In shortSaints Simon & Jude Catholic School is a Catholic private K-8 school in Huntington Beach, California, founded in 1967, serving grades K-8 with about 252 students. Tuition for 2026-27 is $9,900 to $10,700, or roughly $89,100 to $96,300 across all 9 years at today's rates. Entrance exam requirements are not published; contact admissions.
- Location
- 20400 Magnolia Street, Huntington Beach, CA 92646
- Founded
- 1967
- Affiliation
- Catholic
- Head of school
- Brett Minter (Principal, Principal's Message)
- Phone
- (714) 962-4451
- Official Website
- ssjschool.org
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School overview
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School is a Catholic private K-8 school in Huntington Beach, California, serving grades K-8, founded in 1967, with about 252 students. Tuition for 2026-27 is $9,900 to $10,700. Religion classes are required, so confirm your family is comfortable with that before applying.
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School admissions
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School does not publish entrance exam requirements; contact admissions.
The school publishes the following application details. The home page of the school website states that admission for the 2026-2027 school year is open and that families may start by filling out the Inquire form and scheduling a tour. As of verification, the /admissions/ directory page on the school website returned a 404 and the Apply Today and Request Info links would not open, so the application deadline and whether entrance assessment and an interview are required cannot be verified from the school website; families need to contact the school office directly.
The website does not state an entrance test requirement, so ask the admissions office whether a test is needed, and which one, before you start preparing. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it.
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School tuition and fees
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School tuition for 2026-27 is $9,900 to $10,700.
Annual fees per student for the 2026-2027 school year: $9,900 for Catholic families and $10,700 for non-Catholic families, with a 10% discount from the third child on. There is also a mandatory Annual School Giving of $950 per family, posted to the FACTS account in July 2026 and payable by May 1, 2027 (school website, Tuition & Fees page).
Application fee $55 per new student; registration fee $400 per student for new students or before 3/15, rising to $600 from 3/16, nonrefundable; technology fee $30 for grades 1-2 and $60 for grades 3-8; grade 8 graduation fee $300; athletics $150 per student per season. After-school StayCare is billed separately: mornings 6:30-7:30 cost $16 an hour or $80 a week for one child and $120 a week for the whole family; afternoons from 3 to 6 p.m. carry a $35 registration fee and cost $16 an hour or $165 a week per student. All fees run through the FACTS account (school website, Tuition & Fees page). The school website does not publish the price difference for installment plans or rates for international students.
Financial aid: The school sets aside about $75,000 in financial aid each year, with awards ranging from 5% to 50% of tuition, assessed according to family need and applied for through FACTS Grant & Aid Assessment with supporting documentation (school website, Tuition Assistance page).
Academics and programs at Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School
Academics and programs described on the Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School website include:
- Spanish: taught with the IES (International Education System) six-step method, with 95% of the class conducted in Spanish (school website, Curriculum page)
- Tiered middle school math: qualifying students may take compacted math and algebra along with geometry, and grade 8 also has High School Placement Test preparation (school website, Curriculum page)
- A structured music curriculum: Feierabend’s First Steps in Music in K-2, conversational solfege in grades 3-5, recorder and Orff percussion in grade 3, and ukulele in grades 4 and 5 (school website, Curriculum page)
- Middle school electives: Yearbook & Media, Choir and Chimes, classical guitar and Lego Robotics, which uses LEGO MINDSTORMS EV3 to teach programming (school website, Curriculum page)
- Innovation Lab: an engineering exploration course in which students build, compare, innovate and make (school website, Curriculum page)
- Grade-level trips: grade 6 Science Camp in the Big Bear area, grade 7 Catalina, and the grade 8 Washington, DC Mission Trip; costs are billed separately by trip (school website, Curriculum page and Tuition & Fees page)
Schools near Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School at the same level
These are the schools nearest to Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School at the same level, with the basic facts each school publishes. Select a name to open that school’s admissions guide:
| School | Grades | Tuition | Entrance test | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School | K-8 | $9,900 | — | — |
| Huntington Christian School | K-8 | $11,616 | On-campus assessment | 0.8 mi |
| The Pegasus School | K-8 | $33,550 | ISEE | 1.5 mi |
| Christ Lutheran School | K-8 | $8,652 | On-campus assessment | 2.5 mi |
| Page Academy — Costa Mesa Campus | K-8 | $18,920 | — | 2.8 mi |
Total tuition through graduation at Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School tuition for 2026-27 is tiered by grade or program, from $9,900 to $10,700. Over 9 years covering grades K-8, total tuition falls between $89,100 and $96,300, depending on which tier each grade falls in; ask the school for its grade-by-grade tuition table. This uses current-year rates and excludes registration fees, deposits, uniforms and activity fees; the school sets tuition for later years annually.
Getting to Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School from Irvine
These are straight-line distances to Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School from neighborhoods where many Irvine families live. Actual drive times will be longer; time the drive once during school hours:
| Neighborhood | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|
| Woodbury | 13.3 miles |
| Northwood | 12.1 miles |
| Turtle Rock | 9.3 miles |
| Portola Springs | 15.0 miles |
The website does not describe bus service; confirm this during your visit.
Questions to ask on a Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School campus visit
When you visit Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School, confirm these points with the admissions office:
- entranceExam = null, and admissionsNote has no deadline — the /admissions/ directory page on the school website returns a 404, and the Apply Today and Request Info links likewise will not open, with repeated attempts returning 403 or 404; neither page appea…
- enrollment uses the CDE 2025-26 filing figure of 252 — the About, Choosing Our School and Accreditation pages on the school website do not publish an enrollment count
- avgClassSize = null — the school website does not publish class sizes or a student-teacher ratio
- acceptsF1 = null — the school website has no information on international students or I-20s
- Registration, technology, uniform and activity fees beyond tuition
How EDUBUS helps families applying to Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School
EDUBUS counselors in Irvine work in both Chinese and English with families applying to Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School. We track Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School’s admissions calendar, prepare students for the campus visit and interview, and review application materials before they are submitted. Book a school-selection consultation or read the Chinese version of this page.
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School: Frequently Asked Questions
What test does Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School require?
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School does not publish entrance exam requirements; contact admissions.
Does Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School accept F-1 international students?
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School's website does not state an F-1 policy; confirm with the admissions office.
How much is tuition at Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School for 2026-27, and is aid available?
Tuition at Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School is $9,900 to $10,700 for 2026-27. The school sets aside about $75,000 in financial aid each year, with awards ranging from 5% to 50% of tuition, assessed according to family need and applied for through FACTS Grant & Aid Assessment with supporting documentation (school website, Tuition Assistance page).
When should an Irvine family start preparing for Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School?
Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School's website does not state an entrance test requirement, so ask the admissions office whether a test is needed, and which one, before you start preparing. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it. EDUBUS advises Irvine families from its Irvine office and works back from Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School's timeline for application and interview preparation. Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School is in Huntington Beach; families driving from Irvine should time the commute during school hours on their visit day.
Sources15 sources · checked 2026-09-08
Compiled from the official Saints Simon & Jude Catholic School website and public filings. Tuition and deadlines follow the school's current notice.
- ssjschool.org
- ssjschool.org/tuition-fees
- ssjschool.org/tuition-assistance
- ssjschool.org/about
- ssjschool.org/about/history
- ssjschool.org/about/choosing-our-school
- ssjschool.org/principals-message
- ssjschool.org/accreditation
- ssjschool.org/curriculum
- ssjschool.org/mass
- ssjschool.org/student-life/catholic-identity
- ssjschool.org/contacts
- acswasc.org/wp-content/uploads/Directory/ACS-WASC_Directory.pdf
- ssjschool.org/academics/curriculum
- WeIrvine: community and commute notes for this school








