In shortCarden Conservatory is an independent (non-sectarian) private K-8 school in Huntington Beach, California, serving grades K-8 with about 68 students. No standardized entrance exam; admission uses an on-campus assessment or visit day.

Applying to Carden Conservatory?

EDUBUS keeps the timeline and past cases for this school.

How no-test admissions workBook a school consultation
GradesK-8
Enrollment68students
Entrance examOn-campus assessment
Location
5702 Clark Dr, Huntington Beach, CA 92649
Affiliation
independent (non-sectarian)
Head of school
Shagha Ghonouie, Director
Phone
(714) 840-5127
Official Website
cardenconservatory.com

Carden Conservatory overview

Carden Conservatory is an independent, non-sectarian private K-8 school in Huntington Beach, California, serving grades K-8, with about 68 students. The school does not publish tuition; ask for current figures when you book a visit.

Carden Conservatory admissions

Carden Conservatory does not use a standardized entrance exam; admission uses an on-campus assessment or visit day.

The school publishes the following application details. Rolling admission year-round, with students admitted whenever space is available, including mid-semester transfers. The process: call or email the office; schedule a visit (the school strongly recommends touring before applying); request the application form from the office and submit it; complete a short academic readiness assessment as appropriate to the grade; and, after acceptance, submit the forms and pay the non-refundable registration fee. Kindergarten admission is not based on birthday alone but on an overall assessment of the child’s emotional maturity, academic ability, capacity to focus and general development (school website, Admissions page)

This school does not use a standardized entrance test. It assesses applicants on campus, so preparation centers on the visit day and the parent interview rather than test registration. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it.

Carden Conservatory tuition and fees

Carden Conservatory does not publish tuition; ask for current figures when you book a visit.

In the “2026-2027 Tuition and Fees” table on the school website’s Admissions page, only the registration and fees column is filled in and the tuition column is left blank: $455 for the 2-year-old class, $455 for Pre-Primary / Junior Kindergarten, $1,495 for grades K-4 and $1,895 for grades 5-8 (all registration and fees). Below the table the school website says that annual tuition depends on grade level, payment method and whether a sibling or corporate discount applies, and that actual amounts must be requested by calling (714) 840-5127 or emailing sghonouie@cardenconservatory.com (school website, Financial Information section of the Admissions page)

Grades K-8 may choose annual, semi-annual or ten-month installment plans; the preschool program is billed monthly and includes two weeks of prorated holiday credit each year. Book and materials fees and the lab fee for grades 5-8 are included in the registration fee. The late payment fee is $25 (for payments received after the 5th of the month) and the returned-check fee is $15. An optional hot lunch is $9 a day and a drink plan is $25 a month. Before-school care from 7:00 to 7:30 a.m. and after-school care from 3:00 to 6:00 p.m. are both $8 an hour (school website, Admissions page)

Financial aid: The school website says financial assistance is available and states that no family should be turned away for financial reasons alone, but it does not publish amounts, percentages or how to apply; families must contact the school directly (school website, Admissions page and About Us page)

Academics and programs at Carden Conservatory

Academics and programs described on the Carden Conservatory website include:

  • The Carden Method (a teaching approach created by Mae Carden in New York in 1934): subjects connect to one another and build year over year, with the emphasis on teaching children how to think rather than what to think, and academics integrated with art, music and foreign language (school website, About Us page)
  • Elementary (K-5) core curriculum: reading, writing, grammar, math, science, social studies, history and geography, taught in sequence and built up step by step; kindergarten admission is decided by individual readiness rather than a birthday cutoff (school website, Academics page)
  • Middle school (grades 5-8): Pre-Algebra and Algebra, advanced writing across genres, literary analysis, world history and US history, earth science and physical science, plus electives (school website, Academics page)
  • Spanish runs from preschool all the way through grade 8, covering listening, speaking, reading and writing, and is taught through songs, games and role play (school website, Student Life page)
  • Art: K-4 students have art every day and grades 5-8 once a week; the curriculum follows art history from cave paintings to modern art, with students making their own versions of works from each period (school website, Student Life page)
  • Music: K-5 students have music every day, taught with the Kodaly method; from grade 2 they sing in two parts and begin the recorder, continuing through grade 4 (school website, Student Life page)

Schools near Carden Conservatory at the same level

These are the schools nearest to Carden Conservatory at the same level, with the basic facts each school publishes. Select a name to open that school’s admissions guide:

School Grades Tuition Entrance test Distance
Carden Conservatory K-8 Not published On-campus assessment —
St. Bonaventure Catholic School K-8 $9,700 — 0.3 mi
Grace Lutheran School K-8 $8,300 — 0.9 mi
Blessed Sacrament School K-8 $6,400 On-campus assessment 2.6 mi
Bethany Christian Academy K-8 $8,275 On-campus assessment 2.9 mi

Getting to Carden Conservatory from Irvine

These are straight-line distances to Carden Conservatory from neighborhoods where many Irvine families live. Actual drive times will be longer; time the drive once during school hours:

Neighborhood Straight-line distance
Woodbury 16.5 miles
Northwood 15.2 miles
Turtle Rock 13.9 miles
Portola Springs 18.2 miles

The website does not describe bus service; confirm this during your visit.

Questions to ask on a Carden Conservatory campus visit

When you visit Carden Conservatory, confirm these points with the admissions office:

  • Tuition amounts — the Tuition column of the 2026-27 fee table on the school website’s Admissions page is empty (the page source contains only the three registration fee figures of $455, $1,495 and $1,895), so no tuiti…
  • Founding year — the school website’s About Us page, Academics page and home page do not state the year this school was founded (they say only that Mae Carden opened the first Carden School in New York in 1934); the …
  • Average class size — the school website says only “a maximum 12:1 student-teacher ratio” and that classes are deliberately kept small, with no per-class figure
  • Enrollment — the school website gives no enrollment figure, so the CDE filing of 68 for the K-8 grades is used; the CDE detail page does not state the school year of the filing
  • Registration, technology, uniform and activity fees beyond tuition

How EDUBUS helps families applying to Carden Conservatory

EDUBUS counselors in Irvine work in both Chinese and English with families applying to Carden Conservatory. We track Carden Conservatory’s admissions calendar, prepare students for the campus visit and interview, and review application materials before they are submitted. Book a school-selection consultation or read the Chinese version of this page.

Carden Conservatory: Frequently Asked Questions

What test does Carden Conservatory require?

Carden Conservatory has no standardized entrance exam; admission uses an on-campus assessment or visit day.

Does Carden Conservatory accept F-1 international students?

Carden Conservatory's website does not state an F-1 policy; confirm with the admissions office.

How much is tuition at Carden Conservatory, and is aid available?

Carden Conservatory does not publish tuition. The school website says financial assistance is available and states that no family should be turned away for financial reasons alone, but it does not publish amounts, percentages or how to apply; families must contact the school directly (school website, Admissions page and About Us page)

When should an Irvine family start preparing for Carden Conservatory?

Carden Conservatory does not use a standardized entrance test. It assesses applicants on campus, so preparation centers on the visit day and the parent interview rather than test registration. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it. EDUBUS advises Irvine families from its Irvine office and works back from Carden Conservatory's timeline for visit-day and interview preparation. Carden Conservatory is in Huntington Beach; families driving from Irvine should time the commute during school hours on their visit day.

Sources8 sources · checked 2026-09-08

Compiled from the official Carden Conservatory website and public filings. Tuition and deadlines follow the school's current notice.

  1. cardenconservatory.com
  2. cardenconservatory.com/about-us
  3. cardenconservatory.com/academics
  4. cardenconservatory.com/admissions
  5. cardenconservatory.com/student-life
  6. cardenconservatory.com/contact-us
  7. cde.ca.gov/SchoolDirectory/details?cdscode=30666136921993
  8. WeIrvine: community and commute notes for this school