In short: Hebrew Academy Community Day School is a Jewish K-12 school in Huntington Beach, California, serving grades K-12 with about 182 students. Tuition for 2026-27 is $17,895 to $22,220, or roughly $232,635 across all 13 years at today's rate. Entrance exam requirements are not published; contact admissions.
- Location
- 14401 Willow Lane
- Affiliation
- Jewish
- Head of school
- Rabbi Yitzchok Newman, Head of School
- Phone
- (714) 898-0051
- Official Website
- www.hacds.org
Overview
Hebrew Academy Community Day School is a Jewish K-12 private school in Huntington Beach, California, serving grades K-12, with about 182 students. Tuition for 2026-27 is $17,895 to $22,220, which puts it in the upper range among Orange County private schools at this level. Religion classes are required, so confirm your family is comfortable with that before applying. Bus service is available, covering Irvine, Long Beach, Yorba Linda.
Admissions
Entrance exam requirements are not published; contact admissions.
The school publishes the following application details. The school website Admissions and Apply Now pages provide separate entry points by division: preschool/TK, kindergarten, Lower School, Middle School, and High School. Families can schedule a visit or submit an inquiry first and then apply online. The school website does not list application opening or closing dates for a specific school year, nor any interview or entrance testing requirements.
The main entry points at a K-12 school are kindergarten, grade 6 and grade 9; seats in other grades open only when a family leaves. Plan on a 12-month runway: visit in the fall, submit materials and test in the winter, and receive decisions in the spring. Applications for mid-year grades can be filed at any time, but availability depends on that year’s openings.
Tuition and fees
Annual tuition for the 2026-2027 school year: kindergarten $17,895; grade 1 $18,895; grades 2-5 $20,380; grades 6-8 $21,480; grades 9-12 $22,220. (school website, Fee Schedule page)
The registration fee is $1,100, or $850 if paid by the priority registration deadline. Three ways to pay: in full on August 1; in three installments (August 1, December 1, and April 1); or in 10 monthly installments from August through the following May, by post-dated check or credit card. Preschool tuition is charged separately and is not listed on this page of the school website. International student tuition is not published on the school website.
Financial aid: The school’s own HACDS Flexible Financial Aid program; the school website says the school awards more than $1.5 million in grants and scholarships each year. Families may also apply for the Jewish Education Initiative New Student Grant and for scholarships from Jewish Long Beach. The school website does not publish the application platform, deadlines, or award ranges, and directs families to the admissions director or the Registrar’s Office. (school website, HACDS Flexible Financial Aid and Affordability pages)
Academics and programs
- A dual curriculum of General Studies and Judaic Studies, which the school website calls Integrated Judaic Studies in grades K-8 (school website, Grades K-8 page)
- The high school division, Bais Rochel Leah High School (BRLHS, established in 1975), offers coursework approved by the University of California (a-g) and Advanced Placement (AP) courses (school website, About page)
- BRLHS maintains a dormitory in Long Beach for students who need to board (school website, About page)
- The BRLHS Bnos Program: older student leaders serve as mentors and organize farbrengens, Shabbatons, Rosh Chodesh events, and similar gatherings (school website, Bnos Program page)
- Grades K-8 use English language arts and math materials the school website describes as “award-winning,” and the school has a STEAM lab (school website, Grades K-8 page)
- The school sits on the 11-acre Norton and Sylvia Alevy campus, with extracurricular activities and athletics programs (school website, Grades K-8 page)
How this school compares
These are the nearest schools at the same level and a comparable price. Select a name to open that school’s admissions guide:
| School | City | Grades | Tuition | Entrance test | Class size | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hebrew Academy Community Day School | Huntington Beach | K-12 | $17,895 | — | — | — |
| Orange Crescent School | Garden Grove | K-12 | $10,900 | On-campus assessment | — | 3.5 mi |
| Liberty Christian School | Huntington Beach | K-12 | $8,525 | On-campus assessment | 16 | 2.9 mi |
| Bethel Baptist School | Santa Ana | K-12 | $5,400 | On-campus assessment | — | 4.9 mi |
| Waldorf School Orange County (WSOC) | Costa Mesa | K-12 | $20,390 | — | — | 7.9 mi |
Total tuition through graduation
At the 2026-27 rate of $17,895, 13 years covering grades K-12 come to roughly $232,635 in tuition alone. Assuming the 4% annual increase common at private schools, the figure is closer to $298,000. Neither number includes registration fees, deposits, uniforms or activity fees. A California 529 plan can cover up to $10,000 per child per year of K-12 tuition.
Getting there from Irvine
These are straight-line distances from neighborhoods where many Irvine families live. Actual drive times will be longer, and a morning rush-hour trip typically takes 1.5 to 2 times as long as an off-peak one:
| Neighborhood | Straight-line distance |
|---|---|
| Woodbury | 16.3 miles |
| Northwood | 13.4 miles |
| Turtle Rock | 14.3 miles |
| Portola Springs | 18.5 miles |
The school runs bus service, covering Irvine, Long Beach, Yorba Linda.
Questions to ask on a campus visit
- Year opened — the school website WELCOME page says only “For over fifty years,” and the Discover Hebrew Academy page has a “50 Years 50 Stories” feature, but neither gives a founding year. The 1975 date for Bais R…
- Enrollment — the school website WELCOME, Discover Hebrew Academy, and Grades K-8 pages contain no enrollment figure, so the CDE filing figure of 182 is used; the CDE page does not state which school year it covers
- Whether the high school is single-sex — none of the three High School pages (About, Academics, and Bnos Program) contains a sentence describing which students it admits by gender, so this could not be verified and no claim is made
- Daily schedule detail behind the religious requirements — the school website Grades K-8 page describes only the “Integrated Judaic Studies” curriculum along with STEAM and social-emotional learning, and says nothing about daily prayer times, early Friday di…
- Registration, technology, uniform and activity fees beyond tuition
How EDUBUS helps
Our Irvine-based counselors work in both Chinese and English. We track Hebrew Academy Community Day School’s admissions calendar, prepare students for the campus visit and interview, and review application materials before they are submitted. Book a school-selection consultation or read the Chinese version of this page.
Frequently Asked Questions
What test does Hebrew Academy Community Day School require?
Entrance exam requirements are not published; contact admissions.
Does the school accept F-1 international students?
The website does not state an F-1 policy; confirm with the admissions office.
How much is tuition and is aid available?
$17,895 to $22,220 for 2026-27. The school's own HACDS Flexible Financial Aid program; the school website says the school awards more than $1.5 million in grants and scholarships each year. Families may also apply for the Jewish Education Initiative New Student Grant and for scholarships from Jewish Long Beach. The school website does not publish the application platform, deadlines, or award ranges, and directs families to the admissions director or the Registrar's Office. (school website, HACDS Flexible Financial Aid and Affordability pages)
When should an Irvine family start preparing?
For K-8 entry points (usually kindergarten and grade 6), start 12 months ahead: visit in the fall, test and submit in winter. EDUBUS advises Irvine families from its Irvine office and works back from this school's timeline for ISEE, SSAT, and interview prep. Families driving from Irvine should time the Huntington Beach commute during school hours on their visit day.
Sources
Pages checked (19)
- www.hacds.org/
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/479071/jewish/WELCOME.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/5930360/jewish/Discover-Hebrew-Academ
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/6742393/jewish/Grades-K-8.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/4237690/jewish/Fee-Schedule.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/4384392/jewish/Affordability.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/5515832/jewish/HACDS-Flexible-Financi
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/4921074/jewish/Accreditation-and-Part
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/487551/jewish/ADMISSIONS.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/570267/jewish/Apply-Now.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/section_cdo/aid/6279450/jewish/High-School.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/6279458/jewish/About.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/6279459/jewish/Academics.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/6742365/jewish/High-School.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/6293667/jewish/Bnos-Program.htm
- www.cde.ca.gov/SchoolDirectory/details?cdscode=30667466937163
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/5189571/jewish/Transportation.htm
- www.hacds.org/templates/articlecco_cdo/aid/6300902/jewish/General-Studies-Progra
- hacds.org/media/pdf/1378/orWb13788284.pdf
- WeIrvine: community and commute notes for this school








