previous yearCourse number 0450; student council leadership course; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
Physical Education & Health
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health | Other | — | —Course number 0732; one semester, available in either semester, with an online summer option; 5 credits required for graduation; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Co-Ed P.E. | Other | — | —Course number 0741; 20 credits of physical education are required for graduation, and approved outside CIF programs may substitute; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
| Strength & Conditioning | Other | — | —Course number 0721; not on the UC A-G course list | — |
Frequently Asked Questions
Do Bible courses at Whittier Christian High School count as UC A-G courses, a question Irvine families often ask?
Only one does. According to UC's A-G course list for the 2026-27 school year, World Views is the only course from the Whittier Christian High School Bible department on the list, as a category g college-preparatory elective; it is not a UC-approved honors course. Hebrew Scriptures, Christ of the Gospels, The Story of the Church, N.T. Letters to the Early Church, Life Calling, Stewardship and the introductory Bible course for international students are not on the list.
How do Whittier Christian High School graduation requirements differ from UC A-G requirements, and which should Irvine families plan around?
According to the 2026-27 Academic Catalog, the Whittier Christian High School College Prep Diploma requires 240 credits: Bible 40, English 40, mathematics 30 (through Algebra 2), social science 30, laboratory science 20, one world language 20, physical education 20, fine arts 10, speech and health 5 each, and academic electives 20, plus a cumulative academic GPA of 2.5. UC requires 15 year-long courses, all with a C or better, and recommends 4 years of mathematics and 3 years each of science and world language. The school requires only 3 years of mathematics, 2 years of science and 2 years of world language, so course planning should follow UC's recommended standard.
Can Irvine students change courses at Whittier Christian High School after school starts?
Yes, within time limits. Whittier Christian High School has one schedule change day in August (August 4 in 2026), plus the first three days of the first semester, during which students may change courses if they meet the prerequisites and the class has space. In the second semester, only minor adjustments are possible, with no change of teacher or rebuilding of the schedule. Courses may be dropped in weeks 3 to 12 of each semester, replaced only by study hall or a teacher assistant period, with no effect on GPA; a course dropped in weeks 13 to 18 is recorded as an F.
Can Irvine families have the student take courses outside school and record them on the Whittier Christian High School transcript?
Only under strict limits. Whittier Christian High School requires approval from the counseling staff for both outside acceleration and credit recovery, and recognizes only three providers: APEX Online Learning, UC Scout and the Mt. SAC credit recovery program. Community college courses count only as elective credit. The student handbook states that courses the school offers cannot be taken outside school for original credit; for example, all four years of English must be completed at the school.
May an Irvine student who speaks Chinese take Chinese at Whittier Christian High School?
No. The world language courses in the Whittier Christian High School 2026-27 Academic Catalog are limited to Spanish 1 through 4, AP Spanish Language and Culture, and American Sign Language I and II. French and German are still registered on the UC list, but the catalog does not list them. The school requires 2 years of one world language and UC recommends 3, so a student who speaks Chinese must choose between Spanish and American Sign Language.
What are the dual enrollment courses at Whittier Christian High School, as Irvine families want to know?
Whittier Christian High School offers dual enrollment courses with Azusa Pacific University, Vanguard University and Ohio Christian University. The courses are taught by the school's own teachers, and grades are recorded on the partner university's transcript. Each course costs $250 and earns 3 college credits on completion. In the 2026-27 school year the offerings are four business courses, two English courses (English 120 and English 230) and Life Calling. The business and English dual enrollment courses are weighted as honors courses at the school; English 230C is registered on the UC list as AP English Literature, and the others are not on the UC A-G course list.


