In shortOrangewood Academy is a Christian private K-12 school in Garden Grove, California, founded in 1956, serving grades K-12 with about 96 students. Tuition for 2026-27 is $8,087 to $15,800, or roughly $105,131 to $205,400 across all 13 years at today's rates. Entrance exam requirements are not published; contact admissions.
- Location
- 13732 Clinton Street, Garden Grove, CA 92843
- Founded
- 1956
- Affiliation
- Christian
- Head of school
- Zaidy Olivarria (Principal, Faculty & Staff Administration, How To Apply)
- Accepts F-1
- Yes
- Phone
- 714-534-4694
- Official Website
- orangewoodacademy.com
Orangewood Academy overview
Orangewood Academy is a Christian private K-12 school in Garden Grove, California, serving grades K-12, founded in 1956, with about 96 students. Tuition for 2026-27 is $8,087 to $15,800. Religion classes are required, so confirm your family is comfortable with that before applying. The school offers 10 AP courses. The school accepts F-1 international students and issues the I-20 needed for a student visa.
Orangewood Academy admissions
Orangewood Academy does not publish entrance exam requirements; contact admissions.
The school publishes the following application details. The school website’s How To Apply page lists four steps: (1) submit an inquiry and the required materials online; (2) interview with principal Zaidy Olivarria; (3) the admissions committee reviews the file and notifies the family of the result; (4) after admission, complete registration and pay the tuition deposit. The school website does not list an application opening date or deadline. International students (International Students page) must also submit a copy of the passport, two letters of recommendation, transcripts from the past two years, official grade 9-12 transcripts and standardized test scores from the past two years, and must meet an English requirement: grades 7-8, iTEP SLATE Plus 2.0; grade 9, 3.2 or TOEFL iBT 50; grade 10, 3.4 or 55; grade 11, 3.5 or 60; grade 12, 3.6 or 65. Interviews are normally held in person, and Zoom may be used.
The website does not state an entrance test requirement, so ask the admissions office whether a test is needed, and which one, before you start preparing. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it.
Orangewood Academy tuition and fees
Orangewood Academy tuition for 2026-27 is $8,087 to $15,800.
The school website’s Tuition & Financial Aid page sets rates by division in two columns, a standard rate and an “SDA Rate” for baptized Seventh-day Adventist member families, which is subsidized by the church. Standard rate: grades K-4 $9,267, grades 5-6 $9,370, grades 7-8 $12,786, grades 9-10 $15,765, grades 11-12 $15,800. SDA member rate: grades K-4 $8,087, grades 5-6 $8,190, grades 7-8 $11,146, grades 9-10 $14,341, grades 11-12 $14,351. Both rates carry an additional nonrefundable registration fee of $300 (school website, Tuition & Financial Aid page)
The registration fee is $300, nonrefundable, and is charged at both the member and non-member rates. The school website also gives the amount of each of 11 installments: at the standard rate, K-4 $845, grades 5-6 $885, grades 7-8 $1,165, grades 9-10 $1,436 and grades 11-12 $1,440 per installment; at the SDA member rate, the corresponding amounts are $738, $748, $1,018, $1,309 and $1,310. International students, meaning those without a US birth certificate or proof of citizenship, pay a separate set of rates: grades K-6 $17,635, grades 7-8 $21,580, grades 9-12 $25,515, plus a nonrefundable $800 I-20 processing fee and the $300 registration fee, and the full amount is due in one payment after admission, by cash, check, wire transfer or credit card (school website, Tuition & Financial Aid page and International Students page)
Financial aid: The school website’s Tuition & Financial Aid page has a financial aid application portal with a Financial Aid Policy, Financial Aid Instructions and an application guide (also available in Spanish), and the page notes that financial aid applications for the 2026-2027 school year are now open. The school website does not publish the share of students receiving aid or the range of awards
Academics and programs at Orangewood Academy
Academics and programs described on the Orangewood Academy website include:
- AP courses rotate, and the school website lists 10: AP Spanish Language & Culture, AP U.S. Government and Politics, AP World History, AP U.S. History, AP Statistics, AP Biology, AP Human Geography, AP English Literature & Composition, AP English Language & Composition, and AP Art & Design (2D and Drawing); a college-level Anatomy course is also offered (school website, High School page)
- The school website states that all students take AP courses in history and English and that every graduate completes at least 4 AP courses (school website, High School page)
- Academic support system: Mathspace for personalized math, IXL for reinforcement, Google Classroom, MAP Growth testing three times a year, and individual tutoring (school website, High School page)
- The elementary curriculum uses Wonders Reading, Big Ideas Math, McGraw Hill, Saxon Phonics, A Reason For Spelling and Handwriting, and Encounter Bible; grades 5-6 use Mathspace (school website, Elementary School page)
- Elementary music is divided by grade: handbells in K-2, recorder in grades 3-4 and guitar in grades 5-6, along with physical education and STEAM activities (school website, Elementary School page)
- Student life: ASB student government, National Honor Society, monthly field trips, overnight academic and spiritual retreats, and community service learning (school website, High School page)
Schools near Orangewood Academy at the same level
These are the schools nearest to Orangewood Academy at the same level, with the basic facts each school publishes. Select a name to open that school’s admissions guide:
| School | Grades | Tuition | Entrance test | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orangewood Academy | K-12 | $8,087 | — | — |
| Bethel Baptist School | K-12 | $5,400 | On-campus assessment | 2.6 mi |
| Orange Crescent School | K-12 | $10,900 | On-campus assessment | 2.8 mi |
| The Open School | 1-12 | $6,900 | None | 3.4 mi |
| Adelphia Classical Christian Academy | K-12 | Not published | On-campus assessment | 4.0 mi |
Where Orangewood Academy students go next
Orangewood Academy publishes the following on where its graduates go.
The school website’s High School page lists colleges graduates have attended, including Seventh-day Adventist institutions such as La Sierra University, Oakwood University, Southern Adventist University, Pacific Union College, Walla Walla University and Andrews University, as well as UCLA, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC Berkeley, UC San Diego, Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Long Beach, Boston University, University of Hawaii, Penn State, Pepperdine, Point Loma Nazarene and Dominican University of California. Alumni have gone on to graduate programs including the Loma Linda University schools of medicine, dentistry and public health, the UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine, the UCSF School of Medicine, and Southwestern Law School.
Families planning to move to a different high school in grade 9 should plan backward from the target school’s entrance test and application deadline.
Total tuition through graduation at Orangewood Academy
Orangewood Academy tuition for 2026-27 is tiered by grade or program, from $8,087 to $15,800. Over 13 years covering grades K-12, total tuition falls between $105,131 and $205,400, depending on which tier each grade falls in; ask the school for its grade-by-grade tuition table. This uses current-year rates and excludes registration fees, deposits, uniforms and activity fees; the school sets tuition for later years annually.
Getting to Orangewood Academy from Irvine
These are straight-line distances to Orangewood Academy from neighborhoods where many Irvine families live. Actual drive times will be longer; time the drive once during school hours:
| Neighborhood | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|
| Woodbury | 10.6 miles |
| Northwood | 9.2 miles |
| Turtle Rock | 10.4 miles |
| Portola Springs | 12.1 miles |
The website does not describe bus service; confirm this during your visit.
Questions to ask on a Orangewood Academy campus visit
When you visit Orangewood Academy, confirm these points with the admissions office:
- Tuition year — the tuition table on the school website’s Tuition & Financial Aid page is not itself labeled with a school year; the financial aid announcement on the same page reads “2026-2027 School Year Financial…
- Enrollment — the About Us, Academics and Admissions pages on the school website do not publish enrollment, so this page uses the CDE 2025-26 filing of 96 students
- Average class size — the school website publishes neither an average class size nor a student-teacher ratio; the High School page says only “small-school environment”
- Founding year — the school website’s About Us page says the school opened at its current Garden Grove site in 1956 and became a full secondary school in 1961, with roots going back further to an 1896 church school i…
- Registration, technology, uniform and activity fees beyond tuition
How EDUBUS helps families applying to Orangewood Academy
EDUBUS counselors in Irvine work in both Chinese and English with families applying to Orangewood Academy. We track Orangewood Academy’s admissions calendar, prepare students for the campus visit and interview, and review application materials before they are submitted. Book a school-selection consultation or read the Chinese version of this page.
Orangewood Academy: Frequently Asked Questions
What test does Orangewood Academy require?
Orangewood Academy does not publish entrance exam requirements; contact admissions.
Does Orangewood Academy accept F-1 international students?
Yes. Orangewood Academy issues I-20s; international applicants also submit English proficiency and financial documents.
How much is tuition at Orangewood Academy for 2026-27, and is aid available?
Tuition at Orangewood Academy is $8,087 to $15,800 for 2026-27. The school website's Tuition & Financial Aid page has a financial aid application portal with a Financial Aid Policy, Financial Aid Instructions and an application guide (also available in Spanish), and the page notes that financial aid applications for the 2026-2027 school year are now open. The school website does not publish the share of students receiving aid or the range of awards
When should an Irvine family start preparing for Orangewood Academy?
Orangewood Academy's website does not state an entrance test requirement, so ask the admissions office whether a test is needed, and which one, before you start preparing. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it. EDUBUS advises Irvine families from its Irvine office and works back from Orangewood Academy's timeline for application and interview preparation. Orangewood Academy is in Garden Grove; families driving from Irvine should time the commute during school hours on their visit day.
Sources16 sources
Compiled from the official Orangewood Academy website and public filings. Tuition and deadlines follow the school's current notice.
- orangewoodacademy.com
- orangewoodacademy.com/about-us
- orangewoodacademy.com/about-us/faculty-staff
- orangewoodacademy.com/about-us/our-churches
- orangewoodacademy.com/admissions
- orangewoodacademy.com/admissions/how-to-apply
- orangewoodacademy.com/admissions
- orangewoodacademy.com/admissions/international-students
- orangewoodacademy.com/academics
- orangewoodacademy.com/academics/elementary-school
- orangewoodacademy.com/academics/junior-high
- orangewoodacademy.com/academics/high-school
- orangewoodacademy.com/parents/school-calendar
- cde.ca.gov/schooldirectory/details?cdscode=30665226937346
- nominatim.openstreetmap.org/search?q=13732+Clinton+Street,+Garden+Grove,+CA+92843
- WeIrvine: community and commute notes for this school








