Arnold O. Beckman High School (hereafter Beckman High School) offers 22 AP courses as well as 9 honors courses. In May 2026, 1,200 students took 2,558 AP exams across 30 subjects, and 90.0% scored 3 or higher. AP planning at this school differs fundamentally from the five Irvine schools: the number of courses is capped by rule. The school sets a Healthy Limit on weighted courses, at most 2 in grade 9 and at most 4 in grade 12, counting AP and honors courses together. The focus of this page is therefore not how many courses a student can take but which courses should receive the two or three slots available each year.
AP Score Data and Methodology
| Measure | 2025-26 school year |
|---|---|
| Students taking exams | 1,200 students |
| Exams taken | 2,558 exams |
| Scoring 3 or higher | 90.0% |
| Subjects tested | 30 subjects |
| AP courses offered | 22 courses |
| Honors courses offered | 9 courses |
| Methodology | The School Profile 2026-27 lists "% Passed 3,4,5 = 90.0%" directly beneath the total exam count, which corresponds to 2,558 exams. The school does not separately publish a per-student pass rate, nor does it publish subject-level data. |
The methodology needs explanation. On the pages for the five Irvine schools, this site uses a per-exam measure: the number of exams scored 3 or higher divided by the total number of exams. The Beckman High School School Profile places the 90.0% figure below the line for total exams (2,558), so the table structure suggests a per-exam measure, but the school does not state this in the document and does not publish the number of scores of 5, 4, and 3. This figure can therefore be viewed alongside per-exam data from other schools, but it should not be used for comparisons down to the decimal point.
Also worth noting: the school offers 22 AP courses, but its exams cover 30 subjects, and the 8-subject difference indicates that a substantial number of students take exams after studying outside school or on their own.
Grade Restrictions
Ninth graders may take three kinds of AP courses: AP Biology, AP Human Geography, and three world language AP courses (French, Chinese, and Spanish, each requiring completion of the corresponding Level 3 or Level 4). AP Calculus AB and BC and AP Chemistry open in 10th grade, and AP World History is offered in 10th grade. AP Statistics, AP Psychology, AP Physics 1, and the two AP Computer Science courses open in 11th grade. AP English Literature, AP Government, AP Economics, and AP Environmental Science are offered only in 12th grade..
Prerequisites for Each AP Course
The requirements below come from the 2026-27 course catalog, one course per row. Items marked as school recommendations correspond to the entries labeled BHS Recommendation in the catalog.
| AP course (grades offered) | Prerequisites |
|---|---|
| AP Human Geography (9 to 12) | School recommendation: strong reading and writing skills |
| AP Biology (9 or 12) | School recommendation: grades of B or higher in grade 8 science and math, strong study habits, and interest in science |
| AP French Language (9 to 12) | Grade of B or higher in French 3, or teacher approval |
| AP Chinese Language (9 to 12) | Grade of B or higher in Chinese 4H, or teacher approval |
| AP Spanish Language (9 to 12) | Grade of B or higher in Spanish 3 or Spanish for Native Speakers 3, or teacher approval |
| AP Studio Art: Photography (9 to 12) | Teacher approval; usually taken in the fourth year of the photography pathway |
| AP World History (10) | School recommendation: grade of B or higher in the previous English course |
| AP Chemistry (10 to 12) | Grade of C or higher in Chemistry |
| AP Calculus AB (10 to 12) | Grade of B or higher in Pre-Calculus, or C or higher in Pre-Calculus H |
| AP Calculus BC (10 to 12) | Grade of B or higher in Pre-Calculus H |
| AP US History (11) | School recommendation: grades of B or higher in both World History and the previous English course |
| AP Physics 1 (11 to 12) | Grades of B or higher in both Biology and Chemistry |
| AP Statistics (11 to 12) | Grade of C or higher in Pre-Calculus or Algebra 2/Trigonometry |
| AP Psychology (11 to 12, grade 12 has priority) | School recommendation: at least one year of high school social science with a grade of B or higher, and strong reading and writing skills |
| AP Computer Science Principles (11 to 12) | School recommendation: grade of B or higher in Algebra 2/Trigonometry |
| AP Computer Science A (11 to 12) | Recommended prior completion of AP Computer Science Principles or AP Calculus AB / BC, or teacher approval |
| AP Studio Art: Graphic Design (11 to 12) | Teacher approval; usually taken in the fourth year of the graphic design pathway |
| AP English Literature (12) | Grade of B or higher in the previous English course |
| AP Government (12) | School recommendation: grade of B or higher in US History |
| AP Economics, with the AP Microeconomics exam (12) | School recommendation: grade of B or higher in US History |
| AP Environmental Science (12) | Grades of C or higher in both Biology and Chemistry |
| AP Studio Art: Drawing & Painting (12) | Completion of Advanced Drawing & Painting |
AP Courses Not Offered
- AP English Language
- AP Precalculus
- AP Macroeconomics
- AP Physics 2 and AP Physics C
- College-level mathematics beyond AP Calculus (such as Multivariable Calculus)
- AP European History and AP Comparative Government
- AP Music Theory and AP Art History
- AP Seminar / AP Research
The absence of AP English Language has the greatest impact: grade 11 English is available only in regular and honors versions, so students who want an English AP course in grade 11 have no on-campus option. Another point to note: the school’s published May 2027 on-campus AP exam schedule lists four exams, AP Physics C: Mechanics, AP Physics C: Electricity & Magnetism, AP Macroeconomics, AP Precalculus, for which the course catalog has no corresponding course, and the school states that it schedules on-campus exams only for its own students enrolled in the corresponding AP course. Families planning to take these exams need to confirm a seat with the school in advance and complete the coursework outside school.
AP Course List (from the Course Catalog)
English
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP English Literature & Composition | AP | 12 | B Grade or better in previous English courseCourse 1244; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | B |
Mathematics
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Calculus AB | AP | 10-12 | Grade of B or better in Pre-Calculus or C or better in Pre-Calculus H.Course 1530; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | C |
| AP Calculus BC | AP | 10-12 | Grade of B or better in Pre-Calculus H.Course 1531; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | C |
| AP Statistics | AP | 11-12 | Grade of C or better in Pre-Calculus or Alg. 2/Trig.Course 1536; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | C |
Science
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Biology | AP | 9 or 12 | BHS Recommendation – Strong interest in science, excellent study habits, and B or better in 8th grade science and mathCourse 1726; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | D |
| AP Chemistry | AP | 10-12 | Grade of C or better in ChemistryCourse 1703; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | D |
| AP Physics 1 | AP | 11-12 | Grade of B or better in Biology and ChemistryCourse 1727; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | D |
| AP Environmental Science | AP | 12 | Grade of C or better in Biology and ChemistryCourse 1738; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | D |
History & Social Science
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP World History | AP | 10 | BHS Recommendation – completion of previous English course with a grade of B or better.Course 1827; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | A |
| AP US History | AP | 11 | BHS Recommendation – completion of World History and previous English course with a grade of B or betterCourse 1811; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | A |
| AP Government | AP | 12 | BHS Recommendation – completion of US History with a grade of B or betterCourse 1820; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | A |
| AP Economics | AP | 12 | BHS Recommendation – completion of US History with a grade of B or betterCourse 1823; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | G |
World Language
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP French Language | AP | 9-12 | Grade of B or better in French Level 3, or Teacher ApprovalCourse 1406; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | E |
| AP Chinese Language | AP | 9-12 | Grade of B or better in Chinese Level 4, or Teacher ApprovalCourse 1433; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | E |
| AP Spanish Language | AP | 9-12 | Grade of B or better in Spanish 3 or SNS 3, or Teacher ApprovalCourse 1420; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | E |
Career Technical Education
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Computer Science Principles | AP | 11-12 | BHS Recommendation - Completion of Alg. 2/Trig. with a grade of B or better. Students should have strong problem-solving skills and be comfortable using technology for creative and analytical tasks.Course 1115BH; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | D |
| AP Computer Science A | AP | 11-12 | Preferred completion of AP Comp. Sci. Principles, Calculus AB, or Calculus BC, or Teacher Approval.Course 1115; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | C |
Visual & Performing Arts
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Studio Art: Drawing & Painting | AP | 11-12 | Successful completion of Adv. Draw. & Paint.Course 1367; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | F |
| AP Studio Art: Graphic Design | AP | 11-12 | Teacher ApprovalCourse 1368; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | F |
| AP Studio Art: Photography | AP | 9-12 | Teacher ApprovalCourse 1369; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | F |
General Electives
| Course | Level | Grades | Prerequisites / Conditions / Notes | UC A-G |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AP Human Geography | AP | 9-12 | BHS Recommendation - Strong reading and writing skills are recommended.Course 1840; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | G |
| AP Psychology | AP | 11-12 (Seniors get priority) | BHS Recommendation - Completion of at least one year of high school social science with a grade of B or better, and strong proficiency in reading and writing.Course 1841; weighted at BHS and UC-approved for an honors point | G |
Recommended Combinations by Intended Major
All combinations below follow the Beckman High School Healthy Limit; the number of courses each year stays within the limit without a waiver.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can grade 9 students at Arnold O. Beckman High School take AP courses?
Yes. Arnold O. Beckman High School opens three categories of AP courses to grade 9: AP Biology is listed for grade 9 or 12, AP Human Geography is open to grades 9 to 12, and the three world language AP courses (French, Chinese, and Spanish) have no grade restriction, provided the student has completed the corresponding third or fourth level. At the grade 8 parent night, the school holds a dedicated session for AP Human Geography, presenting it as the grade 9 entry point to AP. However, the weighted course cap in grade 9 is 2 courses, with AP and honors courses counted together.
When Irvine families compare Beckman High School with their own district's high schools, is the number of AP courses also unlimited?
No. Beckman High School is not part of the Irvine Unified School District; it belongs to the Tustin Unified School District, and the number of AP courses is governed by the Healthy Limit: 2 in grade 9, 3 each in grades 10 and 11, and 4 in grade 12. A signed waiver adds 1 course at each level, and each student may add at most 1. The limit counts AP and honors courses together. AP Government and AP Economics are two semester courses that together count as 1; the two college courses per semester taken by early college program students also count as 1; and outside community college courses are likewise counted as weighted courses.
What are the AP pass rates by subject at Arnold O. Beckman High School?
Arnold O. Beckman High School publishes only schoolwide totals, not exam counts or pass rates by subject. The 2025-26 figures in the School Profile 2026-27 are: 1,200 students, 2,558 exams, 30 subjects, and 90.0% scoring 3 or higher. That percentage appears below the total exam count, and the school does not specify whether it is calculated per exam or per student; it also does not publish the distribution of scores of 5, 4, and 3.
Which AP courses does Arnold O. Beckman High School not offer?
Arnold O. Beckman High School does not offer AP English Language, AP Precalculus, AP Macroeconomics, AP Physics 2 or AP Physics C, AP European History, AP Music Theory, AP Art History, or AP Seminar / Research. The only English AP course is AP English Literature in grade 12, which is the most noticeable difference from most Irvine high schools.
How do students register for AP exams at Arnold O. Beckman High School, and when is the deadline?
Registration at Arnold O. Beckman High School takes two steps: first join each AP class in the College Board MyAP account and complete Exam Registration, then pay on the Total Registration website (school code 051267). For the 2026-27 school year, each exam costs $115, and the payment deadline is November 6, 2026; a late fee of $45 per exam applies after that date. Cancellations on or before November 6 receive a $100 refund, and later cancellations receive no refund. The school schedules on-campus exams only for its own students enrolled in the corresponding AP course.


