CALIFORNIA · BOARDING SCHOOL GUIDE
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy
La Cañada Flintridge · Los Angeles County, California
A Catholic girls' high school founded by Dominican Sisters in 1931, on a hilltop campus above Pasadena, for day and boarding students.

- 1931
- Founded
- 9-12
- Grades
- 390
- Students
- 17
- Average class size
About Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy was founded in 1931 by the Dominican Sisters of Mission San Jose in the former Flintridge Hotel, built in 1927 on the crest of the San Rafael Hills overlooking the San Gabriel Valley and the Rose Bowl. It began as a boarding school, admitted day students from 1952, and gradually phased out its elementary grades to become the girls' high school it is today. In 2025-26 it enrolled 390 students, 356 day students and 35 boarders, with an average class size of 17.
Marlena Conroy is President and Rebecca Bostic is Principal. The school is accredited by WASC and the California Association of Independent Schools (CAIS) and is a member of NAIS, The Association of Boarding Schools (TABS), the International Coalition of Girls' Schools and Round Square. The program is college-preparatory, with 90 UC-approved courses and four years of required religion classes; students of all faiths are welcome.
| School type | Catholic Dominican independent · Girls · Boarding and day |
|---|---|
| Divisions | High school, grades 9-12 |
| Main entry grades | Grade 9; transfers into grades 10 and 11 |
| Mandarin | No: world languages are Spanish and French |
| Head of school | Marlena Conroy (President); Rebecca Bostic (Principal) |
| Accreditation | WASC, CAIS; member of NAIS and TABS |
| Address | 440 St. Katherine Drive, La Cañada Flintridge, CA 91011 |
| Phone | (626) 685-8300 |
| NCES ID | 00071854 |
| Official Website | www.fsha.org |
Academics and programs at Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy

- Four-year research programStudents learn academic research and writing from grade 9, complete the Junior Research Project in grade 11, and write a senior capstone paper in one of six disciplines, presented as a poster.
- AP and honors coursesAP courses are mainly taken in grades 11 and 12; the school’s Class of 2026 profile lists 397 AP exams taken, with 75% scoring 3 or higher.
- Computer science and engineeringCourses include Programming I to IV, Principles of Engineering and AP Computer Science Principles, and selected students spend a semester visiting NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) weekly for the International Space Academy program.
- Religion and world languagesFour years of religion run from Dominican spirituality to world religions, and students of all faiths are welcome; world languages are Spanish and French, both through AP, and the school does not offer Mandarin.
- Global programs and athleticsThe school is a member of the Round Square network, with overseas conferences, exchanges and service trips; teams cover 12 sports, including volleyball, swimming, water polo and equestrian.
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy tuition and family budget
Tuition, 2026-27
$78,500/ year · boarding (incl. room and board)
Tuition $37,000 plus room and board $41,500; day tuition $37,000
At the 2026-27 boarding cost of $78,500, four years from grade 9 through grade 12 total about $314,000 in tuition and room and board, excluding deposits, the new student fee, insurance and other charges.
Financial aid at Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy is need-based, and admission review is need-blind: the Admission Committee does not know who has applied for aid, and aid requests are reviewed only after admission decisions are made.
| Boarding tuition | $37,000 |
|---|---|
| Room and board | $41,500 |
| Day tuition | $37,000 |
| Enrollment deposit | Boarding $6,000; day $500 to $2,000 based on net tuition after aid; non-refundable |
| Other fees | New student fee $1,500 (one time), technology $500, graduation $1,150 (seniors), boarding student medical insurance $1,020, AP exam $99 per exam |
| Tuition Refund Plan | Required if the year is not paid in full by June 1: boarding $1,450, day $350 |
| Payment options | Single payment by June 1, or 60% and 40% in two payments; ten monthly payments for day students only |
| Financial aid | Need-based, through Clarity; opens October 1, 2026, new-student deadline January 22, 2027, $60 fee per household; room and board not covered |
| Aid in 2025-26 | About 39% of students received aid, about $2.9 million in total, averaging a little over $18,000 and ranging from $5,000 to $31,000 |
| Veritas Scholarship | Merit award for incoming ninth graders, $10,000 a year, renewable; every applicant by January 15 is considered |
Key dates for the 2027-28 Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy admission season
- Applications and financial aid open
- Application deadline
- Admission decisions released
- Enrollment deadline
Boarding applicants apply through SAO and day applicants through the school's own portal; the application fee is $100 for both. Transcripts and recommendations are due February 1, 2027, interviews must be completed by January 23, and the new-student aid deadline is January 22.
- Evening on the Hill reception
- Arts department spotlight
- Admissions open house
- Campus tour
- Eighth grade shadow morning
- Evening on the Hill reception
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy entrance assessment and SSAT requirements
| Entry grade | Assessment |
|---|---|
| Grade 9 (boarding) | Apply through SAO; the website does not state whether the SSAT is required, so confirm with admissions |
| Grade 9 (day) | HSPT, ISEE and SSAT scores not considered; in-person writing session required |
| Grades 10 and 11 (transfer) | Same process and testing policy |
| Non-native English speakers | TOEFL 80 or Duolingo English Test 100 or above |
| SAO school code 3174 · Application deadline 2027.01.15 · Interviews by 2027.01.23 | |
- The school is test blind for day applicants and neither requires nor considers HSPT, ISEE or SSAT (Secondary School Admission Test) scores; boarding applicants apply through SAO, and the website does not describe a separate testing policy for them.
- Day applicants sit an in-person writing session on January 16, 2027, with a make-up on January 23; every applicant must complete the interview by January 23, and transcripts and recommendations are due February 1.
EDUBUS first asks the family to confirm with admissions in writing whether boarding applicants must submit the SSAT. If a score is needed, we start with a practice test, plan the official test in the fall back from the January 15 deadline, and prepare the interview and application essays alongside it. SSAT prep · Boarding school application guide
Where Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy graduates go to college
Colleges33 schools
- University of Southern California (19)
- University of California, Los Angeles (13)
- University of California, Berkeley (9)
- Loyola Marymount University (8)
- University of Arizona (7)
- Santa Clara University (7)
- University of California, Davis (7)
- Southern Methodist University (6)
- Cal Poly State University, San Luis Obispo (6)
- University of California, San Diego (6)
- University of Colorado, Boulder (6)
- Texas Christian University (5)
- University of California, Riverside (5)
- University of California, Santa Cruz (5)
- University of Oregon (5)
- Gonzaga University (4)
- University of San Francisco (4)
- Arizona State University (4)
- University of California, Irvine (4)
- University of Portland (4)
- University of California, Santa Barbara (4)
- San Diego State University (4)
- University of Notre Dame (3)
- University of Washington (3)
- Boston College (3)
- San Francisco State University (3)
- Penn State University (3)
- University of Michigan (3)
- California State University, San Marcos (3)
- California State University, Fullerton (3)
- Loyola University Chicago (3)
- University of San Diego (3)
- Northeastern University (3)
These are the 33 most common college destinations of the past three years, as listed on the school's college counseling page, with the number attending in parentheses. The school's Class of 2026 profile reports that 100% of graduates enroll at four-year institutions, and every ninth grader is paired with a college counselor. Schools marked → link to an EDUBUS admissions guide.
Getting to Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy from Irvine
| Northwood | 40.4 mi |
|---|---|
| Woodbury | 41.7 mi |
| Portola Springs | 42.6 mi |
| Turtle Rock | 43.2 mi |
Straight-line distances, not driving times; Los Angeles freeway traffic changes the drive a great deal, so test it at the times you would pick up or drop off. Parents set and approve every off-campus permission for boarders, including travel and companions, and visitors must be registered in advance; boarders may also spend time with local guardian families.
School address: 440 St. Katherine Drive, La Cañada Flintridge, CA 91011
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy: Frequently Asked Questions
Do Irvine families applying to board at Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy need the SSAT?
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy is test blind for day applicants and does not require the HSPT, ISEE or SSAT (Secondary School Admission Test). Boarding applicants apply through the Standard Application Online (SAO), and the website does not state whether boarders must submit the SSAT. Irvine families should confirm with the admissions office in writing before scheduling a test.
What are the key 2027-28 dates for Irvine students applying to Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy?
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy opens 2027-28 applications on October 1, 2026, and closes them on January 15, 2027; transcripts and recommendations are due February 1, and interviews must be completed by January 23. The school releases decisions on March 5, and the enrollment deadline is March 16. Day applicants also sit an in-person writing session on January 16.
How much does Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy cost to board in 2026-27, and can Irvine families get aid?
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy charges $78,500 for boarding in 2026-27, made up of $37,000 tuition and $41,500 room and board; day tuition is $37,000. Admission review is need-blind: the committee does not know who has applied for aid. Aid covers tuition only, not room and board, and requires all employment income to be verifiable by a U.S. tax return; the new-student aid deadline is January 22, 2027.
Does Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy accept international students, and what does it ask of Chinese-speaking families in Irvine?
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy accepts international students; the school says it has welcomed international boarders since its earliest days and offers rolling admission to international applicants. Applicants whose first language is not English must submit a TOEFL score of 80 or a Duolingo English Test score of 100. Students already attending a U.S. school in Irvine should ask admissions whether they still need an English score.
What is boarding life like at Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy for a girl from Irvine?
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy had 35 boarders in 2025-26, and four faculty members live in private apartments inside the residence hall. Each room houses two or three students and has a private bathroom and air conditioning; boarders eat breakfast and dinner in the dining room daily, plus lunch on weekends. Parents approve all off-campus permissions, and visitors must be registered in advance.
Where do Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy graduates go to college?
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy lists its most common college destinations over the past three years as the University of Southern California (19), UCLA (13) and UC Berkeley (9), followed by Loyola Marymount University and the University of Arizona. The school profile reports that 100% of graduates enroll at four-year institutions, and every ninth grader is paired with a college counselor.
How far is Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy from Irvine?
Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy sits on a hilltop campus in La Cañada Flintridge, Los Angeles County, about 40.4 miles in a straight line from Northwood in Irvine and 43.2 miles from Turtle Rock. Actual drive time depends heavily on Los Angeles freeway traffic. The school leaves off-campus permissions for boarders to parents to set and approve.
Sources: the school website and public filings · compiled 2026-10-07 · current policy follows the school's own notice
Sources32 sources · checked 2026-10-07
Compiled from the official Flintridge Sacred Heart Academy website and public filings. Tuition and deadlines follow the school's current notice. Enrollment of 390 and average class size of 17 come from the school's Class of 2026 School Profile and refer to 2025-26, with 356 day students and 35 boarders; NCES lists 382 students for 2023-24.
- fsha.org
- fsha.org/about/history
- fsha.org/about/leadership
- fsha.org/about/contact-us
- fsha.org/admissions
- fsha.org/admissions/apply-to-fsha
- fsha.org/admissions/visit-fsha
- fsha.org/admissions/tuition-financial-aid
- bbk12e1-cdn.myschoolcdn.com/ftpimages/373/misc/misc_232914.pdf
- bbk12e1-cdn.myschoolcdn.com/ftpimages/373/misc/misc_232915.pdf
- fsha.org/admissions/bus-transportation
- fsha.org/boarding
- fsha.org/boarding/residence-hall-tour
- fsha.org/academics/curriculum
- fsha.org/academics/curriculum/world-languages-curriculum
- fsha.org/academics/curriculum/religious-studies-curriculum
- fsha.org/academics/curriculum/computer-science-engineering-curriculum
- fsha.org/academics/signature-programs
- fsha.org/academics/round-square
- fsha.org/academics/college-counseling
- resources.finalsite.net/images/v1774550580/fshaorg6/rs5g4qnq2g7tzbkcqt9h/SchoolProfile2025.pdf
- fsha.org/athletics/team-directory
- nces.ed.gov/surveys/pss/privateschoolsearch/school_detail.asp?Search=1&ID=00071854
- niche.com/k12/search/best-boarding-high-schools/s/california
- southwesternacademy.edu/tuition-fees
- southwesternacademy.edu/apply
- webb.org/admission/tuition-and-financial-aid
- webb.org/admission/how-to-apply
- oakschristian.org/admissions/tuition-and-financial-aid
- oakschristian.org/admissions/application-process
- reagansecondary.us/admissions
- reagansecondary.us/school-profile
A Free 30-Minute Planning Call to See Your Child’s Next Step
Share the grade and the goal. An Irvine-based counselor reaches out within one business day with a first, actionable growth and admissions plan. Direction first, courses later.
Scan to reach a counselor on WeChatHotline: (949) 383-4877WeChatEDUBUSerCopy the ID and add a counselor in WeChat
