In shortNew Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus is an Islamic private K-8 school in Irvine, California, founded in 2001, serving grades 3-8 with about 430 students. Tuition for the current year is $25,580 to $27,270, or roughly $153,480 to $163,620 across all 6 years at today's rates. No standardized entrance exam; admission uses an on-campus assessment or visit day.

Applying to New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus?

EDUBUS keeps the timeline and past cases for this school.

How no-test admissions workBook a school consultation
Tuition$25,580– $27,270 ·
Grades3-8
Enrollment430students
Entrance examOn-campus assessment
Location
10 Marconi
Founded
2001
Affiliation
Islamic
Head of school
Raghad Atari, Head of School
Phone
(949) 281-0054
Official Website
www.newhorizonirvine.org

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus overview

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus is an Islamic private K-8 school in Irvine, California, serving grades 3-8, founded in 2001, with about 430 students. Tuition for the current year is $25,580 to $27,270. Religion classes are required, so confirm your family is comfortable with that before applying.

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus admissions

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus does not use a standardized entrance exam; admission uses an on-campus assessment or visit day.

The school publishes the following application details. Rolling admissions: the school website’s FAQ states that “applications are accepted on a rolling basis”, recommends applying early, and notes that space is limited in some grades. The process: schedule and complete a campus visit; submit the application and required materials; the student spends time in class and takes an on-campus assessment (two days of classroom experience plus assessment for grades 3-5, and two full days of classroom experience plus one day of class visits and assessment for grades 6-8); submit transcripts; meet with the director of admissions, who gives the decision at that meeting; sign the enrollment contract. The school website states that decisions usually come within two weeks of the assessment and document review. The school website does not give an application deadline for any particular school year.

This school does not use a standardized entrance test. It assesses applicants on campus, so preparation centers on the visit day and the parent interview rather than test registration. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it.

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus tuition and fees

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus tuition for the current year is $25,580 to $27,270.

The Tuition and Fee Schedule on the school website’s Admissions page: grades K-2 (Lower Campus) $25,580; grades 3-5 (Upper Campus) $25,580; grades 6-8 (Upper Campus) $27,270. Preschool ranges from $12,780 to $25,580 depending on the number of days. The page gives amounts only and does not state which school year they apply to. (School website, Admissions page, Tuition and Fee Schedule)

Registration fee $500 (the same in every division). New grade 6 students and newly enrolling grade 7 and 8 students also pay a $700 technology fee covering a Chromebook, a case and software. The school website does not list fees for lunch, after-school care or similar. International tuition is not listed on the school website.

Financial aid: The school’s own Tuition Adjustment Program reduces tuition by 10% to 75%, assessed on household income, number of dependents, debt, number of children enrolled and special circumstances. The school puts 13% to 15% of its total operating revenue into the program each year and has awarded more than $2.5 million since it opened in 2001. A family must be admitted before applying, and the aid review is entirely separate from the admission review; enrolled families generally apply by each December, along with their re-enrollment notice. Beginning August 28, 2026, all applications are submitted through the Clarity platform, and review takes about 4-6 weeks. The program is limited to full-day students and does not apply to preschool-only families. (School website, Admissions page)

Academics and programs at New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus

Academics and programs described on the New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus website include:

  • Arabic, Quran and Islamic Studies are three religion and language specialty classes, scheduled alongside STEAM, physical education and art (school website, Academics page)
  • Leader in Me (the 7 Habits) is used school-wide, and the school was named a Leader in Me Lighthouse School in 2017 (school website, Academics page and Admissions page)
  • Positive Discipline and the Zones of Regulation program for emotional regulation (school website, Academics page)
  • A 1:1 Chromebook program in the middle school, with new grade 6 students paying a $700 technology fee for the device (school website, Academics page and Admissions page)
  • A middle school House system built around four themes: Generosity, Justice, Gratitude and Compassion (school website, Academics page)
  • Middle school electives, a Student Leadership Council (SLC) and a French club, which meet during the lunch period (school website, Academics page)

Schools near New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus at the same level

These are the schools nearest to New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus at the same level, with the basic facts each school publishes. Select a name to open that school’s admissions guide:

School Grades Tuition Entrance test Distance
New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus 3-8 $25,580 On-campus assessment —
LePort Montessori Irvine Spectrum North K-8 Not published On-campus assessment 1.0 mi
Montessori on the Lake K-8 $20,000 On-campus assessment 1.2 mi
Abiding Savior Lutheran School K-8 $10,500 On-campus assessment 1.9 mi
The Camino School K-8 $13,900 On-campus assessment 2.1 mi

Total tuition through graduation at New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus tuition for current is tiered by grade or program, from $25,580 to $27,270. Over 6 years covering grades 3-8, total tuition falls between $153,480 and $163,620, depending on which tier each grade falls in; ask the school for its grade-by-grade tuition table. This uses current-year rates and excludes registration fees, deposits, uniforms and activity fees; the school sets tuition for later years annually.

Getting to New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus from Irvine

These are straight-line distances to New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus from neighborhoods where many Irvine families live. Actual drive times will be longer; time the drive once during school hours:

Neighborhood Straight-line distance
Woodbury 4.2 miles
Northwood 5.4 miles
Turtle Rock 5.4 miles
Portola Springs 4.3 miles

The website does not describe bus service; confirm this during your visit.

Questions to ask on a New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus campus visit

When you visit New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus, confirm these points with the admissions office:

  • Tuition year (rechecked September 8, 2026) — the Tuition and Fee Schedule on the school website’s Admissions page marks each rate only with the hours of attendance, such as “M-F, 7:55 am - 3:30 pm”, and nowhere on the page is there any school y…
  • Chinese program — on the school website’s Academics page, the elementary Specialty Classes are listed only as “Arabic, Quran, Islamic Studies, STEAM, P.E., and Art”, which is a list of specialty classes rather than an…
  • Basis for accepting non-Muslim families — item 13 of the FAQ on the school website’s Admissions page (“Do you accept students from non-Muslim families? - Absolutely.”); the nondiscrimination statement for all three divisions on the same page…
  • Enrollment year — the roughly 430 students given on the school website’s About Us page is a school-wide figure (including preschool and the Lower Campus) and carries no school year label, so the figure for the Upper C…
  • Registration, technology, uniform and activity fees beyond tuition

How EDUBUS helps families applying to New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus

EDUBUS counselors in Irvine work in both Chinese and English with families applying to New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus. We track New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus’s admissions calendar, prepare students for the campus visit and interview, and review application materials before they are submitted. Book a school-selection consultation or read the Chinese version of this page.

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus: Frequently Asked Questions

What test does New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus require?

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus has no standardized entrance exam; admission uses an on-campus assessment or visit day.

Does New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus accept F-1 international students?

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus's website does not state an F-1 policy; confirm with the admissions office.

How much is tuition at New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus, and is aid available?

Tuition at New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus is $25,580 to $27,270 for the current year. The school's own Tuition Adjustment Program reduces tuition by 10% to 75%, assessed on household income, number of dependents, debt, number of children enrolled and special circumstances. The school puts 13% to 15% of its total operating revenue into the program each year and has awarded more than $2.5 million since it opened in 2001. A family must be admitted before applying, and the aid review is entirely separate from the admission review; enrolled families generally apply by each December, along with their re-enrollment notice. Beginning August 28, 2026, all applications are submitted through the Clarity platform, and review takes about 4-6 weeks. The program is limited to full-day students and does not apply to preschool-only families. (School website, Admissions page)

When should an Irvine family start preparing for New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus?

New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus does not use a standardized entrance test. It assesses applicants on campus, so preparation centers on the visit day and the parent interview rather than test registration. Application dates are set by the school each year; ask the admissions office for the current calendar and plan backward from it. EDUBUS advises Irvine families from its Irvine office and works back from New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus's timeline for visit-day and interview preparation. New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus is in Irvine, so time the commute during school hours on your visit day.

Sources8 sources · checked 2026-09-08

Compiled from the official New Horizon School, Irvine — Upper Campus website and public filings. Tuition and deadlines follow the school's current notice.

  1. newhorizonirvine.org
  2. newhorizonirvine.org/about-us
  3. newhorizonirvine.org/admissions
  4. newhorizonirvine.org/academics
  5. newhorizonirvine.org/contact-us
  6. cde.ca.gov/SchoolDirectory/details?cdscode=30736506154884
  7. newhorizonirvine.org/alumni
  8. WeIrvine: community and commute notes for this school