In shortWaldorf School Orange County (WSOC) is a private K-12 school in Costa Mesa, California, founded in 1988, serving grades K-12 with about 275 students. Tuition for 2026-27 is $20,390 to $30,670, or roughly $265,070 to $398,710 across all 13 years at today's rates. Entrance exam requirements are not published; contact admissions.

Applying to Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC)?

EDUBUS keeps the timeline and past cases for this school.

Private school planningBook a school consultation
Tuition$20,390– $30,670 · 2026-27
GradesK-12
Enrollment275students
Entrance examn/a
Location
2350 Canyon Dr., Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Founded
1988
Head of school
Sara Rodelo (Administrative Director, CDE)
Phone
(949) 574-7775
Official Website
www.waldorfschool.com

Waldorf School Orange County overview

Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC) is a private K-12 school in Costa Mesa, California, serving grades K-12, founded in 1988, with about 275 students. Tuition for 2026-27 is $20,390 to $30,670. The school has a religious affiliation, but states that religion classes and a statement of faith are not required, so families of any background may apply.

Waldorf School Orange County admissions

Waldorf School Orange County does not publish entrance exam requirements; contact admissions.

The school publishes the following application details. The How to Apply page on the school website describes a process that begins with a campus visit: attend a school tour or experience event, with sessions listed on the Events Calendar, then request an application form online. Applicants for Nursery, Pre-K and Kindergarten must first attend a mandatory Early Childhood Orientation Evening. Applications are accepted year-round, but those submitted before the application deadline are processed first, and later applicants are considered only if space remains. Taking part in Playgroup is helpful but is not a requirement for Pre-K. The admissions contact is Maureen McDermott at (949) 574-7775, extension 208. The school website does not publish entrance testing requirements or specific deadlines for grades K-12.

The website does not state an entrance test requirement, so ask the admissions office whether a test is needed, and which one, before you start preparing. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it.

Waldorf School Orange County tuition and fees

Waldorf School Orange County tuition for 2026-27 is $20,390 to $30,670.

2026-27 school year, paid-in-full rates (school website, Tuition and Fees page): kindergarten $20,390; grades 1-3 $23,895; grades 4-8 $24,925; high school $30,670. In the early childhood program, Nursery is $16,585 for four days and $19,475 for five days, and Pre-Kindergarten is $20,195. Tuition may be paid in 1, 2, 9 or 11 installments. The 9-payment monthly amounts are $2,266 for kindergarten, $2,655 for grades 1-3, $2,769 for grades 4-8 and $3,408 for high school; the 11-payment monthly amounts are $1,854 for kindergarten, $2,172 for grades 1-3, $2,266 for grades 4-8 and $2,788 for high school. The school website states that Supply and Activity Fees are included in tuition and are not charged separately, and that payment is accepted only by automatic debit, not by credit card.

Registration fee, nonrefundable and due at registration: $675 per year for new families; for returning families, $675 if they register before Registration Week and $1,350 afterward. Sibling discounts: 10% off for the first sibling and 15% off for each sibling after that; parents may also decline the discount and receive a tax-deductible donation receipt. Beyond tuition, the school asks every family to take part in Annual Giving and other fundraising, and to give time to festivals and school activities (school website, Tuition and Fees page).

Financial aid: The school runs its own Tuition Adjustment Program (TA), which adjusts tuition to a family’s financial circumstances. It requires the last two years of tax returns with all attachments, 12 months of statements for every bank and credit card account, and 6 months of pay stubs, with additional documents from self-employed applicants. The school website states that Pre-K and Kindergarten families are generally not eligible unless an older sibling has been enrolled for at least 12 months; that when all children are in grade 1 or above, both parents must be employed; that families receiving an adjustment must take part in Annual Giving and school activities; and that new families are generally not granted an adjustment, with exceptions requiring a written request to the TA Mandate Group. Two places on the school website give different application deadlines; see the note below.

Academics and programs at Waldorf School Orange County

Academics and programs described on the Waldorf School Orange County website include:

  • Main Lesson blocks: each morning from 8:45 to 10:30, or 8:15 to 10:15 in the high school, one uninterrupted stretch goes to a single subject theme, which runs for several weeks before a new theme begins. Students write and draw the material into a main lesson book they make themselves, and the lower grades use no prepared textbooks (school website, Grades 1-8 A Typical Day page, High School page)
  • Eurythmy: a movement art that translates poetry and music into bodily motion, scheduled as a regular class from grade 1 through high school (school website, Grades 1-8 Curriculum page, High School course list)
  • Handwork and woodwork: grade 1 begins with knitting and simple textiles, and the upper grades move into woodworking, instrument making, bookbinding, textiles and ceramics (school website, Grades 1-8 Curriculum page, High School visual and practical arts list)
  • Music is required: grade 1 plays the pentatonic flute, the middle and upper grades move into strings, wind ensemble or band, and the high school offers chorus, chamber music, piano master class and wind ensemble (school website, Grades 1-8 A Typical Day page, High School course list)
  • Spanish is the only world language offered, running from grade 1 through Spanish 4 in the high school; no Chinese course appears in the course lists on the school website (school website, Grades 1-8 Curriculum page, High School course list)
  • The high school offers no AP courses: the school website states “we do not offer AP classes” and uses an unweighted 4.0 grade point scale, returning to the core subjects each year through short main lesson blocks instead. Science emphasizes phenomenological observation, with the experiment first and the conclusions drawn by the students themselves, and English and history use original classic works and primary sources in place of standard textbooks (school website, High School page)

Schools near Waldorf School Orange County at the same level

These are the schools nearest to Waldorf School Orange County at the same level, with the basic facts each school publishes. Select a name to open that school’s admissions guide:

School Grades Tuition Entrance test Distance
Waldorf School Orange County K-12 $20,390 — —
Calvary Chapel Schools K-12 Not published — 3.2 mi
Newport Christian School K-12 $9,912 ISEE 4.4 mi
Liberty Christian School K-12 $8,525 On-campus assessment 5.0 mi
Bethel Baptist School K-12 $5,400 On-campus assessment 5.0 mi

Where Waldorf School Orange County students go next

Waldorf School Orange County publishes the following on where its graduates go.

The High School page on the school website states that the Class of 2025 had 15 graduates who together received about $3 million in merit-based college and university scholarships, and lists 245 colleges and universities that have admitted graduates over the years, each school listed only once. High school enrollment in the 2024-25 school year was 56 students: 15 in the Class of 2025, 14 in the Class of 2026, 10 in the Class of 2027 and 17 in the Class of 2028. The Class of 2023 had GPAs ranging from 3.27 to 4.0 on an unweighted 4.0 scale. The school website does not publish a year-by-year breakdown of where graduates actually enrolled.

Families planning to move to a different high school in grade 9 should plan backward from the target school’s entrance test and application deadline.

Total tuition through graduation at Waldorf School Orange County

Waldorf School Orange County tuition for 2026-27 is tiered by grade or program, from $20,390 to $30,670. Over 13 years covering grades K-12, total tuition falls between $265,070 and $398,710, depending on which tier each grade falls in; ask the school for its grade-by-grade tuition table. This uses current-year rates and excludes registration fees, deposits, uniforms and activity fees; the school sets tuition for later years annually.

Getting to Waldorf School Orange County from Irvine

These are straight-line distances to Waldorf School Orange County from neighborhoods where many Irvine families live. Actual drive times will be longer; time the drive once during school hours:

Neighborhood Straight-line distance
Woodbury 11.7 miles
Northwood 10.6 miles
Turtle Rock 7.5 miles
Portola Springs 13.4 miles

The website does not describe bus service; confirm this during your visit.

Questions to ask on a Waldorf School Orange County campus visit

When you visit Waldorf School Orange County, confirm these points with the admissions office:

  • Financial aid deadline — two places on the school website disagree. The Tuition and Fees page says Tuition Adjustment applications for this year are due in March 2026, for the school year ending in June 2027, while the Tuiti…
  • Entrance testing — the How to Apply page on the school website says only to visit first and then request an application form, and that Nursery, Pre-K and Kindergarten applicants must attend an Early Childhood Orientati…
  • F-1 students — the school website shows no information about the I-20 or F-1. The International Students & Exchange page covers arrangements for exchange students and short-term visitors and requires applicants to …
  • Average class size — the school website gives figures only for the early childhood program - Pre-Kindergarten classes of 13 with one lead teacher and one assistant, and Kindergarten classes of 18 with one lead teacher an…
  • Registration, technology, uniform and activity fees beyond tuition

How EDUBUS helps families applying to Waldorf School Orange County

EDUBUS counselors in Irvine work in both Chinese and English with families applying to Waldorf School Orange County. We track Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC)’s admissions calendar, prepare students for the campus visit and interview, and review application materials before they are submitted. Book a school-selection consultation or read the Chinese version of this page.

Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC): Frequently Asked Questions

What test does Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC) require?

Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC) does not publish entrance exam requirements; contact admissions.

Does Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC) accept F-1 international students?

Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC)'s website does not state an F-1 policy; confirm with the admissions office.

How much is tuition at Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC) for 2026-27, and is aid available?

Tuition at Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC) is $20,390 to $30,670 for 2026-27. The school runs its own Tuition Adjustment Program (TA), which adjusts tuition to a family's financial circumstances. It requires the last two years of tax returns with all attachments, 12 months of statements for every bank and credit card account, and 6 months of pay stubs, with additional documents from self-employed applicants. The school website states that Pre-K and Kindergarten families are generally not eligible unless an older sibling has been enrolled for at least 12 months; that when all children are in grade 1 or above, both parents must be employed; that families receiving an adjustment must take part in Annual Giving and school activities; and that new families are generally not granted an adjustment, with exceptions requiring a written request to the TA Mandate Group. Two places on the school website give different application deadlines; see the note below.

When should an Irvine family start preparing for Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC)?

Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC)'s website does not state an entrance test requirement, so ask the admissions office whether a test is needed, and which one, before you start preparing. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it. EDUBUS advises Irvine families from its Irvine office and works back from Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC)'s timeline for application and interview preparation. Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC) is in Costa Mesa; families driving from Irvine should time the commute during school hours on their visit day.

Sources18 sources

Compiled from the official Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC) website and public filings. Tuition and deadlines follow the school's current notice.

  1. waldorfschool.com
  2. waldorfschool.com/about
  3. waldorfschool.com/about/history-of-wsoc
  4. waldorfschool.com/accreditation
  5. waldorfschool.com/admissions/waldorf-school-tuition-and-fees
  6. waldorfschool.com/admissions/wsoc-tuition-adjustment-program
  7. waldorfschool.com/admissions/how-to-apply
  8. waldorfschool.com/admissions/grades-1-8
  9. waldorfschool.com/academics/grades-1-8
  10. waldorfschool.com/academics/nursery-pre-k-kindergarten
  11. waldorfschool.com/admissions/orange-county-high-school
  12. waldorfschool.com/administration
  13. cde.ca.gov/schooldirectory/details?cdscode=30665977038680
  14. cde.ca.gov/ds/si/ps
  15. geocoding.geo.census.gov/geocoder/locations/onelineaddress
  16. waldorfschool.com/admissions-old/waldorf-school-exchange-program
  17. waldorfschool.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/Parent-Handbook-2025-2026-Grades-1-8.pdf
  18. WeIrvine: community and commute notes for this school