In shortThe Open School is an independent (non-sectarian) private K-12 school in Santa Ana, California, founded in 2017, serving grades 1-12 with about 59 students. Tuition for the current year is $6,900 to $23,000, or roughly $82,800 to $276,000 across all 12 years at today's rates. No entrance exam is required.

Applying to The Open School?

EDUBUS keeps the timeline and past cases for this school.

How no-test admissions workBook a school consultation
Tuition$6,900– $23,000 ·
Grades1-12
Enrollment59students
Entrance examNone
Location
2626 N. Grand Ave, Santa Ana, CA 92705 (the address on file with the California Department of Education is 2625 N. Tustin Ave, Santa Ana, CA 92705)
Founded
2017
Affiliation
independent (non-sectarian)
Head of school
Cassi Clausen, Executive Director
Phone
(714) 326-9736
Official Website
openschooloc.com

The Open School overview

The Open School is an independent, non-sectarian private K-12 school in Santa Ana, California, serving grades 1-12, founded in 2017, with about 59 students. Tuition for the current year is $6,900 to $23,000.

The Open School admissions

The Open School does not require an entrance exam.

The school publishes the following application details. The admission process listed on the school website includes no written test or academic assessment at all: (1) submit an Admissions Inquiry; (2) the school gets in touch and schedules a visit, a video tour for the online program, and the school website asks that all guardians attend, including any non-custodial parent; (3) after the visit, submit the application with the application fee to join the queue; (4) attend an Admissions Interview, which all guardians and the student must attend; (5) once both sides agree, complete the indexed tuition application, attend an Enrollment Meeting, sign the contract, pay the first installment, and arrange the balance. One or two check-in meetings follow within the first month of enrollment. The school admits students ages 5 to 19, and a child may enroll if they turn 5 during the term; first-time applicants over 16 are considered case by case (school website, In-Person Admissions & Tuition page)

This school does not require an entrance test; preparation centers on the transcript, recommendations and interview. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it.

The Open School tuition and fees

The Open School tuition for the current year is $6,900 to $23,000.

The school uses indexed tuition. For the Orange County in-person program, the range runs from a low of $6,900 to a high of $23,000, set individually according to each family’s finances, and the school website says additional assistance may be available (school website, In-Person Admissions & Tuition page). The page does not state which school year these prices apply to. Beyond tuition there is a mandatory school bond: all in-person families, as well as any family living within 30 miles of the campus, must take part in the student bond program, subscribing in units of $5,000 for a 5-year or 10-year term, refunded in full when the student graduates (school website, In-Person Admissions page, Welcome to Our New Home page)

An application fee is due when the application is submitted after the visit; the school website does not list the amount. The first payment is due at the enrollment meeting, where the balance is also scheduled. California families can receive about $3,000 a year in education funding through either of two homeschool charter programs, Epic Charter School or Taylion Charter School, and apply it toward tuition (school website, In-Person Admissions page, State-Based Funding Sources page)

Financial aid: Indexed tuition is itself the aid mechanism, set between $6,900 and $23,000 according to family circumstances. The school website also says additional assistance may be available but does not explain through what channel. It further points to roughly $3,000 per year in state funding through the Epic or Taylion homeschool charters (school website, In-Person Admissions page, State-Based Funding Sources page)

Academics and programs at The Open School

Academics and programs described on the The Open School website include:

  • Self-directed learning and democratic governance: there are no required classes, no homework, and no tests, and students take part in governing the school and in its financial decisions (school website, Our Philosophy page, FAQ page)
  • Most of the day is free play: students manage their own time and use the school’s art supplies, instruments, kitchen equipment, computers, sports equipment, and other resources (school website, In-Person Program page)
  • Planned activities are entirely voluntary: art, cooking, academic classes, group games, workshops, science experiments, athletics, and more. Students can drop proposals in an idea box or ask an adult in the community to teach a class, and the school website states plainly that some students sign up for none of them (school website, In-Person Program page)
  • An off-campus outing every one to two weeks, with destinations chosen around student interests, including parks, zoos, museums, beaches, and skating rinks, and occasionally an overnight camping trip; attendance is always voluntary (school website, In-Person Program page)
  • Community building: all-school meals, prepared and served by students, and three hours of Community Hours each day during which everyone puts away personal electronics (school website, In-Person Program page)
  • No grade levels and all ages mixed together: the school website says mixed ages let younger students learn from older ones and help teenagers be more relaxed and open (school website, FAQ page)

Schools near The Open School at the same level

These are the schools nearest to The Open School at the same level, with the basic facts each school publishes. Select a name to open that school’s admissions guide:

School Grades Tuition Entrance test Distance
The Open School 1-12 $6,900 None —
Adelphia Classical Christian Academy K-12 Not published On-campus assessment 0.6 mi
Orangewood Academy K-12 $8,087 — 3.4 mi
Anaheim Discovery Christian School K-12 $10,490 On-campus assessment 5.2 mi
Bethel Baptist School K-12 $5,400 On-campus assessment 5.6 mi

Where The Open School students go next

The Open School publishes the following on where its graduates go.

The school website FAQ page states that “The Open School is too new to have enough graduates to adequately answer this question.” The Graduates page lists, by class, the names of the 2024, 2025, and 2026 graduates and the program each attended, in-person or online, with links to their own statements, but it does not name the colleges they entered. The roughly 80% college attendance rate cited in the FAQ is data from Sudbury Valley School, the model this school is based on, not from The Open School.

Families planning to move to a different high school in grade 9 should plan backward from the target school’s entrance test and application deadline.

Total tuition through graduation at The Open School

The Open School tuition for current is tiered by grade or program, from $6,900 to $23,000. Over 12 years covering grades 1-12, total tuition falls between $82,800 and $276,000, depending on which tier each grade falls in; ask the school for its grade-by-grade tuition table. This uses current-year rates and excludes registration fees, deposits, uniforms and activity fees; the school sets tuition for later years annually.

Getting to The Open School from Irvine

These are straight-line distances to The Open School from neighborhoods where many Irvine families live. Actual drive times will be longer; time the drive once during school hours:

Neighborhood Straight-line distance
Woodbury 8.0 miles
Northwood 6.6 miles
Turtle Rock 9.7 miles
Portola Springs 9.3 miles

The website does not describe bus service; confirm this during your visit.

Questions to ask on a The Open School campus visit

When you visit The Open School, confirm these points with the admissions office:

  • Tuition year — the school website In-Person Admissions & Tuition page gives the $6,900-$23,000 range without stating anywhere on the page which school year it applies to. No inference is made and no placeholder is …
  • Age range, stated inconsistently on the school website — the Admissions & Tuition page says “The Open School serves students between the ages of 5 and 19,” while the home page and both the In-Person and Virtual program cards say “Ages 5–18.” This entry use…
  • Application fee — the school website says only to submit the application with the application fee and does not list the amount. It also does not state the minimum number of bond units required, or whether a single $5,…
  • Year opened — the school website has no founding-year page, so this listing uses the opening date on file with the California Department of Education, February 22, 2017
  • Registration, technology, uniform and activity fees beyond tuition

How EDUBUS helps families applying to The Open School

EDUBUS counselors in Irvine work in both Chinese and English with families applying to The Open School. We track The Open School’s admissions calendar, prepare students for the campus visit and interview, and review application materials before they are submitted. Book a school-selection consultation or read the Chinese version of this page.

The Open School: Frequently Asked Questions

What test does The Open School require?

The Open School does not require an entrance exam.

Does The Open School accept F-1 international students?

The Open School's website does not state an F-1 policy; confirm with the admissions office.

How much is tuition at The Open School, and is aid available?

Tuition at The Open School is $6,900 to $23,000 for the current year. Indexed tuition is itself the aid mechanism, set between $6,900 and $23,000 according to family circumstances. The school website also says additional assistance may be available but does not explain through what channel. It further points to roughly $3,000 per year in state funding through the Epic or Taylion homeschool charters (school website, In-Person Admissions page, State-Based Funding Sources page)

When should an Irvine family start preparing for The Open School?

The Open School does not require an entrance test; preparation centers on the transcript, recommendations and interview. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it. EDUBUS advises Irvine families from its Irvine office and works back from The Open School's timeline for application and interview preparation. The Open School is in Santa Ana; families driving from Irvine should time the commute during school hours on their visit day.

Sources10 sources · checked 2026-09-08

Compiled from the official The Open School website and public filings. Tuition and deadlines follow the school's current notice.

  1. openschooloc.com
  2. openschooloc.com/about
  3. openschooloc.com/in-person-program
  4. openschooloc.com/in-person-admissions
  5. openschooloc.com/faq
  6. openschooloc.com/graduates
  7. openschooloc.com/welcome-to-our-new-home
  8. openschooloc.com/state-based-funding-sources
  9. cde.ca.gov/schooldirectory/details?cdscode=30666216152474
  10. WeIrvine: community and commute notes for this school